We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally adequate, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Totally adequate, great location”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My husband and I stayed in a studio unit in, I think, Tower 2. The kitchen and bathroom had been recently redone and everything was very clean and comfortable. They were finishing up construction/remodeling, so there was no patio railing on all the ground floor units, just a temporary metal fence, but that didn't bother us much (they gave us free DVD rentals to make up for the construction). The hotel is right on the beach and a few feet from the Whaler Village. This place seemed like the best deal compared to the more pricey hotels and resorts nearby. One drawback is that they don't have some of the amenities you would normally have in a hotel, like a bar or restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SalCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    638
    336
    72
    41
    17
See reviews for
305
549
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Spent 7 nights in condo 473 which is an almost 2000sq foot condo with wrap around lanai. Our unit was on the fourth floor with mountain views although excellent view of the beach and sunset was also had!

Was traveling with a group of four friends so we wanted extra personal space hence getting such a large condo We each shared a bedroom with another person. My room had a larger than a king bed and the other room had a king bed plus a cot at no extra cost.

The layout was excellent with large living area and kitchen and dining room. I was worried that the unit would have dated furnishings but to my suprise was very modern and new looking. We had two washrooms both a nice size. The shower in the master bathroom is not senior friendly. There is quite the step to climb into and out of this raised combo tub shower. Alternatively the second bathroom has a stand alone shower.

The lanai was so large we didn't even use the rear section of it! The side section had a dining table with chairs
and a few loungers that were well used.

Maid service is daily and the place was kept sand less. Very respectful cleaning staff. The grounds of the property are maintained to a very high standard as well.

Most of the outdoor facade renovations seem to be complete however there was still some landscaping going on but the work was done at decent times as not to disturb guests too early or too late.

Check in was a breeze as was booking on the Aston website. No hidden fees on checkout.

Parking is a hot commodity with overflow outdoor parking which could be a hassle.

The pool and hot tub were clean although chlorine based. Large decks available as well as towel service and beach activity desk to make reservations.

Excellent beach although very wavy while we were there. I loved the waves, my friends stayed near the pool. The black rock near the hotel was fabulous for snorkelling.

The Whalers Villiage Shopping centre was convenient as were the restaurants nearby. There is a $1 shuttle from the entrance Of the villiage to the town of Lahaina a few miles away. Very convenient. Taxis are only about $12 to lahaina as well!

Would definately recommend this place and would stay again if I return to Maui!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TORN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at the Whaler Feb.22, 2012 for 6 nights in unit 1160. This was an awesome unit and the views were even better. Beautiful sunsets, fabulous resort and pool area. Friendly and thoughtful staff. We have stayed at the Whaler before and are never disapointed. Great beach and ocean views. Walking distance to anything you need. The Whaler is at the top of our favorites places to stay list. We love this place. Unit faces beach and coutyard toward Molokai. You may never take your car out of the garage. We liked having the option of cooking in our great kitchen or walking to great dining. You can wake up everyday and have coffee on you huge balcony and cocktails every evening with great ocean views. All views are good but ask for interior for awesome!

Room Tip: Get the interior if possible they have a better view. BBQ's on the southside are not as busy as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelnJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newman Lake, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Went to Maui for our 29th wedding anniversary and ended up at the Whaler because Ka'anapali Villas relocated us there. We loved the Whaler and highly recommend! Although there was construction going on in the tower we were in and our view of the ocean was obstructed by equipment it didn't matter. We were on the 2nd floor so it was an easy walk to the boardwalk area and the beach. The Whaler is in the perfect location next to the Whaler Village with shops and restaurants. Our 1 bdrm/2 bath condo was immaculate, huge and well equipped with everything we needed plus some! The staff was fabulous and we especially loved Michelle, who worked at the beach Kiosk. She is a true gem! She made our whale watching trip reservations and dinner reservations, sold us the cutest Maui Jim glasses and helped us with everything we needed for hanging out at the beach. Had a wonderful time in Maui and at the Whaler and highly recommend!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shetab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We had a wonderful experience last year; end of April until mid May. Our accommodations were fabulous. My thanks to the owners ( I would like to know who they are) for a well decorated and updated, and very comfortable unit. Sitting ocean front or overlooking the Whaler, viewing the mountains-spectacular rainbows. Nothing I could say would do justice to our experience in 951. We hope to return, and particularly to 951.
No complaints from Raleigh, NC, just lots of good memories for our 45th anniversary!!
Thanks to the owners; and also to the Whaler staff all of whom were very attentive and responsive to our every request.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauidude1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
2.7 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
1.4 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
0.2 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
0.3 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
1.1 km away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach

Property: Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Address: 2481 Kaanapali Pkwy, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#7 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $384 - $620
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This exclusive luxury condominium boasts an idyllic location on Maui's famous Kaanapali Beach across from two championship golf courses and minutes from Lahaina. Each spacious unit features a full kitchen and a spectacular view. A beachfront pathway and private access allows guests easy entry to adjacent Whalers Village's 65 shops and restaurants. Please be advised of these changes to the daily resort fee at Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach. These changes will go into effect April 1, 2017. - Any new reservations booked for travel April 1, 2017 – May 31, 2017, will be subject to a resort fee of $17.00 plus tax per day. - On June 1, 2017, Daily Amenity Fee increases to $20. This applies to ALL reservations staying through these dates, regardless of when they booked the reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Hotel Lahaina
Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Lahaina
Whaler Kaanapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach
The Whaler Maui
Aston At The Whaler On Kaanapali Beach Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing