We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali
Nearby Hotels
USD 394*
USD 351*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 408*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 794*
USD 731*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 502*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Royal Lahaina Resort(Lahaina)(Great Value!)
USD 326*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 228*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 559*
USD 525*
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kaanapali Alii(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort(Lahaina)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (5,489)
Filter reviews
5,489 results
Traveller rating
2,327
1,678
811
431
242
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,327
1,678
811
431
242
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach towerwhalers villageadult poolblack swanocean viewself parkingheavenly bedpink flamingosbreakfast buffetour honeymoonhula grillspg pointskoi fishan umbrellaabc storekaanapali beachfree shuttle
Filter
Updating list...
4,091 - 4,096 of 5,489 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Cleanliness was incredible. Workers polishing railings and cleaning grills daily. Rooms showed same level care.
Location was great. Views fantastic. Snorkling (no experience) - came easy and realized the location was really incredible after visiting a few of the other locations nearby - more experienced folks may differ opinions.
Lahaina was a shuttle trip was 10 minutes and complimentary. This was a daily trip.
Family of four - daughters 14 and 11. Girls really enjoyed the pools as well.
Breakfast was included and taken advantage of. Found best dinner values at Lahaina. Also, seemed to have most restaurant choices there, but again easy shuttle service provided there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sglubka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaigeCabacungan, Director of Sales at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Aloha! Thank you for your review, and obviously your stay was very memorable, and you discovered why are tagline is "where heaven and aloha meet". We have our breakfast packages open for May, and certainly hope to welcome you and your daughters back to the resort in the near future... in the meantime - stay warm! (its 83 degrees and sunny today!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Enjoyed staying at the Westin Maui Resort and Spa so much that I feel homesick and can't wait to come back again. I'm normally a Marriott girl and have stayed at every Marriott on the island but I'm out of points so made plans through Costco Travel to stay at the Westin for 3 weeks. Cannot say enough about the aloha feel and ambience of the hotel. It was beautiful with pink flamingos, birds, black swans, fish and a cat that has adopted the bell staff so the animal lover in me was happy. Everyone we encounted there was helpful, happy and seemed appreciative that we were vacationing at their hotel. In short, the property is beautiful, comfortable, calming and well staffed with nice people. It's a very very short walk to Whaler's Village where you can find everything from great restaurants to the ABC store for suntan lotion. AND, you can see humpback whales while enjoying the best buffet breakfast on the island. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janew_2254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

I have at least 3 Platinum members in my family since we all have job related travels so within the family there is a lot of tribal knowledge of the best places to stay and in what city. Also with being Platinum members we probably get treated a little better than most crowds. I am returning to this place again in April since this hotel offers a great balance of everything I want. That balance might be different for someone else so it may not be for you.

Yes, the hotel is a little crowded at times especially with children. They don't bother me that much, maybe if you're specifically looking for a really quiet place. I mean if you're going to Maui and expect Big Island quietness, then you're asking for trouble.

The location is great since you can walk over to Whaler's Village and not pay for parking. Valet can be a little slow but they're friendly. Front desk staff is nice and I feel they're a bit overworked, there is always a line. One suggestion is for them to add a Preferred line for SPG members, I'm not use to standing in a long line to check-in. (Sorry, been spoiled).

Bell service is great, they're pretty fast. The concierge service is a little too aggressive on the vacation rental promotion. I think they may get a commission out of it or something, they seem to push it really hard if you cancel it. I mean why go when I'm on vacation?

Stay here if you like it a little more upbeat, not Oahu upbeat, but somewhere between Big Island quiet and Oahu live. Great place if you have kids.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hqduong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Have stayed here 8 weeks total (4 trips) in the last 12 months so we must love it. Great hotel, views, pools and staff. Virginia Galinato, house keeper, Grace at the front desk, Alison and Lupe cocktail waitresses around the pool all make you feel at home. Couldn't recommend it more highly. see you again in another 3 months or so.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hootstir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaigeCabacungan, Director of Sales at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Mahalo Hootstir for your uplifting review. It’s a loyal guest like you who will put a smile on our face and remind us why we love working at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa. The appreciation that you’ve given to our staff is priceless. We’ll certainly share this feedback to Virgina, Grace, Alison, Lupe and their managers. Again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back in several months. Aloha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Having vacationed at the Marriott Kauai three times previously (and having a fantastic service experience), my wife and I thought we'd venture out to one of the other islands to see more of Hawaii. The Westin Maui Resort was an absolute horror. Service was slow bordering on rude. The food wasn't refrigerated properly - which led to my wife contracting food poisoning on the second day. It took over an hour to book an excursion. And the bar staff was more interested in polishing their beer taps than actually pouring a drink. Fortunately, we went to the Whaler's Village and had a completely different service experience at every restaurant and venue there. Even without reservations, we didn't have to wait more than 10 minutes for a table. Bar service was instantaneous. The wait staff at Hula and Lelaini's was friendly, fast and the food was great. We're really surprised and disappointed with the Westin. You'd think with such a prime location and beautiful facility, they'd have their pick of the best-of-the-best in hotel management. Sadly, at the Westin Maui, that is definitely not the case.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sayersnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaigeCabacungan, Director of Sales at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2011

Mahalo for your taking the time to write your review. We are sorry your wife was ill during your stay. Wished we had the opportunity to investigate the source of illness that we may have had the opportunity to make Mrs. Sayer more comfortable and cared for. Although, this issue was not reported rest assured that we take all safety and health concerns very serious at our resort. This feedback has been shared with our respective departments we are glad you found comfort and renewal at Whaler’s Village for your dining experience. Should you give The Westin Maui Resort & Spa another thought we’d look forward to welcoming you back. Aloha!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews