We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyound our expectation”
Review of Paki Maui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Paki Maui Resort
Venice, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beyound our expectation”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

It is a 2.5* hotel. When we opened the door of the room, it is actually a suite, which was newly renovated. The appliances and furniture were new and room was clean. The backdoor is open to the garden of the hotel. There was a full kitchen with everything you need. The TV was LCD. Although there was no air conditioning, the ceiling fan worked well. Feel it was like a home. The only thing if you want find something for improving is that the bed is too soft.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments on your recent stay at the Aston Paki Maui. We very much believe that we do provide a great value being located oceanfront with views from our lawn area and many of our units, of the neighboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and the beautiful sunsets in between.
As you mentioned however our one bedroom garden view units also have their lanais overlooking and opening up to a true tropical garden with a koi pond and waterfall. You are still steps from the oceanfront area and although our units don't have airconditioning as you said, they are all very comfortable with ceiling fans in every room and the Honokowai breezes to keep you cool.
We are sorry to hear you felt the bed was a bit soft and would have loved to have shown you a couple of other units in our rental program as bedding can often be a rather subjective thing with some people wanting a harder bed while others want something softer.
All of our units do meet the same standards though on being clean and comfortable for all of our guests.
We very much hope you can return again to experience the Aloha Spirit exhibited here at the Aston Paki Maui.

Mahalo again for your comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    151
    72
    47
    67
See reviews for
160
173
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Being the most positive of the group, I can give it a 1 star, I'm sure no one else in the group would even give it that.
Positive: Good pans to cook on, good microwave oven, 2 rooms and 2 showers. Ocean side view-right out our veranda. Could watch the sunset and it was very pretty.

Cons: No in room washer/dryer, which means we had to pay to do laundry. Had to pay for our own laundry detergent. Laundry service was a joke. Hotel "didn't get towels in" so we didn't have any towels to use after our outings or showers. Coffee was only free the FIRST pot. After that, they charge $1 per pack. Internet service through Ethernet didn't work without troubleshooting and calling the internet company. Cabinets were all sticky/dirty. Very small bathrooms, just enough to turn around in. Shower had secret methods to turn them from the shower. A previous guest found underwear stashed in the hide-a-bed. Wood shelves, tiles and other stuff *stored* in your shelves where you are expected to put your clothes. Bad Ethernet cables and maintenance said it was "one of the newer wires and just fine". A few of the light bulbs needed to be replaced. Several of the lights we have not found a way to turn on and the light switches can turn off the tv. I have turned off the tv several times when people were watching it.
The towels that we had were all bath towels. At one time we were able to get 2 pool towels. That was all the towels they had and we were not able to get any more. The kitchen is a one butt kitchen. There is no room for anyone else to be in the kitchen at once.
We were extremely disappointed in this place. Hope you find somewhere better. I won't come back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking the time to provide your comments on your recent stay. We are sorry that you were disappointed with some of the things in your room and with the amenities however we're happy to see you enjoyed the two bedroom two baths and spectacular views of the sunset from our property. These are available from both many of the units, lawn area and pool/barbecue cabana area right off of the ocean where we are located.
We are sorry you felt the laundry facilities were inconvenient but there are two washers and two dryers located on every floor for $1.25 per load and we sell the one time usage boxes of detergent at the front desk for only $1 which I believe is very reasonable.
All of our units do have full kitchens, including a coffee maker, and we provide a welcome pack of coffee with additional packs available also for $1 or guests of course can also stock up on coffee or other goods at the nearby grocery store which is less than a 10 minute walk from the property. This is a great way to save money over going out for all of your meals.
We provide daily maid service in which your towels are replaced daily should you choose. Many guests nowadays choose to help the environment by hanging their towels for reuse however as the signs in all of our units mention should you want the towels replaced all you need to do is place them on the floor or in the bathtub. We also have maintenance staff on property so they can address any issues you may have.
The internet in our units is complimentary and is provided by the local cable company which has a 24 hour phone number to dial should you have any connection problems. We also provide complimentary safes in all of our units.
We are sorry you felt that the kitchens and baths were too small however I have to say that is not a sentiment I've heard expressed by any of our guests before. Our two bedroom two bath units are in the 1,000 square foot range so they provide plenty of space for any family. Our one bedroom units as well are over 500 square feet.
Once again we are sorry you were disappointed with certain things at our property but were happy to see you enjoyed the views, cooking in the unit, two bedroom two baths and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time on the beautiful island of Maui.
We do hope you'll return again to give us another chance to show you the Aloha Spirit here at the Aston Paki Maui.

Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lahaina hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the Paki Maui for the past three years for a reason....it is AMAZING. The staff is so warm and welcoming. Each time we've always had fabulous views, clean rooms, and a wonderfully equipped condo. These units are some of the closest to the ocean in all of Maui for a fraction of the price. We've seen whales, sea turtles and monk seals from our lanai. The fish market, coffee shop and store are all right across the street. Couldn't ask for more. We've never had any issues with our daily maid service. There is coin- operated laundry on every floor. There are even gas grills and fabulous patio furniture down by the pool and hot tub. These are very nicely equipped condos. If you want to be pampered go stay in wailea or Kaanapali and pay three times more. The Paki isn't somewhere that a cabana boy is gonna bring you drinks on the beach. If you have two legs, a desire for warm Aloha spirit and some adventure try this place. It isn't marble and chandeliers with your own personal cabana boy or butler but has amazing charm, a goregous pool, beachfront, breath-taking views, warm staff, and fabulous accomodations at a great price. We are very well traveled and this is by far our favorite place.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cpetroske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Aloha and mahalo for your gracious comments, I couldn't have said it better myself. We are particularly thankful that you continue to choose the Aston Paki Maui for your trips to our beautiful island as we know there are many other choices. It is very satisfying for all of us to hear of your description of the warm staff always showing the Aloha Spirit to all of our guests as this is our main goal along with providing a clean and comfortable unit.
We very much look forward to seeing you again.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

If you are looking for a comfortable, reasonable place to stay while you explore all that Maui has to offer this hotel is a great option. Comfortable rooms with views and a kitchen and washer/dryers in some rooms make this a great and affordable option. We were out of our room by 9 every morning exploring, snorkeling just down the road, and enjoying the sun and water. Each afternoon/evening when we came back our room was clean and welcoming. We ate most meals in to save some money. The farmers market right across the street was great.
If you are looking for extravagance and excess, if you would prefer to just sit by a pool and be waited on then you should consider another (more expensive) hotel. But if you came to Maui to play and don't need/expect to be coddled the Aston Paki Maui is a great choice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NikkiZyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Aloha and mahalo for taking to time to post your comments on your stay at the Aston Paki Maui. We are very happy to hear that you had a great time at Paki Maui and on the beautiful island of Maui. We very much agree that we are a great value with million dollar views of the sunsets between the neigboring islands of Molokai and Lanai and great swimming and snorkeling in the protected reef area fronting the relaxing lawn area on our property. Our full kitchens are a great way to save some money on food and also hope you were able to enjoy the complimentary gas grills located at our pool/jet spa cabana.
For those times where you want to dine out as you mentioned there are plenty great food options within walking distance and by car we are within 10 minutes of the Kapalua, Kaanapali and downtown Lahaina areas as well.
We very much hope you can join us again real soon.

Mahalo again for your nice comments.

Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is BY FAR the WORST hotel that I have ever stayed at. We actually had to switch rooms, after much pleading with the managers. They wouldn't budge to upgrade us. FALSE ADVERTISEMENT PEOPLE. If it says if has a washer and dryer in your room, it most likely doesn't. The washer and dryer is actually out in the hall, where you have to pay $1.25 per load.
Our first room, we were in for two nights. I couldn't stand another day to be in it. The drains in both the shower and sink would not drain, and the room all together was very small. There are no actual doors, if you want privacy you have to slide them closed. The second room, was a tad bit better but still I hated it. I actually was depressed over how this hotel turned out to be. I turn to Trip Advisor all the time and the reviews all seemed positive. I guess I will be one of the few negative ones.
Maids don't know how to clean and if you have recyclables that you want to trade in for cash, the maids will take them. We had trash that lied there all week, never once touched, and then all of a sudden out of the blue she just takes the recyclables? I don't think so. Plus they were tied, TO A TABLE. That maid knew what she was doing, she wanted some free cash. As the cleaning goes, it sucked. Floors were sticky and there were bugs in some spots in the kitchen. Dust, is EVERYWHERE. My husband went to retrieve a sock that had fallen underneath the bed, and his hand was covered in it.
If you want my advise don't go to the Paki Maui. I seriously believe that Paki means DUMP. If you want to go to an Aston hotel, go to the Kanapaili Shores. Same company, so much better quality. I have stayed there before and I so badly wished that I stayed there this time around. If it wasn't for it being completely booked I would've been out of that [--] in a second.
The only way that you will like this hotel is if you get one of the upgraded rooms. Either way I disliked everything about this hotel and if you go here you will too. I have so many other things to complain about but I won't go there for your sake.
The last thing that I would like to say is thank you to Paki Maui, you made most of my trip with my family intolerable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Gianna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc11, General Manager at Paki Maui Resort, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Aloha,

I think this is one of those situations where we are going to have to agree to disagree. We do respect your opinion however as you say, when you've turned to Trip Advisor all of the reviews seemed positive, and we firmly believe that the majority of our guests feel that way about the property.

We are sorry that we were not able to upgrade you to a two bedroom two bath ocean unit at check-in as you requested because you had five people staying in the one bedroom garden view unit you had reserved but especially in the winter months our two bedrooms and ocean view categories tend to be full. Possibly the next time you can reserve the two bedroom unit at the time you make the reservation.

As far as washers and dryers, I'm not aware of any place where we advertise them to be in our units. You are correct that they are on every floor and are $1.25 per use.

The actual meaning of Paki is that it was the owner of the land the property was built on's last name however in Hawaiian Paki means splash.

Despite your opinions on the property we do hope you were otherwise able to enjoy your time on the beautiful island of Maui and thank you for your nice comments on our sister property the Aston Kaanapali Shores.

Once again as you mentioned the majority of the comments we receive from our guests are positive however we do appreciate all comments as they help us to improve our service levels and make sure all of our guests have a memorable experience here at the Aston Paki Maui.

Mahalo, Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
0.4 km away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.5 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
1.9 km away
Kahana Beach Resort
Kahana Beach Resort
#16 of 41 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Maui Kai
Maui Kai
#2 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.1 km away
Maui Sands
Maui Sands
#27 of 41 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 km away
Kulakane
Kulakane
#17 of 41 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paki Maui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paki Maui Resort

Property: Paki Maui Resort
Address: 3615 Lower Honoapiilani Rd, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-8996 (Formerly ResortQuest Paki Maui)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 41 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $190 - $425
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paki Maui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best oceanfront value on the Kaanapali Coast. Spacious suites, breathtaking views and an ideal location between the exclusive Kaanapali and Kapalua resort areas. Located next to the beach with guest suites encircling the interior garden atrium's soothing waterfall, this resort is a perfect place to relax and make new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Paki Maui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Paki Maui Hotel Lahaina
Paki Maui Resort Lahaina
Resortquest Paki Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing