We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (585)
Filter reviews
585 results
Traveller rating
505
43
25
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
43
25
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific dream photographycane canoefour seasonsbeach crewcanoe restaurantbedroom residencepremier ocean viewthe ritz carltonhalf bathfull kitcheninfinity poolthree bedroompool staffmoment you arrivecoastal trailin room diningpersonal concierge
Filter
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 585 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2016

This is my 3rd visit in a row to stay here and each year it breaks my heart to leave. It is absolute heaven with impeccable service. Juliana has helped us each year to book our stay at each year she has provided outstanding service. On the phone she is like talking to a friend you have had for years. She makes the process easy and enjoyable. One year we had a room we loved and she and Ayami went above and beyond to ensure that we could get the same room again this year. I rarely write reviews but I wanted to acknowledge them for their outstanding service. The resort simply stated is perfect.

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank megan1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Aloha Megan,
Mahalo for being a loyal guest of Montage Kapalua Bay. Your generous review has been shared with Juilana and Ayami. We are thrilled that you experienced the sense of aloha here on Maui. Please allow us the opportunity to welcome you back soon. From all of us at Montage Kapalua Bay, warmest aloha,
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016

The hotel has a children's pool yet allow children in the Montage Beach Club pool. There is a sign with rules that blocks the view of patrons sitting on lounges and yet virtually no one follows the rules when it comes to the behavior of parents of small children. Yesterday there were so many enormous floatation devices in the pool that adult patrons could not even go in to cool off. This is a very serene setting that has become dominated by children on floating swans and chickens playing Marco Polo at the top of their lungs. Montage obviously encourages this since they've now added a ping pong table and foosball game to the adult bar area. So anyone lounging between the pool and the game area can barely relax with the overwhelming noise. For the amount of money spent by adults to enjoy this hotel amenity, there should be much more consideration.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 1Mauilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Aloha,
Thank you for your valuable feedback. While we provide other areas for adults to seek poolside relaxation, such as the Serenity Pool and the spa infinity pool (strictly for ages 16 and over), we sincerely appreciate you sharing your comments for improvement. We have shared this with our team and we hope to welcome you back to experience our enhancements in the future.
Mahalo,
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2016

This was my first stay at the Montage Kapalua Bay. We arrived late at night and were greeted by the staff who were prompt, helpful and very friendly making us feel at home after a long day of travel. Our suite was absolutely beautiful with an unbelievable view of the resort, Kapalua Bay, Molokai, Lanai, the whales and of course, breath-taking sunsets! The spa services/staff and facility were fantastic. I was always amazed how efficient the house cleaning staff were. We would go for a walk along the coast line every morning and by the time we got back the suite had been serviced. There are a variety of pools around the resort all of which are beautiful and well maintained. The staff were efficient and friendly. Kiha was exceptional. He was very friendly and always remembered my name and made me feel welcomed. It was also clear that he cared about the resort and the Kapalua Bay area ! As fate would have it, his Aunt Silla also works at the resort as the cultural liaison. She makes you feel like family and knows an incredible amount about Hawaiian culture and history in general, as well as the Kapalua Bay area. Overall the whole experience at the Montage was fantastic and filled with memories that will last a lifetime!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Aloha James,
Mahalo for choosing Montage Kapalua Bay for your couples retreat. We truly appreciate your generous compliments of our services and departments. Along with these departments, Kiha and Silla will be thrilled to know you’ve recognized their genuine care on TripAdvisor. Thank you and we look forward to your return.
Warmest aloha,
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2016

We arrived at the Montage in mid-afternoon and were warmly greeted by the bellmen who assured that we need not carry anything and all would be brought to our room. As we walked down the entrance to the hotel, we caught our breath at the beautiful view that lay ahead overlooking the tranquility pool which cascaded down to other pools and then to a magnificent greener than green lawn. All of that somewhat prepared you for the sweeping ocean view that lay beyond that. Good thing we were handed welcome drinks by the manager as that helped wake us from the mesmerizing view.

Perfectly situated on the coastline, the Montage is a series of buildings with luxury suites/condos curving around this fantastic precipice. Our suite was recently refreshed, very comfortable, spacious and had a generous lanai with plenty of lounge ability! While we reserved a 2 bedroom/2 bath, we were actually placed in a 3 bedroom/3.5 bath with one of the bed/bath combos being locked. Both of our bedrooms had ocean views and ensuite baths - perfect accommodations for families. Additionally, a full kitchen stocked with utensils, pots, dishes etc. and high end applianced (Wolf/SubZero) was there for our use if we desired (the only thing we desired was to make coffee - heck - this was vacation!).

The resort has a large spa/fitness facility. While the fitness center is available for guest use and it is well appointed, classes are an additional fee. My husband had a massage but was underwhelmed given the price.

The service and staff were terrific - always welcoming, helpful and gracious.

A couple of notes:
Very family oriented - especially at Spring Break - lots of young children, group gatherings and nannies make for a competitive lounge chair exercise and a noisy poolside. There is a small pool located at the Beach Cafe which would be ideal for families with teens or couples, however, the Kids Club also uses it at what seems like the most inopportune times - this would be an easy fix if the the Kids Club was not permitted to use that pool.

Should we return to Kapalua Bay, we will certainly stay at this lovely retreat.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MaryKay519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2016

Aloha MaryKay,
Thank you for choosing Montage Kapalua Bay for your spring break family vacation. We truly appreciate your generous comments and feedback for improvements. As the experiences of our guests are our top priority, we are delighted to know you’ve created unforgettable memories at our resort. Again, mahalo for your review and we look forward to being a part of your next family holiday.
From all of us at Montage Kapalua Bay, warmest aloha,
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2016

Fantastic Hotel!! Stayed here with family for 12 nights and everyone had a wonderful time!! The staff spoil you and everyone knows your name before you arrive. It's quite impressive!!

The grounds are gorgeous!! Maui has become quite busy and you will NOT get that crowded feeling at the Montage. It's really one of only a few resorts on Maui that is not crowded. Plenty of pool chairs for everyone (which is greatly appreciated as seeing people get up early to save chairs at other resorts is just silly)!! Also, love the fun snacks they pass out poolside!! Nice touch Montage!! Beach is great for snorkeling and swimming!! Very safe beach for kids!!

The rooms are very nice, plenty of space for families!!

Oh and don't forget to check out the spa & gym!! AMAZING!! They also have a delicious juice bar located at the spa. It closes early but we loved grabbing a fresh pressed juice or smoothie each morning!! Great way to start the day!!

Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank heart77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontageKapaluaBay, Manager at Montage Kapalua Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2016

Aloha,
Thank you for your high marks and recommendation. We hope TripAdvisor readers will find your review most helpful as many of the amenities you mentioned are a pleasant added value. Mahalo for your review and for choosing Montage Kapalua Bay. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back for the holidays. Until then, malama pono (take care),
David Hoffman
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews