We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Son's Wedding” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Son's Wedding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location, and the people there are very friendly. The service was very slow in the restaurant, so choose the buffet if you have a busy day planned. Also - be aware that there is no elevator in the original tower. We had a room on the third floor and had to haul all of our luggage up the stairs.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,867
    1,260
    407
    183
    114
See reviews for
947
1,947
90
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (925)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 1st April until 11th April '12. The hotel was lovely, we stayed in the Lanai wing, the room was spacious enough for a family of four. The grounds were beautifully maintained and each day we could walk out at any time and find four sunbeds and sit under shade and in relative privacy. The activities are great and if you are having a quiet day at the hotel it's a nice way to break the day up, they last anything from 20mins to 40mins and it's a great way to get to know the staff. The Whalers village is literally a 5min walk away and if you are on abudget or have (as we did) a fussy eater the food court is great, McDonalds, Subway, a Chinese and an Italian, our youngest likes plain food and the Italian did plain pasta for her no problem. The Trilogy hut is great and right next to the Hotel, we did the Whale watch and surfing. We swam in the ocean and down at black rock the turtles were around alot. We went to the Magic Show at the Hotel which was okay, a bit tired, and the food was not bad, however our food all arrived at different times and we only got one drink because the waitress was so busy. This was the only place on the Island were someone was actually very rude and that was the lady who takes the bookings for the Magic show, she was very unpleasent and actually this incident ruined the evening, on the whole I would say save your money and go and get a good meal somewhere else. If we visit Maui again we would certainly choose this hotel there is something very special about it, thanks go to all the staff who make it such a lovely relaxing place to be.

Room Tip: Ocean view room was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

The rooms were nice, but normal hotel rooms with a simple Hawaiian motif... what really earns the place an "excellent" is the wonderful staff. From the front desk to the grounds person, everyone was very friendly and helpful. They really went out of the way to make you feel welcome. The rooms are comfortable, with a nice balcony and we had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 young children. Everything was clean and neat. The location right on the beach was great, every room is only steps from the pool or beach.

Room Tip: Get a pool veiw room in the Kuwai building, then you will also have a partial veiw of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFLmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicagoland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. We rented 2 rooms for 5 nights each. Accomodations were absolutely wonderful. Ocean view from our room was excellent ! Food was very tasty. Short walk to Whalers village shopping area. The Ka'anapali beach itself was one of the best we have ever visited in all of Hawaii. Went snorkeling at Black Rock with giant sea turtles and lots of fish. Best family vacation we have ever experienced in all of Hawaii. Thank you Ka'anapali beach hotel staff ! You are the BEST !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Illinois F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel from Jan 23-30th, and had an excellent stay. The grounds are immaculate and spacious, not crowded at all, very clean, staff is friendly, pool is nice and clean, we loved that you didn't have to sit right next to someone else on your deck chair.The beach from this hotel to the black rock at the Sheraton next door is awesome !!! The rooms are definately older! But they were very very clean, when we first walked in our block of rooms the hallway looked a little rough and I was worried what the room would look like, the room was much nicer than the hallway!, nothing fancy, but clean and comfy, we didn't spend much time in it anyway. I would probably skip the introductory breakfast if I went again as it was long. We ate at the tiki terrace a few times and it is just fine, typical fast food -burgers fries etc. Loved the little corner store outside the lobby, this is where we bought our coffee every morning for $1.00, as well as sunscreen etc...We liked the location, drove in the Lahaina to eat most days. This is a great hotel for singles, couples or families, its not five star, but the service is five star and that in my opinion outweighs having a luxury hotel room as when you are in paradise why sit in side your room!!!

Room Tip: I would make sure you get a room that looks into the courtyard and pool or the ocean, the rooms that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kemclinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lahaina hotels
1.1 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
2.5 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.2 km away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,444 reviews
0.9 km away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#16 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,838 reviews
0.5 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaanapali Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaanapali Beach Hotel

Property: Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Address: 2525 Kaanapali Parkway, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1987
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lahaina
#8 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
#14 Family Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $278 - $407
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaanapali Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with aloha on one of Maui's most beautiful beaches...At Hawaii's Most Hawaiian Hotel! Located on golden sand next to the clear blue waters of Ka'anapali, all rooms have balconies overlooking lush tropical gardens, inviting you to relax to the sound of gentle surf and cool tradewinds. Award winning dining, shopping and recreation are on hand or close by. Here you'll discover the best in Hawaiian culture and family-style hospitality - truly aloha at its best! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Kaanapali Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ka Anapali Beach Hotel
Hotel Ka Anapali Beach
Kaanapali Beach Hotel Maui/Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing