We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,283)
Filter reviews
1,283 results
Traveller rating
611
435
118
77
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
611
435
118
77
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castaway cafe banyan building coconut building aloha tower full kitchen black rock garden view whalers village free trolley smaller pool beach walk main building two queen beds great beach onsite restaurant studio condo general store
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 1,283 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We spent 10 days at MKV over the holidays, and it was one of our best trips to Maui. This was our second time staying at MKV, and they did not disappoint. We book through Costco, and we had a room in the tower last time. This time was in the Coconut building, and it was just perfect for our family. Clean, great décor, and a nice little slice of an ocean view from the lanai over the adjacent street and oceanfront homes. We love the swimmable, sandy beach and the laid back pools. The restaurant was great for cocktails and days we didn't feel like cooking. Every staff person from front desk to housekeeping to the maintenance were friendly and helpful. Restaurant staff was fun and friendly and put the Cardinals game on for us on Christmas eve. The concierge was great, too. She gave us a lot of helpful info for the activities we wanted to do, even booking a Pearl Harbor tour for our two day trip to Oahu. The beach rental shack is affordable and the guys in there are super friendly with great knowledge of the island. The location is great...not too far to Lahaina, a nice walk to Black Rock, a short walk up toward the Westin for great snorkeling. Cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ocean view is great, but pool/garden view is good, too.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Glo3S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 5 nights on our trip to Maui. Very friendly staff and very neat and tidy rooms overlooking a pristine garden and. pool areas. Pool area is great, probably more for kids but the property leads right out onto the beach. The beach is okay for swimming, but if you take the beach walk path you can walk through all other resorts along the beach and pick another more suitable spot to swim. There's a free trolley picking you up and dropping you off to the other hot spots around the resorts so you can explore the other restaurants as the Castaway on site is a bit limiting. Just expect to pay top dollar for food around here but that's the same for any resort. Would definitely stay again, nice to be away from the more busy and older resorts.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Costas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed there just for one night, but it was really refreshing experience.
Nice room, great service. Not so big pool but beach and garden was great. A little bit far from 'center'. You will need a car, but no problem with parking.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiroK1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We spent a week at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, we up scaled to a renovated unit on the 2nd floor, overlooking the pool, the unit was large, clean and comfortable. The full kitchen was a great asset in keeping the dining out to a minimum, the balcony large and used extensively.
The only downside of the until was it had a Murphy bed, this bed was to soft and uncomfortable, it wasn’t enough to ruin our stay but really wasn’t needed the unit is large enough to hold a regular bed.
The resort has everything you need the pool was clean, the ocean was close and the overall ambiance was excellent.
The staff was courteous and friendly; the Castaway Café was convenient on days you did not want to cook.
I would highly recommend, and would stay again.

Room Tip: Don't get the room with the Murphy bed
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank chaz34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We have been coming to the MKV for the past 5 years. Each unit is privately owned and rented through the hotel property management company or directly with the owner. We prefer going directly through the owner but paying extra for hotel service (cleaning, linens, etc). The pool is generally quiet and the whole vibe of this hotel is a bit older and laid back. Our favorite place on Maui. The beach is amazing and generally very swimable. There is wonderful snorkeling just in front, between this property and the Westin to the north is the ocean state park reef with the best snorkeling on the island. The exterior of the hotel is a bit dated, but each unit is styled/furnished by the owner. The grounds are immaculate. Try the Lava Flow drinks at the poolside bar.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews