We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,192)
Filter reviews
1,192 results
Traveller rating
435
418
179
94
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
418
179
94
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews maui dreams come true putting green grocery store sea wall ocean front living room shuffle board sandy beach beautiful grounds farmers market tennis courts pools and hot tubs c unit washer and dryer through vrbo full kitchen first morning
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 1,192 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2018

We have just returned from our fabulous trip to hawaii and our 4 night stay at this resort.
We had a fantastic time here, our condo's were in the F block and were perfectly situated on the ground floor so we could just walk out onto the grass and grab our sunbeds. We enjoyed the pool and gardens, all spotlessly clean. It's only a 5 minute walk to bars and shops which was really handy.
Our condo's were lovely and comfortable, all fully equipped with full kitchen, ie washer, drier, etc. We loved it. Highly recommend this place and would go back in a heartbeat

Stayed: August 2018
1  Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Diane P,

We are so glad to hear that we have exceeded your expectation during your previous stay with us at the Papakea Resort. We thank you for taking the time to share your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

I must return to the Papakea. Since I was a kid in 1970s, my families have always spent time at Maui Sands and Papakea; the two resorts are adjacent. Even though Maui Sands has a quieter, original garden, the Papakea has more to offer. First, there is the convenience of the Front Desk. There is always someone available to help 24 hours a day. It is easy to book with Papakea. The staff around the entire resort are courteous and are willing to help. Second, both the Moloka'i side and Lana'i side mini golf courses, pools, and jacuzzies are immaculate as well as the condos.Third, the Papakea has tennis courts. When the ocean lets you enter, swimming between the two reefs is fun. Finally while standing on Papakea's grass, the viewing of the sunsets and much later the stars is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Patricia W,

We thank you for your loyalty to the Papakea Resort and also for taking the time to share your review. Our office hours, however, have changed to 6am - 11pm daily, we are more than happy to assist you during that time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future... until then, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

BAbsolutely disgusted with the management here! We recommended this resort to 88 of our wedding guests travelling from NZ, Australia, and UK. 72 of which stayed here. Not one of our guests said they enjoyed their experience here! From the moment each of us checked in, not one of the guests said they got a smile from one staff member! When we checked in the staff member TOLD us we were staying there for 2 weeks and that they will be charging that to our card even though we had booking confirmation for 1 week... this was a system proBlem apparently, however the staff member was making us to believe we had booked wrong! We had emailed months before to request a pool cabana so we can have a small get together with our family and friends staying at the resort, and we were told that it is ‘first-in gets dibs’ ... which is what we did... only to have staff members following us all around the whole time like we were criminals staying here. A security guard issued our grandparents a warning notice (80 years old) as they were chatting amongst themselves in their balcony, which in turn upset or grandmother. My mother-in-law tripped over work that was going on in the car park that wasn’t cordoned off or had any hazard signs which caused her a broken toe, and after talking to a manager about this she was told by a manager to ‘go back to where she came from’, nearly all of our guests were issued warnings, one of our6 year olds was growled off for playing with a ball in the pool with an aunt even though there was no one else in the pool. No music is allowed to be played anywhere in this resort even if it’s quiet music. Alcatraz is probably more accommodating than here! This is disgraceful, and I’m ashamed for recommending g this place. I don’t think Aston at Papakea should ever be recommended to family’s wishing to travel! I’ve told my wedding planner to take this place off her recommendations also. This place of poor management, lack of customer satisfaction and utter disrespect for people was close to ruining what was supposed to be a great holiday and wedding for us!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank SimonF2996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Aloha Simon F,

Aston is an Off Property Management Company that manages certain amount of units on property. Meaning that Aston does not manage any departments on property such as Security, Grounds, and the Front Desk. We do apologize on behalf of the Papakea Team for the less than satisfactory service you and your party received. However, the House Rules of this property were created for the safety and security of the property as a whole and also to prevent inconveniences to our owners, staff, and guests... unbiased to race or age. Should there be multiple complaints such as noise and partying after quiet hours, it is procedure that our rules are enforced. If maintenance work is being done on property, safety precautions are always followed with caution tape and/or orange cones. We, Aston and Non-Aston, pride ourselves on providing excellent service and we are sorry to hear that this was not the case for you and again greatly apologize on behalf on the entire property of Papakea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2018 via mobile

Staff was not friendly or helpful during our check in and check out process. We arrived at 1 and weren't able to check in early so we waited around until 4, which was no problem at all for us even though we were tired from traveling. Each hotel suite is different and they are owned by different people so I can only speak for our room. We stayed in G 204 which wasn't the room that our paperwork had showed when we booked our trip. The room was very spacious and open with great amenities like a full kitchen and washer and dryer. It was very dated with too many mirrors to count and a lack of attention to detail in cleaning was clear. The baseboards and fan were covered in dust. The ac window unit was very old, loud and failed to cool the studio down very well. The bed was a full but we slept okay. The grounds of papakea are beautiful! Two pools are lovely and they have activites we learned from other guests that they front desk had not mentioned. Great location, walking distance to stores and beaches.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Faith J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, General Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Aloha Faith J,

 Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your impressions of the Papakea Resort and for allowing me the opportunity to respond to your concerns. There are no excuses for guest dissatisfaction and I certainly will not make any with regard to your hotel experience except to say how sorry we are that we did not live up to what obviously reasonable expectations were. All of us at Aston strive to provide our guests with a memorable experience and we are very disappointed when we fall short. Despite the disappointment, I hope you enjoyed your vacation and returned home with many wonderful memories. We would cherish the opportunity to host you once again at the Papakea Resort if your travels bring you back to the islands in the future as I am confident we can exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Wonderful place to stay - we had a 1 br. with a Murphy bed in the living room, so it could easily sleep 4 in beds and one on the couch. The rooms have been updated. Nice, very clean. Friendly front desk staff. AC only in the living/kitchen area, but with windows open you can get cross ventilation. We also had two Vornado fans that were useful. Fully stocked kitchen, BBQ pits made cooking easy. Grocery store is right down the street. There is a great green lawn near the ocean wall with lawn chairs where you can see the amazing Maui sunsets. There is no beach right here, but within a short distance, you have a close nice walking beach. Saw lots of folks snorkeling - reef is close. We enjoyed the three mile boardwalk. There are two pools, two cabanas, two hot tubs. There are activities for all ages - shuffleboard, putting green, lei making, mai-tais. The Expedia desk will treat you to a nice informative breakfast your first morning here - and there are good giveaways (we got a luau!). We'll happily come back here!

Room Tip: Most rooms here have an easy view of the ocean. These condos are all individually owned, rented out by a rental property.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank takrafty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynMolinaReis, Manager at Aston at Papakea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Aloha takrafty,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are grateful to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews