We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,721)
Filter reviews
5,721 results
Traveller rating
2,425
1,735
842
457
262
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,425
1,735
842
457
262
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beach tower whalers village adult pool ocean view black swan self parking heavenly bed pink flamingos breakfast buffet our honeymoon hula grill spg points koi fish abc store an umbrella free shuttle an upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 5,721 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Undergoing renovation, so the front desk and arrival area are basic. Overlook this temporary condition and you will find a lovely resort with comfortable rooms and excellent service. The pool areas are beautiful and it is a short 10 minute walk to Black Rock for good snorkling.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank mjd496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, General Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Mjd496,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. We truly appreciate your thoughtful review and understanding as we begin Holomua improvements to redesign our lobby, guest rooms, and parking facility into an even more luxurious destination. We are elated to hear that our service and amenities accommodated your every need and that our convenient location near Black Rock made your Hawaiian adventure so exciting. We would love to welcome you back to our resort very soon.

With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

If your dream is to visit a construction site in Paradise then the Westin is the hotel for you.

If you like to look at the clear blue waters of the Pacific ocean whilst listening to Jack hammers and construction workers wandering around the pool, then come to the Westin.

In all seriousness if you are due to visit this resort any time soon then I would seriously consider trying to obtain a full refund and book an alternative.

We have flown 7500 miles to experience hell and ruin both a birthday and wedding anniversary.

If that wasn't sufficient they even have the brass neck to charge their resort fee for services that come as standard in European / Asian resort hotels. Water in your room? Wi-Fi? Yep they'll sting you. Want a sunbed with a cushion? That will cost you. Want to lie on the beach- that'll cost you extra.

I appreciate that things are done differently in the US but I feel likes I've been robbed.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, General Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Aloha Richard,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your insights and truly regret missing the opportunity to make your birthday and anniversary getaway a memorable one. As part of our continued commitment to renewing our property offerings and décor, we apologize for any inconvenience our Holomua transformation work may have caused. We do hope your rejuvenation was otherwise pleasant while on Maui and you were able to enjoy our aquatic playground with a dedicated adults-only pool, its proximity to the beach including beachfront dining and a neighboring beachfront village for shopping and nightlife. Our apologies again that you left dissatisfied with your experience, and we wish that we had better addressed these concerns prior to your departure. We look forward to elevating your stay on your next visit to this tropical island.

With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

After a long day of travel, we enjoyed watching the sunset from our balcony. It was a beautiful view. The room was clean and we always enjoy the "Heavenly Beds." The room arrangement of the sink and mirror looking through to the room was unusual and my family didn't always appreciate watching each other brush their teeth, groom, etc.

The construction was inconvenient as the elevator was sporadic and it took a while to get our car. We tried to take the shuttle to Lahaina but were confused as to where the pickup was with the construction entrance and missed it so we decided to drive.

My family enjoyed the birds and the koi pond. The pool was nice and the beach convenient but the price of umbrellas and chairs were costly but we expected that as everything seems to be an add on in the resorts in Hawaii.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, General Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Aloha motravels1,

It was such a pleasure to read your thoughtful review. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your beautiful balcony views as well as your nights of restorative sleep in our Westin Heavenly Beds. Moreover, we want to let you know our resort has begun Holomua improvements that include a new on-site parking facility, redesigned guestrooms, and suites as well as refreshed public areas such as the main lobby. Thank you again for providing this informative feedback and please know this is crucial in improving our guests’ experiences. We would love to welcome your family back for another memorable stay soon.

With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

The grounds were superb and located right next door to a large shopping precinct, great location. The view from the balcony was stunning at sunset. The rooms were clean and well presented. The renovations taking place took a little gloss of the hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, General Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Aloha Chris,

Mahalo for providing this excellent feedback about your recent visit. Whether it was the prime location on a pristine portion of Ka’ānapali Beach or your well-appointed accommodations, complete with breathtaking views, it sounds like a very relaxing stay in tropical paradise. We are excited to let you know that our resort has begun what we call Holomua, a word in the Hawaiian language referring to improvement, progress and creating success. Through improvements that we will be making within the resort, we look forward to creating an enhanced experience, coupled with our genuine Aloha. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back once they are completed.

With Warmest Aloha,
Thomas Foti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

This hotel was personally recommended to me by two people who have great taste so I know this hotel has had better days. I’m very disappointed that I wasn’t notified about the construction prior to booking and or arriving so I could have made an informed decision. The biggest negatives: you can’t call ahead for valet (15+minute wait outside each time), several elevators closed, spa closed (they made it sound like it was closed for the day when I made my reservation), lots of construction noise. I would highly recommend finding out the status of the hotel renovation before booking. There were certainly positives about this place (nice pools, adult pool, great brunch at Relish, close beach access, activity booking through hotel) but nothing pulling it up above average with all the negatives. Use caution when booking activities through the hotel and make sure you clarify where to pick up your vouchers, we spent the first hour of our vacation trying to find the concierge we were “assigned as VIPs” (haha) which turned out to be a sales pitch for Westin Vacation Club. Everything was great with the activities and I certainly appreciated them being booked on my behalf but didn’t appreciate the inconvenience upon arrival trying to locate the vouchers when I received an e-mail clearly stating any concierge could print them which wasn’t true.

If you are planning your honeymoon, call first, you don’t get a redo!!!! I regret the time I spent being frustrated by this hotel on mine.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FarAway571893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWestinMaui, Public Relations Manager at The Westin Maui Resort & Spa, Ka'anapali, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Aloha FarAway571893,

Thank you for choosing to celebrate your honeymoon stay with us during your recent Maui visit. Providing the highest level of hospitality is our number one priority and we sincerely apologize for falling short of meeting and exceeding your expectations. As a teachable moment, we have shared your feedback with the appropriate teams to ensure that necessary guidelines are in place for better communication with our valued guests such as resort transformation work and voucher pick-up among other areas you had mentioned. We hope you will consider us the next time your travels bring you back to Maui to allow us to create a distinctive experience.

With Warmest Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews