We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok value for the money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ok value for the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed at the Whaler from Apr 2 - 9, 2012 in unit 356 tower 2. The unit was spacious and well supplied. Location is right on the Kaanapali Beach with Whaler's Village right next door. Views were great and weather beautiful.
Cons - ammenties were only so so. Pool is small with limited chairs that were full by 8 am. Exercise facility was not worth visiting. We received clean towels each day, but unit was cleaned only once during our stay. We required a late checkout on our last day and even though the room was not booked, we were charged almost a full day rate. Renovations were still going on and if you were in your unit during the day it was annoying. For the price per night, I expected a little more.
This was our first trip to Maui and if you are looking for a party, this is not the place to go. Restaurants closed at 9:30 and nothing else going on.
Overall, the Whaler was just ok.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frredom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    327
    71
    40
    15
See reviews for
292
524
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KALAMA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stay in 802, tower 1 every time we visit Maui...could not find a better condo...absolutely everything you would need plus an amazing view....watching the boats, whales and beautiful Maui sunsets.....excellent location..........we will definately be back

Room Tip: oceanfront with great wrap around lanai....perfect for watching sun set over the ocean and very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KATHYLONGKALAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna BC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

My husband and I had been staying at the Whaler and wanted to extend our stay for 2 more nights. The front desk was able to find us another studio available for our last 3 days/2 nights.

This unit has been renovated and it is very fresh and welcoming. The bed/linens are very comfortable and the space is well utilized. The drawers in the living room are very nice for putting away clothing. Great feature to have.

The kitchen is great and full of condiments and supplies which contributed to this unit being "homey".

The free WiFi was also very handy. It was a great unit to extend our stay at the Whaler! Thank you Patti!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We were in Tower 1, in a studio room, with a small child. The hotel had excellent service and the location is amazing. The pool is pretty small, but it was never too packed to have a dip. The cabanas by the pool are a nice touch if you have a small child to keep shaded.

There's a path along the beachfront that we strolled every morning, watch for power-walking leather-faced oldies in pink neon! :D

Parking can be a little strategic as there's not enough spaces for everyone - it pays to be up early and back early. Our room was functional enough, if a little dated and with very thick carpet.

The bottom line: We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Check whether the construction is done on T2 first. Room decor/features seem to vary quite a lot, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.6 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.3 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,427 reviews
0.3 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1910
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $402 - $688
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing