We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, great service, beach is the weak point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Lahaina
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, great service, beach is the weak point”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

The Hyatt Regency Maui has 40 acres of beautiful, immaculately landscaped grounds. They even have a variety of exotic birds on the property including African penguins and cranes. Our service was consistently warm and friendly. Their pool system features a number of interconnected pools and a waterslide where you zip through an enclosed tube in almost total darkness before plunging into the pool.

The only weak point of this hotel is its location at the very south end of Ka'anapali Beach. The stretch of sand directly in front of the Hyatt is very narrow and we didn't see very many people on the beach during our stay - it looked like most guests preferred the pool and hotel grounds. Being at the south end means there is a bit of a walk to the main parts of the beach where most shopping (Whaler's Village) and activities are offered. There is a paved beachwalk that connects the Hyatt with all the other hotels/resorts on the beach so you can access the more desirable parts of the beach, but you would have to walk and carry your towels and any other "beach gear" you have.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cld6784, Manager at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear egon61:

Thank you for taking a quick moment to share feedback about your recent stay at our Hyatt Regency Maui Resort & Spa. It sounds like you really enjoyed the grounds as well as the animals. We appreciate your feedback regarding our beach, and will share your comments with the appropriate staff members. We do have a great beach towards the south end of our property called "Canoe Beach". Hopefully if you return to Maui, you can utilize this area. We hope to welcome you back for another stay in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,018
    1,757
    820
    370
    189
See reviews for
1,711
2,955
83
408
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

it was our honeymoon, we arrived at 10 pm to the room which was beyond regular, nothing special prepared for us although we booked as honeymooners!!! we called room service and no one answered so we called front desk, she told us that the room service is done for the night and that all restaurants are closed, it was a wednesday, and she then suggested we go to the village for food!!!! were in a hyatt!!!! hello!!!

then she said i ahem some salads and sandwiches here at the lobby come down and take them!! i was like what! can't you please send someone she said no one is here!! in the entire damn hotel there was no one, no service!

other disappointing things such as taking a card for your towel at the pool!!! and if you lose it you pay for it , what is this! who does this!!! were not gonna steal some smelly pool towels...

house keeping missed doing our room a few times, cause it wasn't our turn!! we cam back to our room at 3:30 pm and it was the same! i was furious and i had told them as they requested to inform them of when i want my room to be done!
all the staff is rude, our experience was horrible i wouldn't go there if my life depended on it!!!

i complained and got points! but nothing will get me back my honeymoon!
i hate our agent i will never use her or go to the hotel again ...
i dont recommend it AT ALL TO anyone and I'm not being harsh!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us. We're sorry to hear your stay did not go as expected. Please know that this is not typical service of Hyatt. We have shared this information with our front desk and housekeeping department so that in the future we can better assist our guests. Please feel free to contact us if you would like to discuss your stay further.

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Underwent renovations while staying there and it was already quite lovely, would like to see the finished product. Fell in love with the hawaiian gentleman doing the kids camp, I've never left my child with a stranger, but my son was dying to stay and he made me feel so at ease.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear RMazzei:

Thank you for taking a quick moment to share feedback about your recent stay with us. It's great to hear how friendly and accommodating our Camp Hyatt instructors were, and we'll make sure to recognize them for their tremendous efforts. We hope to welcome you back, as you'll be able to enjoy our lobby & pool after the refurbishment. Your referral is a great compliment to us.

Sincerely,

Nick B. - Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We've stayed her three times and are returning this Christmas. They've always provided excellent service and worked hard with us on one of our visits after a personal tragedy. They made our visit as wonderful as it possibly could have been considering the circumstances. Top notch management, top not staff and top notch venue. We will continue to return.

Room Tip: Well, certainly the rooms on the ocean on the members floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAC3844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, guest relations associate at Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. We're delighted we could make the best of your situation. We will be sure to pass your compliments on to our staff. Please feel free to contact us if you need any future assistance. We look forward to seeing you in December!

Chrissi R.- A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaverton oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Exactly what you are looking for if you want a combination resort, relaxation, nice services/amenities. Recently remodeled lobby/desk area done very well. Easy access. Park in the south lot (which is larger), unless you're staying in the north tower. (Try the water slide!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slappy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lahaina
37.2 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.3 km away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,988 reviews
0.9 km away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
2.7 km away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
36.4 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Address: 200 Nohea Kai Drive, Kaanapali Beach Resort, Lahaina, Maui, HI 96761-1985
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Lahaina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lahaina
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lahaina
#10 Spa Hotel in Lahaina
#12 Family Hotel in Lahaina
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Lahaina
#15 Romantic Hotel in Lahaina
Price range (per night): $422 - $975
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 806
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 40 oceanfront acres on Ka'anapali Beach, this AAA 4-Diamond award-winning resort is an authentic Hawaiian experience set in tropical paradise. Each of 806 guestrooms, including 31 renovated suites, affords Hawaiian elegance with private lanais and panoramic views. Amenities include oceanfront spa, 24-hour athletic club, half-acre pool with waterfalls and slides, golf, and tennis. Activities include Drums of the Pacific Lu'au, Tour of the Stars rooftop stargazing, cultural lessons, water sports, shopping on property and nearby, and wildlife tours with penguins, flamingos and more. World-class dining at Japengo, 'Umalu, Swan Court and Son’z—emphasize using locally grown ingredients to provide unique cuisine to suit every palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Maui Hotel Lahaina
Hyatt Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Lahaina
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort And Spa Lahaina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing