We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable nice location place to stay”
Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Midland, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Comfortable nice location place to stay”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Nice quiet hotel sits right on the beach. There isn't any hot tub here which was are only down side but you can walk about two hotels up and there is a steaming hot one to crash. Our room was really nice and we only got in trouble once from being loud which is impressive cuz i went with a group. Its nice 'cuz there is a book in every room that people who have stayed there previous to you have wrote in for there hints and tips. Maui locals like to keep there local charms a secret so when you get down there the book helps show what the other visitors have discovered. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen is helpful for eating cheap.I guess each of the rooms are privately owned so who knows what your room is going to look like and some people live there year round. Also if you keep the windows open in the bathroom you can hear the person in the next rooms morning poop if they have their windows open too. A little too personal if you ask me. Also they upgraded us to an ocean view which was really wonderful. Nothing like jager bombs and a cold miller on the balacony in the morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Aloha Mary H:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to post a review. I'm happy to read that you enjoyed your visit; we hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    399
    169
    85
    54
See reviews for
274
490
24
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Great location, about 5 miles away from downtown Lahaina, easy to get to Lahaina without the hustle and bustle. Casual restaurants and Times Supermarket within a 2 mile walk/drive.
Our room was not updated, but worked well for us. The other reviewer that stated that the room is only cleaned every 3 days is correct. If that bothers you, then don't stay there. When we checked into the room, we were provided with 3 pool/beach towels and a note that said that the staff would replace our towels daily if we left it on the bathroom floor AND that we were responsible to have the same number of towels in our room when we checked out. The staff came into our room to freshen the towels, then took the wet pool towels and never replaced them. We had to go down to housekeeping (Basement level) to get fresh pool towels every day. No biggie, just inconsistent with their stated policy.
Our favorite things about this hotel were:
- Free parking
- Great location
- Washer/Dryer (with washing liquid) included
- Kitchen
- We enjoyed dinner on our lanai almost every night.
- Good snorkeling from the beach
- Heated pool (water seemed warmer than the ocean)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Aloha GT_Marketing:

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to point out your favorite aspects of the Outrigger Royal Kahana - there is nothing like having dinner on the lanai with that sunset view!

We hope to see you again soon!

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is our third stay at the royal kahana. We love the location and it's beach. The price is reasonable based on comparable condos. If you don't like crowds and a suburban feel,this is the place. A note of caution: Don't let them sell you a ocean front that is really an ocean view. There are twelve floors and the ocean fronts are in only 4 condos on each floor - the 2br in the center & the 1 br on each side. We stayed in condo 1009 each time which is ocean front. The maids and maintenance staff is very accommodating however the office staff needs some manners in humility and customer care.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gradparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Aloha gradparent:

Thank you for returning to stay with us. We're happy to read that you like our location and that you've stayed with us three times!

Just a note about our view categories: we define an oceanfront room as your being able to see the ocean immediately upon entering the unit. If you would like to request a particular unit, please let us know when you are making your reservation and we'll do our best to honor your request.

Thank you for your kind words about our housekeeping employees. I have already passed along your comments about the service you received to both the Executive Housekeeper and to our Assistant Resort Manager.

We hope to see again a fourth time!

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Findlay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

"ALOHA".....
We stayed at the Outrigger Royal Kahana, Jan.17th.-Feb.23rd.,2012.
Everyone....from Front Desk; Laundry Girls; Pool/Yard Guys/Girls at "Gazebo"..make us ALWAYS feel like we are "Home away from Home"!! ALL are FRIENDLY... this is our winter getaway(OHIO)!! We've been COMING BACK, 8 of the last 10 years. It's QUIET, since Our Room is on the Garden Side(Ocean View)...you can sit on your Lanis>watch WHALES.. GORGEOUS CREATURES. If you ever want a GREAT WHALE EXCURSION>>Try "Capt. Steve's" 45' Raft>>You will have a GREAT Time/see WHALES. We go out with him, 2-3 times, each year. Also>>"HULA GIRL" 65'Catamarian>Great! WSOman@aol.com

Room Tip: Garden Side, with OCEAN VIEW....Quieter (cooler in afternoons...less Sun). Pool Side (NOISY, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wsoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We booked through our travel agent, and were not disappointed. We stayed in Room 813 (ocean front room) and could not have been more pleased!! Although the hotel is a little older it totally met our needs. We took one look out our lanai, and knew we made the right decision. We could have picked apart little things about our unit, but the point is they would have been little things. The view we had was awesome, the pool was great and the location was great!
We noticed the toilet tank had a small drip and by mid week they had taken take of it. The person who takes care of our room made sure to leave new towels daily. We didn't expect her to clean up after us, but she did put the cups and saucers that we left in the sink into the dishwasher. For the price and location we would come here again!!
If you are looking for someone to pick up after you daily and a perfect room, do down the road to one of the fancy resorts and pay top dollar. For the difference in price and the location, we can make our own bed, pick up after ourselves and enjoy the view!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MonkeyMan3535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Aloha MonkeyMan3535:

Thank you for posting your review and photos of your room and view. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

You are right in that we are not a full service resort and we appreciate that you understand that a little less service means greater savings for you, and that million dollar view from 813 is very affordable.

Thank you for staying with us; we hope to see you again soon.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
5.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,030 reviews
2.7 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,507 reviews
2.7 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
4.7 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,996 reviews
6.0 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $183 - $840
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Kahana 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing