We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,774)
Filter reviews
2,774 results
Traveller rating
1,323
945
316
136
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,323
945
316
136
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the beach club restaurant full kitchen grocery store aloha suite garden pool ocean view amenity fee washer and dryer strip mall bedroom condo the penthouse on site restaurant java jazz parking fee tennis courts per day times supermarket
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 2,774 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2018

This hotel is not Kaanapali, it's in an area called Honokowai and it's beach is 'seasonal'.
It should NOT have the name Kaanapali in it at all. Because there was no beach (our friends' first and probably only trip to Hawaii), we had to rent chairs, get up early to find parking and DRIVE to the real Kaanapali Beach. Shame on Apple Vacations as well as the Aston group themselves.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2BFair, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Aloha,

We were sorry to read of this party’s disappointment with the location of the resort. The Kaanapali Shores is in-fact located in north Kaanapali. It’s location is preferred by many because it is conveniently located just a few short minutes from south Kaanapali, surrounded by shops and restaurants, but is less crowded. All beaches on the coastline of Kaanapali are seasonal and affected by ocean swells. Sandy beach can be found literally 3 minutes from the resort (walking). When the sand does shift, directly out front is some of the best snorkeling you’ll find on the island. The resort also features two excellent pools which our guests love.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We had a wonderful time. The Hotel staff was friendly and welcoming. The facilities were first rate. The rooms were wonderful. The Expedia Activities desk was extremely help in setting up snorkeling, surfing, and our Luau dinner. Definitely want to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mils1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Aloha Mils1977! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so glad you enjoyed your spacious residence and view, as well as our friendly staff that made you feel safe and welcome, and your convenient in-room amenities. We would love to welcome you for another vacation stay again in the future. Mahalo and warmest aloha.

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Great location, out of the way but close to all the activities and services. Close to Kaanapali beach and Lahaina. A fair trip to the airport and marina at Maalaea , but the highway seems to always be rather congested or slow (set aside about 45 minutes to complete the route either way). Really convenient for the 4 of us (me, my wife and 2 adult sons). Staff couldn't have been better. Right across the street or just 100 yards north are two great grocery stores - with liquor - should you need anything. Accommodations are modern with all the requisite appliances - even a washer/dryer. Recommended.

Not much of a beach. On must walk down the beach or go to one of the parks near Lahaina to really get a beach experience. Limited dining nearby, the property restaurant is serviceable. One needs to go to Lahaina to get any real selection. Or you could go to the Kaanapali mall just about 2 miles south.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ltkije
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Aloha Ltkije and thank you for taking the time to share your fabulous review! We are beyond thrilled to hear you enjoyed our ideal Ka'anapali location, fantastic resort amenities and excellent service from our friendly and helpful staff! We appreciate your kind words and for sharing the details of your stay that made it so memorable. It was a pleasure to have you, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Mahalo and warmest aloha.

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Everything went right - check-in, parking, got upgraded to ocean view suite, maintenance helped me turn on the washing machine within ten minutes of my call. They provide explanations and opportunities to sign up for various activities- you could find other places to sign up in town but this was easiest. I had a great time. Yes the beach was eroded away right there but you could find other entrances to the beach within five minutes. Warning tho- Maui traffic is a bummer so I'd stay around Lahaina area as much as possible

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank singlemomJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Aloha singlemomJane and thank you for sharing this lovely, emotive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed our ideal location close to Ka'anapali beach and attractions, as well as our comfortable ocean view residence and convenient resort amenities. Your feedback is appreciated and we'd love to welcome you again for another fabulous stay soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

We recently stayed in a studio on the 8th floor, and couldn't have been happier!! The unit was very clean, lighting excellent, views from the lanai exceptional, and unit had a complete and full kitchen with new appliances. All amenities were furnished (dishwashing powder, soap, coffee, etc) We were thrilled with the efficiency of the elevator, especially being on the 8th floor! The grounds and surrounding areas are well cared for, concierge, front desk, restaurants were friendly, fast and efficient. All this doesn't come without a cost, which we gladly paid, but don't kid yourself, expect to pay extra for staying in West Maui! Thank you for a beautiful stay!!

Room Tip: Upper floors will give better ocean views and more privacy from walk-about patrons
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mayflower60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James F, Manager at Aston Kaanapali Shores, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Aloha Mayflower60 and thank you for sharing your review. It is our pleasure to help make your visit relaxing and memorable. We are so pleased that our friendly staff made you feel welcome and that you got a chance to enjoy our ideal location, spectacular views, and unique amenities. We'd be happy for you to return for another great stay again soon. Mahalo and a hui hou (until next time)!

James Farquhar
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews