We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kahana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Kahana
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a view!!!!!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Party of three adults and one 11 year old stayed from Jan 13 - 23. I could not believe the views. We were on the 12th floor ocean front. When we walked in we all ran around looking at the amenities. The wrap around lani with the outrageous views. The size of the unit was immense. A large 60" tv in the living room. Omg. You do have to sign up for wifi but is available. Cheapest to do a whole month if staying longer than a week. The unit was nicely taken care of for the age of the building. The kitchen look as if had recently been remodeled. Stainless appliances and all the pot and utensils you would need. Was missing a baking pan if you wanted to make a pizza or bake. I ended up using the broiling pan drip tray. When we left we still had some things not eaten. We did leave. There was nothing when we arrived. It is too bad no spices or even seasonings in unit. I guess this might be a health issue? Everything seemed in great order. A/C in spare bed was a bit noisey, but we got used to. All in all we would definitely stay again. We heard that this condo has one of the few heated pools in the area. Oh almost every day we saw turtles and whales. Turtles up near the shore. Whales out further. Bring binoculars or get some at Costco. We could see the whales breaching and splashing. I hope other find this help full. The housekeeping is lite. They come in and do garbages and toilet paper. If you need something they are always happy to get for you. Their is also the bonus of the washer and dryer. Would love to come again. I think next time we will hit a different island, but if I come back I would stay here. Aloha and Mahalo.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Abbysunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Aloha Abbysunlover:

Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the view from your unit - the only way you can get a better ocean view is take a cruise! And there is nothing like seeing those whales breeching from the lanai of your oceanfront condo.

I've asked the maintenance department to look at the air conditioner; thank you for bringing that to our attention.

Thank you for posting your review. We hope that your visit to us will have you rethinking your plans for another island and we're looking forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    388
    166
    83
    53
See reviews for
262
481
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We stayed on the 12th floor, amazing view of the ocean, great room altough a bit outdated. Staff at front desk were really nice and the concierge desk very helpful as well. You are approximately 20 steps from the ocean which is really convenient and the pool is good too!
No complaints!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank losierc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Aloha losierc:

Thank you for staying with us and for your kind words about our staff and concierge desk.

We're happy to read that you enjoyed the view from your unit on the 12th floor - you can see almost all the way to Oahu from there!

Thank you for posting your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

A Hui Hou!
Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed for 1 week from January 4-11, 2012.Let me start with the positives. The pool is heated which was very nice and the Ocean Front Condo View was spectacular! We reserved a Ocean View Condo, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms our first unit was on the 12th floor overlooking a building with a partial ocean view. We were very upset as I paid $4,500.00 for the unit for 4 adults and a 15 year old boy. We were moved to unit 810 which was a stunning shoreline view. Excellent for seeing the whales and turtles... Very spacious.The carpets were stained, and the furniture very old and worn... but the thing that really grossed us out was there was a unlocked cupboard in the kitchen which had mold, bugs, food from 20 plus years a jar of rancid lard. It actually kept me up all night fearing bugs would be crawling on me. We complained and they locked the cupboard saying it is the "Owners" and they can't touch it. Needless to say after that I wore shoes everywhere and sanitized everything in the dishwasher.
The hotel was supposed to have Air Conditioning and it was pre-set and it couldn't go below 73.5 which I don't call A/C and the ceiling fan was almost non-existant. I feel it was very poor value for what I paid. For our week in Waikiki Beach on Oahu we stayed at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach and it was a lovely Hotel, you couldn't possibly compare the 2 Outriggers.I am very dissapointed and it wasn't a nice way to end our 3 week vacation in Hawaii.

Room Tip: Checkout your room/unit before you unpack and look in the cupboards, and see if the fan's work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jen739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
Aloha jen739:

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We're happy to read that you enjoyed the pool and the view from your oceanfront condo.

Though you had reserved an ocean view two bedroom condo and were assigned to a unit on our highest floor, you advised us that you were unhappy with that view and we did upgrade you at no additional charge to an ocean front unit, which you previewed and accepted prior to your moving. Unfortunately, the door to that unit's owner's closet had been left unlocked and, though that closet contains the unit owner's personal belongings and is not usually opened by our staff, you were able to gain access and for that I do apologize to you.

Our air conditioning is a chilled water system and, as such, will cool the unit but will not make your condo cold. Also, with the oceanfront condos having an unobstructed western view across the ocean toward Molokai and Lanai, the afternoon sun can be intense and it is helpful to close the drapes to help keep the unit cool.

Our building, like most Maui condos, is not brand new and, as such, we are continuing to upgrade and update items and areas like our lobby, elevators and building exterior to provide the best possible guest experience.

Thank you for taking the time to post your experiences. When you are ready to return to Maui, I would appreciate it if you would again consider staying with us. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

A Hui Hou!

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

This was our 6th trip to Maui but the 1st time we've stayed at this place. The room was huge and overlooked the ocean. We could see hundreds of whale sprays and a few breaches even. The room was large with a nice kitchen. The problems existed with amnenities. No beach towels were given to us which normally is done with these units. No wifi in the room. Very small shower/bathroom. No shampoo/conditioner/soap. I'd still recommend this place but just be aware of the lack of "hotel" type amenities. Also, free parking Is a plus.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soki816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed 4 nights and thought it was a good value. All the appliances worked well and the bed was comfortable. Our ocean view was partly obscured by another building. Beach is non-existent. You need a car if you stay here, which was OK for us because we are familiar with the area.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parallel40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill R, Guest Relations Manager at Royal Kahana, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Aloha parallel40:

Thank you for staying with us. We're happy to read that you found the Outrigger Royal Kahana to be a good value and that you enjoyed your condo.

Our beach does vary based on the whims of Mother Nature and the ocean's swells. The good thing is that there a number of great beaches within a short distance; S-turns, Napili Bay, Kapalua and North Kaanapali Beach are all great and are all different from each other.

Thank you for posting your review. We hope to see you again on your next Maui visit.

A Hui Hou,

Bill Rees
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,463 reviews
5.5 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
4.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
2.6 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
1,060 reviews
2.7 km away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kahana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kahana

Property: Royal Kahana
Address: 4365 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-9298
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $190 - $481
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kahana 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make yourself at home in Kahana. This beachfront community is the calm cousin to West Maui's high-profile destinations of Lahaina, Kaanapali and Kapalua Resort. You won't find the typical string of Maui hotels, dazzling storefronts, and streams of shoppers and diners - although that's only a few minutes away if the mood strikes. Breathe in the breeze that sweeps across the ocean view from your high-rise lanai. Marvel at humpback whales slapping and rolling so close to shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Kahana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Royal Kahana Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Lahaina
Outrigger Hotel Royal Kahana
Outrigger Lahaina
Lahaina Outrigger
Outrigger Royal Kahana Resort
Royal Kahana Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing