We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,470)
Filter reviews
3,470 results
Traveller rating
2,193
864
264
90
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,193
864
264
90
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviews konea tower duke's restaurant aina market sewage plant bosch appliances full kitchen ocean view through vrbo every other day kaanapali beach rentals washer and dryer times market quiet pool grocery store underground parking high end appliances pools and hot tubs
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 3,470 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

The property's rental pool has over 300 units available. All are identically furnished is a tasteful contemporary style. The advantage here, and it is a biggie, is that you don't have to put up with an owner's bad taste and substandard furniture choices. If a piece of furniture is in disrepair it is changed out just like in a hotel. Lush tropical landscaping, a lovely collection of pools, and the Maui outpost of Duke's is right on the property. Rainbow Voyages suggested this as a nice option to a hotel for a Honeymoon.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We decided to stay at Honua Kai Condominium Resort on this trip to Maui, hopeful that it would be a good fit for our extended family vacation next year. We were somewhat familiar with this property from dining at Dukes Restaurant and walking through the lobby and grounds.
Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. The property is run down and unkempt. On the interior of the Konea Building, the hallway carpets have stains all over them and the walls and doors are really banged up and need painting. In the elevator, the 3rd floor call button (the floor we were staying on) was completely missing. We reported it, but it was not repaired during our stay. In the same elevator, there were large clumps of dirt on the floor that were finally cleaned up after being there for several days.
The exterior of the property was in a similar condition. On the sideway from our building to the pool, the lava rock retaining wall had crumbled onto the walkway, causing a trip hazard. It laid there our entire stay. The landscaping around the pool was full of trash. The lawn chairs were torn. Of the 5 spas/hots tubs, only one was working correctly. The two spas flanking the main pool had algae all along the water line and looked like they hadn’t been scrubbed in along time.

The unit we stayed in, Konea 346 was okay, but definitely showing its age. It was lsited as having an “ocean view” which is misleading (their marketing photo is zoomed in and cropped). You cannot see the ocean from inside the unit. In order to see the ocean, you have to be outside on the deck near the railing with your head cranked around to the left. The accompanying photos show the view from the main living area as you enter (the building next door), looking to the right out over the park’s restroom and then out on the deck. The other downside to this unit is it is right next to a busy park. If you are sitting on the deck, there is a steady stream of cars, people and pets. One other issue for us was the layout of the restroom. Not conducive for use for more than one person using it at a time, unless its only for brushing your teeth.

Finally, expect that when you rent through VRBO/Invited Home that you are on your own. You will not have the same privileges as if booking directly through the resort. We were surprised that we couldn’t charge to our room at the pool bar, which meant we had to bring ID and cash/credit cards with us. Also, although the property manager left a nice card in our room stating if you need anything to make your stay more enjoyable please let them know, that was not the case at all. When I called to ask for a small stool for the shower, we were told what the owners provide what is in the unit and pretty much you get what’s there. Nothing extra.

If you like going to the beach, the one out front is narrow and the very rocky. We saw several people with bad cuts on their feet from coral. Another downside to the property is the smell from the sewage treatment plant across the street. It can get pretty bad.

On a more positive note, the valet/bell staff, as well as the women working in the store were great! They were always so welcoming, helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
7  Thank Team56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018

We werent expecting such a big room but were pleasantly surprised with all of the space (and the 2nd bathroom!) The beach is steps from your room and the pools are a great way to pass the time if you have small kids. (there are adult and kiddie ones to choose from) Sitting out on the balcony and watching the sunset over the beach and sand was quite an experience as well.

The rooms are not really "cleaned" each day, which would be the only real knock on this place. Room "service" slightly tidys up but doesnt really even take out the trash or replace towels. I believe they make the beds for you but I could be wrong about that. This is basically like a condo/apt set-up where you fend for yourself for the duration of your stay. But the facilities are clean and well kept when you arrive.

The valet and bell-hops were very friendly and always happy to give a recommendation for a restaurant or activity. The best places to eat are around a 10-15 minute drive from the hotel, but there is fast food and a supermarket very close by if you need something fast.

If you are traveling with family and/or small kids I think this would be an excellent choice.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank briannC6991FY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018

Unfortunately, through no fault of their own, there is a sewage plant right across the street and the smell has become unbearable. If you have no sniffer or you can wear a bandana over your face til you get to the ocean, the place is great. The people buying these 2.5 million dollar new homes there are gonna add to the problem when they arrive and excrement their pants!

Room tip: Ocean or the smell will kill ya!
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 5255bigbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Outstanding Views and overall a great place. If there were better food options I would say it is 5 stars all day long. Was not impressed with Dukes though. Other then that it is a really great condo and location for whale watching or just to relax.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whiteleyjeremy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews