We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for families, especially with small children” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Puunoa Beach Estates

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Puunoa Beach Estates
Bay Area
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect for families, especially with small children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

We stayed with our our preschooler and 1 year old and for the last two nights, the grandparents. Of our 3 trips to Hawaii with our children, this place has been the best for us.

1. Location. The beach (apparently known as "baby beach") is literally steps from the unit. Perfect for the smallest ones, as the water is still as glass most mornings and heated almost like bathwater. In the afternoon, gentle waves. Walking distance to Lahaina. In a residential neighborhood, which we like rather than a huge resort complex.

2. Unit #205. Is very large. 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Unit is nicely laid out. Wonderful oceanfront views from living room, dining room, and master bedroom. 1 bedroom is a little smaller, perfect for our preschooler. Has all amenities we needed or wanted for the kitchen, beach, bath.

3. Resort. We like how the unit is part of a pretty small complex, only 12 units total. Very quiet. We felt like we were very special guests. There are 3 public grills, fitness center and a nice pool and whirlpool spa.

We would definitely return to this place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Waverjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2009

We have just finished a 3 week stay a Puunoa Beach Estates; we took a two bedroom ground floor unit as our daughter is in a wheelchair. Two steps up to the Condo and two steps down to the lawn/beach.
Location could not be better only a ten minute walk into Lahaina and to the local supermarkets, the Beach is lovely sand with a natural coral reef creating perfect swimming and snorkeling
Great onsite management, this really is a top notch gated Estate not too big with a pool / spa area which work fantastically well.
Full marks, just try not to get the 3 bedroom condo marketed as a 2 bedroom, you don't get the Master suite which is a big negative even if the unit is bigger. (we moved units)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2009

We just completed our fourth annual stay at Puunoa Beach Estates. It is the nicest and best equipped condo complex in West Maui. It is like having your own private beach home. The location is also ideal since Lahaina and the Cannery Mall are a short walk away. We will return again next year.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2009

My family of four (me, my husband, and two daughters) rented #205 for six nights through VRBO in Dec. 2008. We were blown away the moment we walked through the door of this beautiful condo! I will do my best to describe the unit, the complex, and the location of this stunning home.
Puunoa Beach Estates is a small, upscale complex located just north of Front Street, Lahaina. With only ten units, this complex offers peace and quiet with the convenience of being centrally located. It sits right on Baby Beach within walking distance of the harbor and shops in old Lahaina town. The location of this unit is what first attracted us when we looked into staying there. However, we rarely ventured from the condo and the beach because we were so content with our surroundings.
Our unit was huge (over 2000 sq. ft.) and was the size of a regular house. Our daughters each had their own bedrooms and shared a balcony, while my husband and I enjoyed a master suite with a separate lanai. The unit was completely updated with granite countertops and new tile floors. The furniture looked new as well, and a flat screen TV and docking station were located in the living room.
Each time we entered the condo, we were greeted with a sweeping view of the ocean. The master bedroom, off to the left of the foyer, had a large entry that opened to reveal sliding doors overlooking the ocean. In the same view, the living room visually connected to provide a sweeping view with larger glass doors and windows. The view was absolutely breathtaking.
Sitting on the huge main lanai (three in all), we enjoyed the view of Lahaina harbor. The sunrises were incredible. The sunsets over the island of Lanai were gorgeous as well. Because it was Christmastime, we observed decorated ships with lights shining almost every night.
We enjoyed the pool area every day. We never encountered another swimmer there during our entire stay. (In fact, we saw no other tenants at the complex our first two days!) We utilized the barbeque grills by the pool and just felt like we were in our own personal paradise with the caretakers occasionally peeking their heads out to give a friendly aloha.
We had a hard time leaving this unit. We ended up splitting our stay at two locations because the owners come to stay at Christmas. However, because this was such an incredible place, we will again pack and move locales just to have the opportunity to reside at Puunoa for the first portion of our vacation this December!
The other units in this complex are rented out for about twice as much as this owner rents through VRBO! We feel so fortunate to have secured a stay there this December as well.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neverlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh PA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2008

Cannot speak for other units but unit #204 is superb! Three bedrooms and 3 1/2 baths plus a den and office. It is stunning and the view is breathtaking. Only complaint is the wi-fi did not work but were able to use the service in the office, so no problem. The pool is small but very nice.
The staff is wonderful, Paula and Buzz, could not have been nicer and were so helpful. We had a wonderful time and it is worth every penny. Could easily serve Two to Three couples and then be extremely reasonble. We are a family of four and had lots of room to spare. This unit is first class and no detail left unattended, gadgit guys will have a field day. It is truly a very special place to spend your time on Maui. It is also wonderfully located, can walk or bike to Lahaina and the Mall, All only a few minutes drive. The unit has so much to speak of, it is very special and we loved living there for our week on Maui!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BBLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
4.3 km away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#3 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.9 km away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
1.1 km away
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
Lahaina Ocean's Edge
#7 of 11 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 km away
Hale Napili
Hale Napili
#18 of 42 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.8 km away
House of Fountains Bed and Breakfast
6.0 km away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puunoa Beach Estates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puunoa Beach Estates

Property: Puunoa Beach Estates
Address: 45 Kai Pali Pl, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1686
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $1,315 - $1,849
Hotel Class:4 star — Puunoa Beach Estates 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The expansive two bedroom and two bedroom/loft air-conditioned oceanfront townhomes range from 1,700 to 2,100 square feet in size. As you enter the elegant etched glass doorway, you will find that no two townhomes are alike. Each has its own distinct personality, with professionally selected furnishings, decorated with rich wood accents and works of local artisans, creating an elegant, relaxed but refined island atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Puunoa Beach Estates reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puunoa Beach Estates Hotel Lahaina
Puunoa Beach Estates Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing