We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury MD
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

In the evenings we enjoy walking and poking into shops, reataurants, museums, bars that have some really great local bands. Lahaina Shores is at the beginning of a lovely walk along the water where you will find all of these fun things to do. There are also several walking tours available.
Lahaina Shores is so much nicer than the larger, boxier condos in other areas. The one we stayed in was kind of retro, very large and clean. I definetly recomment ocean view. The large verandahs are so peaceful and beautiful at night and in the morning for the first cup of coffee!
The staff couldn't have been nicer and more helpful!
Because we were on a 4 island, 15 day vacation this location was ideal as it had laundry facilities on several floors.
If you aren't into the huge condo complexes or the 5 star , expensive hotels this is the place for you!

Mahalo and aloha

Room Tip: Oceanside, for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    423
    100
    36
    22
See reviews for
168
721
58
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
portland or
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I will start by saying that I do not own a condo at Lahaina shores I have stayed here over 15 times ( in different rooms but all on the oceanside) in the last 3 years mostly long weekends from the West Coast.
The main complaints fall into 2 categories the construction noise and the room condition. The main remodeling construction of the lobby area and the external structure is now over so the construction is now contained to individual rooms
The problem with the rooms are that they are all privately owned and as such are in very different condition. Some are great some are terrible.I am sure most people are shocked when they get to there room after looking at the lobby they probably think they stepped into a different hotel. The lobby area and furnishings do not honestly represent the room space and furnishings you will stay in, in most cases.
In an attempt to correct the this disparity between the lobby and the rooms the ownership have made it mandatory to upgrade rooms for people in the rental pool , this will fix the problem but in the meantime there will be construction noise in individual rooms as they are being remodeled. I have stayed while a room close by was being remodeled and the noise was not that bad but then again I am in Hawaii so I spend most of my time on the beach during the day not in my room.
In conclusion I would say that Lahaina Shores is a great place to stay, the alternatives are huge resorts that give you the feeling you could be in any place in the world . I would suggest 2 things, first call the front desk directly before you arrive to make sure you are getting the room you want ,( they also have slightly higher priced rooms that have already been remodeled ). You can also book the rooms from the owners directly at VRBO and these tend to be nicer rooms but are also usually a bit more expensive as they charge a cleaning deposit. I think it worth it to spend a bit extra to go home with great memories as opposed to the people that commented on how bad their room experiences were.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank d j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The pics of this Hotel doesn't compare to when you see it in person. We walked in our room we had a spectacular view of the mountains. The sliding door was open we were so excited we were taking pics with our cell phones and texting our family and friends back home. Yes to make them jealous. ha-ha

The housekeeping ladies were so sweet. We had a studio with King bed. We originally were suppose to have 2 twins but we didn't care. The bed is comfy.

Everything is within walking distance. Would definitely return. Actually can't wait to return I will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustanggirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gresham, Oregon, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My wife and I spent 3 days at Lahaina Shores last week and it was wonderful. To be able to sit on the balcony first thing in the morning and watch the Maui day begin was a great way to start my day. We opted for the ocean view room and it was well worth it! The sunsets were amazing and a clever eye could spot whales spouting and breaching off shore! The room was nothing fantastic; a studio room #409 was very basic and a little run down. The carpets and décor were old and it was not a pristine environment.
The location was superb, the ability to walk to shops, restaurants and other manner of entertainment was all there at your feet. To us it was “Just right”
So my rating is for the whole experience that staying at Lahaina Shores provided, not just the room itself. We would not hesitate to stay there again!

Room Tip: Most, if not all units are privately owned and furnished by the owners so some will definitely be ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

This is the 2nd time I've stayed and fantastic yet again! I have travelled alot and am very picky. I can tell you that this place is great! The staff is nothing less than exceptional and some have been there 20 years! The location is incredible and quiet. The room rates are reasonable and everything within walking distance. It's a hidden gem. Bravo, good job. We'll be coming again next year!

Room Tip: higher floors have better view. Both mountain and ocean views are great. Can spot whales from ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank francesca790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
6.6 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,080 reviews
9.0 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
6.5 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
2,536 reviews
28.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,138 reviews
7.6 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Lahaina

Been to Lahaina Shores Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lahaina Shores Beach Resort

Property: Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Address: 475 Front Street, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1198
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#13 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $252 - $445
Hotel Class:3 star — Lahaina Shores Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to oceanfront living right in the heart of Lahaina Town. Lahaina Shores Beach Resort is a landmark in historic Lahaina town. This ocean front condo resort features spacious studio, one bedroom and one bedroom penthouse condos with full kitchens and oversized lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lahaina Shores Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lahaina Shores Beach Hotel Lahaina
Lahaina Shores Maui
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing