We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
46
84
59
38
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
84
59
38
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrocking chairsstayed here for one nightsister resorthistoric hotelrecommend staying hereperfect locationbalconymaui
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Good points:
1. Loacation, excellent, right in the center of town.
2. Reception friendly and helpful, when they were there.
3. Comfortable King Size bed.
4. Friendly room cleaning lady.

BAD POINTS:
1. The balcony was locked and inaccessible.
2. The stand alone 1930's wardrobe smelt musty and two of its three doors did not have handles to open and close them.
3. The taps in the hand basin were embedded in heavy rust stains.
4. The hot water tap in the hand basin did not work. We reported it and the reaction was "we would have to replace the whole faucet and it is not worth it as they are doing a full renovation in a few months".
4. The hand basin tap was leaking at a steady rate. We timed 3 minutes to fill a 12oz glass which equates to 36 gallons a day. We reported that to, without effect.
5. The noise of the 4.30am street sweeper, the 5.30am garbage truck and the 6.00 am delivery trucks was ridiculously loud, incessant and daily.
6. There was nowhere to put anything in the bathroom, not even a toothbrush an tube of toothpaste.
7. $268 per night sounded cheap when I read the website in Australia, but when the reality was quite different, that amount is a RIP off.
8. When we arrived, mid-afternoon, there was a sign on the front desk saying "back in 30 minutes". When the person returned they reeked of cigarette smoke. The desk was supposed to be manned from 11am to 7pm but was not always. Frustrating after 14 hours and two flights from Australia to have to wait round for half an hour to check in.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Lahaina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Aloha

Thank you for your valuable and honest feedback. We are extremely sorry to hear about your negative experience and even more sorry to have disappointed you. We try to maintain the highest standards of service but clearly that is not what happened here. We are in the process of working on our balconies and we are sorry you were not informed of this upon check in. We are an older hotel and as the staff informed you we are in the process of undergoing renovations. However this is not a reason to not have the sink in working order. We are also extremely disappointed to see upon check in you had to wait for the attendant to arrive during our normal business hours. We have shared your review with our management team and will be sure to address the issues you have brought to our attention. We are sorry for the outside noise disrupting your stay with us, unfortunately some things are out of our control. We are happy to see you found our location to be excellent, our staff from the reception to the cleaning staff to be friendly and our beds to be comfy. Although we missed the mark this time, we will try harder and hope you would consider us when you visit our area again in the future

Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

Located right in the heart of Lahaina, this is a great place to stay for accessing Lahaina on foot. Very friendly and helpful staff. Reasonably priced room, especially given comparable rates in Lahaina/Maui. Our room (#12) was quiet, clean and had a private balcony. It was also, however, very basic. No side table, reading lamp and no fan which would've been much appreciated given the A/C was quite inconsistent (Perhaps other rooms are better furnished?).

Room Tip: Room #12 had below average A/C
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Specialist at Lahaina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. We are delighted to see overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location perfect for all your exploring needs. We are sorry to see there were some accepts of the room that were not to your liking. A hui hou.... until we meet again.

Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

Spent the first nights in Maui here. My friend booked it and I hadn’t looked it up except for the location. They have actual keys, not the key cards most hotels use, so that caught me off guard. Sheryl was wonderful and got us situated right away. She explained that there wasn’t a pool or immediate beach access, but for that we could go to the sister property the Royal Lahaina Inn which isn’t far away and our parking pass worked there without a problem. The only downside was the air conditioner would turn off on its own and it’s right in the center of a very touristy part of town, for the first few days was ok but that got old quickly. Overall, a very pleasant experience.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Matthew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Satisfaction Team at Lahaina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time to review Lahaina Inn. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay for the most part of your vacation and even more pleased to hear Cheryl was of great assistance. Our team takes great pride in the service they provide. Mahalo once again for providing your feedback. We hope to see you soon when visiting Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Wrong room given to me. 5" of dust in the bathroom, mold, shower handle and window handle broken, shower enclosure is peeling and falling apart. peeling wallpaper, no hangers, no coffee pot, no safe, no front desk help, unless ur there between 11-7 and even then. Balcony was closed, the noise of the GLASS recycle truck at 4am was too much as was the nightly noise. While Front St. rolls up early, the noise from local workers is above the top. 3 days with no hot water, still waiting for my promised comp credit. top it off with the AC going off several times in the middle of the night. They stated the water and ac was fixed, until I entered the shower then having to get up often in the middle of the night to turn "fixed" ac back on. I found u have to set it on timer....my last night. Being that they own the Royal Lahaina Resort, I thought there would be a lot more offered in this quaint Inn. It is nice you can go to the resort and use their facilities. Quoted price was not given either. Being my son is a local, he was quoted a different price AND room. Of course there was no one at the front desk to address once I arrived. VERY disappointed. Now, to find out where my comp is! UGGH

Room Tip: not street front - I have pics, will update soon.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank NSB386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Care Team at Lahaina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Aloha
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your recent stay, and we are sorry to hear that it did not exceed your expectations. This does not at all reflect the high quality, comfortable vacation we are dedicated to providing for our guests, and your feedback will be shared with our management for thoughtful and careful examination. We ask that you contact us at Customer_Satisfaction@hawaiianhotels.com as trip advisor does not provide information so we may reach out to you in regards to the question of compensation. We look forward to hearing from you soon.


Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed three nights at this hotel in Lahaina . Great location right in the centre of this busy tourist town. No parking but this hotel does have ten spots reserved just up the road at $15usd a day, which was worth paying as the whole town doesn't have any free parking. The reception is pretty much unattended most of the time even though the sign says it's open from 11am til 7pm. The front door is nearly always locked so you need a key code . The building is old but neat & tidy . The rooms are comfortable but very small & serviced daily . Very expensive for what you get. There was no bar fridge or safe in the room. Just the basics . They had cute little balconies with rocking chairs but no privacy between balconies. I felt this hotel is very overpriced.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HHR_CustomerService, Customer Care Team at Lahaina Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Aloha

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on tripadvisor. We are happy to see you spent three wonderful night with us at the Lahaina Inn. We agree that we are located in a great location. As you have noted the Lahaina Inn is a unique experience that is in touch with the roots of Hawaiian history. We are sorry to see you felt the prices were high for the hotel. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us.

Mahalo
Tara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews