We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort that could be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aston at Papakea Resort
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
redding, ca
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good resort that could be better”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I just returned from a week at Papakea. This is my first time at this property, I normally stay at Marriot Ocean Club. I do like several things about this property, it is quiet and has a nice putting green, shuffleboard and all the amenties of home. Aside that the customer service and certain things about the room could have been better. When we arived at the property at 10 am I asked for a early check in willing to pay after traveling from hana that morning and was told that my room wasn't availble until 2 or 3. Came back at 2 to check in only room was no where near what was depicted in the aston website and the sofa sleeper that we were supposed to have wasn't their. They offered us a blow up matress instead, i declined. Then the people at the front counter asked if could wait until the manager showed up and they would get me a room upgrade for the inconvience. That was fine, but when she showed up she said their was no other units clean and they will figure out where to put us and told us to go back to the original room we were unhappy with until they called. I waited another hour for their call but didn't happen. Went back to the lobbey to wait in long line for 3rd time and then she said to wait 20 minutes due to them currently cleaning it and go to another room in the J building. Being impatient at this point I went direct to the room and found no one cleaning it and it was not a upgrade like what was promised almost 2 hrs ago when I started to check in. Went back to the lobby this time and refusing to wait in line and this time got very frustrated with her regarding the current situation. She then got us another room in the same building (funny how all of these open rooms keep poping up when their was nothing at 10am) that was a upgrade to a 2 room insted of a single. This room had one broken toilet that leaked also and was in need of a good cleaning not just a spit shine. The following day we called the front desk because my wife couldn't stand how dirty it was to ask for some windex so she could clean it herself and some tp because their was none in the room we were told that we would need to buy our own cleaning suplies and tp because we didn't have a timeshare with them ??? So long story short is if you want to rent a condo with no expectations of service and to save money stay here. If you like good customer service and people that seem like they care try staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ppoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    402
    384
    167
    85
    51
See reviews for
417
402
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

There's only 4 buildings ocean front. Be sure to stay in one of those. The resort shares property with kaanapali shores, so your welcome over there as well. BBQ's poolside, and the welcoming committee your next morning is a must !!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beapryncess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have just returned from Papakea J-102 (VRBO #300648) and having stayed for 10 days at this wonderful resort. The owners have taken time to make sure this is a quality home. From the moment you walk into the home it is so inviting. We loved the ground floor. It was both convenient and private. It was also a great value at a great price to be able to see the ocean while we were cooking, watching TV or even working on the computer in the bedroom. You could walk right out to the beautiful grounds . The koi ponds were enjoyable and the closeness to the pool and ocean are wonderful. We had a few friends that own condos in the resort and they visited us during our stay. They all said that this is one of the nicest units. The updates in the kitchen and bathrooms alone are amazing. Do not hesitate to stay here!! It is BEAUTIFUL!!!!!!!!! Television in the bedroom went out on the second day. The owners had it replaced by the end of the day with a new large flat screen! From our very first email contact to a follow-up after our stay, the owners maintained excellent communication. By the time we checked in, we felt like we were walking into the home of a close friend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

The pictures and site does not do this place justice. I Was skeptical at first because I normally stay at Sheraton, but wanted to try out a condo. Not bad at all. I'm only on day 2 so we will see how it ends! The beach has no sand but just lay out on grass and walk down to dip yourself. It's like a protective area, and water shoes are a must. My condo was clean and updated.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaFromVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aloha, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at the Aston at Papakea and it was the most relaxing time I have ever had !!
Room D404 was incredible ...Great view from the master bedroom and patio.
Thanks Dave and staff for helping us find our way around Maui.
Mahalo !!

Room Tip: Upper floors for the view !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.2 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
2,535 reviews
1.7 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
3.1 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
2.9 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Lahaina

Been to Aston at Papakea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at Papakea Resort

Property: Aston at Papakea Resort
Address: 3543 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9416 (Formerly ResortQuest at Papakea Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $251 - $470
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston at Papakea Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden paradise on "The Magic Isle." This picturesque oceanfront resort is nestled amid 13 acres of lush tropical landscaping and expansive lawns bordered by flower-lined paths. The resort offers a variety of on-site amenities and activities - with restaurants, galleries and shops of Lahaina and Kaanapali Beach just moments away. Facilities Use and Cleaning Fee: A daily facilities use fee and a one-time housekeeping fee $89 (plus tax) will apply. Daily housekeeping is available for an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aston at Papakea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston At Papakea Hotel Lahaina
Resortquest Papakea Resort
Papakea Resort Maui
Papakea Maui
Aston At Papakea Resort Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing