We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this one !!!”
Review of Maui Paddle Sports

Maui Paddle Sports
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Maui from the local perspective. Take part in a unique Hawaiian tradition and feel the thrill of paddling an outrigger canoe. Enjoy a leisurely pace as you view Maui’s incredible coastline from the water. Your guides will tell the story of Polynesian navigation while searching for the ‘honu’ or Hawaiian green sea turtle and in the right season humpback whales! Take a ride in a traditional Hawaiian outrigger canoe- enjoy breathtaking views of Maui, Molokai & Lanai. Families as well as individuals and couples can all participate for unforgettable memories & incredible photo opportunities.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Surrey, Canada
1 review
“Don't miss this one !!!”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

My fiancé and my two young boys ( ages 6 and 8 ) thought this was a truly wonderful adventure. The kids were outfitted with life vests and properly sized paddles. Water and delicious sliced pineapple was readily available on board.

Our guides Micheal and Riese were gracious hosts and are very knowledgeable on both Polynesian and Hawaiian history. We managed to get as close as legally possible to the Humpback whales (mom, calf, closely followed by their .. 'escort'). We also saw some sea turtle.

If you value authenticity and getting as close in to the 'action' as possible ... this is the adventure for you. Our imagination were well sparked with what it was like for voyagers of the past traveling around on outrigger canoes.

Cheers and Happy Paddling !!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denis_Cormier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    645
    24
    6
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lahaina, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SOOO much fun”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

What a wonderful way to enjoy the morning Maui ocean. The trip was fun and a great workout. Took a minute to get the hang of the rhythm of the paddling but then it was smooth sailing. We saw whales (mama, baby and scout) and turtles on our way back in. Mike (our helmsman) and Reese (our oarsman) were amazing. Thank you for taking such great care of us guys. Tara and Barry --thank you so much for a memorable experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome !!”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Thank you to the crew at Paddle Outrigger!!! We saw whales and sea turtles today!!! I have never been so close!!!! Whales were right under us!!! So cool... my kids were in shock... what a cool experience.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Snell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Incredible experience”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We can't say enough good about this group. By our own mistake we arrived at the wrong destination for check in and assumed our excursion was over before it started. After a quick call we were redirected and they actually waited our arrival. Our group of seven included two children and their grandmother who were all timid about the outrigger excursion. This incredibly skilled and knowledgeable group made us all feel very comfortable in the unfamiliar environment and taught us a great deal about Hawaii along the way. We would recommend this highly and look forward to returning to Maui to hit the waters again. Mahalo for such an incredible experience we will always remember

Helpful?
Thank rjcampNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
2 reviews
“Awesome, this should be your first stop on Maui during whale season!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We went out on the 8AM outrigger tour, for a 90 minute ride/paddle. Kirk and Vai, our guides were very knowledgeable and very friendly. They took us out about a mile, then we came back into an area where there were plenty of Honu, some of which were at least 4 feet in shell size.
We then headed down to Black Rock to look for a monk seal that was hanging out there, when we saw a humpback whale cow with her calf. We we able to paddle out to them without a problem, and as we sat there, the baby and mother came almost within touching distance - it was amazing!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank curtisls87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maui Paddle Sports also viewed

 

Been to Maui Paddle Sports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing