We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,730)
Filter reviews
4,730 results
Traveller rating
1,992
1,614
653
272
199
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,992
1,614
653
272
199
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cliff black rock the mai tai bar whalers village our honeymoon ocean front resort fee kaanapali beach breakfast buffet an upgrade stayed in building sea turtles public beach hula grill an ocean view room per day other resorts
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 4,730 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

When to maui for our 29 year anniversary. One day after hurricane Lane.First day was overcast.The next 6 days where beautiful. Checked in to the hotel and got an ocean view upgrade.perfect room with a perfect view.The staff where friendly and more than willing to help.The pool cabanas where amazing. Beach was beautiful and the water was perfect.had lunch at the pool several times.the food was great and the service was excellent. We asked for a late checkout and were accommodated.The front desk staff were the best.The highlight of our trip was the lania cat sanctuary.605 cats all of which love attention.This trip was our best yet.All 10s to everone on maui.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank bill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Well positioned and a short walk to Whalers for shopping. Very comfortable room overlooking the pool and beach. Good restaurant and breakfast and plenty of nearby bars/cafes for lunches. A great pool area that meanders through the property. Each night there is the traditional cliff dive. Friendly staff who do that extra bit to make you feel welcome. Arrived just after the hurricane, but everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms would have to be the best
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaryJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Sheraton on Ka'anapali Beach opened in January 1963 as the first planned vacation resort on Maui and maintains the feel of classic Old Hawaii with its landscape and architecture. The 23 acre resort has the premier location on Pu'u Keka'a, or Black Rock, where the sunset cliff diving ceremony has been reenacted daily for the 55 years of the hotel's existence. The expansive white sand beach on site is spectacular and the snorkeling adjacent to Black Rock is excellent. The hotel pool has an area for children with a series of channels connecting the larger swimming pools. During the busy Labor Day Holidays there were not enough poolside chaise lounges(even by 9am) to handle the crowds, so our only option was to rent covered chaises for the cost of $45 a day. Poolside service was limited.
While we have visited Maui for many decades, this was our first stay at the Sheraton since its major rebuilding in 1996. Our ocean view room in building 3 had been recently redecorated in a contemporary island motif and had a sleek, modern bathroom. Housekeeping service was outstanding and responsive to all requests. Dining and drinking options on site are not exciting, but the nearby Whaler's Village on Ka'anapali offers outstanding gourmet restaurants and bars. There is a free shuttle service to Whalers Village, but the walk along the beach to the dining and shopping Mecca takes a leisurely ten minutes. Daily charges for parking and wifi add up to almost $50/day.

Room Tip: Upper floor ocean view
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank KLE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

This is our fourth stay at Sheraton Maui and it has never disappointed us. They recently re-modeled their rooms and the bath rooms are practically new. Walking distance to Kaanapili beach and the Black Rock for swimming/snorkeling. There are plenty of fishes and occasional sea turtles swimming in the Black Rock area. The food at the resort is quite expensive but our vacation package deal comes with daily breakfast buffett ($32 pp) so take advantage of full breakfast every morning.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dwueclipse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was looking for properties in Kaanapali last month and my base camp was the Sheraton. The location was excellent being at the far end of the Kaanapali Beach. Everything else is walking distance. The landmark Black Rock for Cliff Divers is right on the property. It is family friendly. I di not eat on the property as there are more active and better restaurants at the Whaler's Village, a shopping and dining mini mall on the beach, just a short stroll from the Sheraton.
For the adults, I felt the poolside bar's and drinks were weak on not very high standard or exotic. The food choices were a little heavy on did not reflect the islands. I feel they have a way to go in that category.
The rooms are a little tired and could use a bit of an upgrade. The hallways are drab and not very well appointed. The staff at the front are excellent and helpful but the room service options, housekeeping and responsiveness .s average.
Given the location and the size of the property and the room pricing, the hotel could use a major facelift and some more apparent staffing. The food areas need to be totally refreshed. The problem might be there are so many options and the evening crowds are all down at the Whaler's Village.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews