We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful ride, fabulous crew” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kai Kanani Sailing Charters

Kai Kanani Sailing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kai Kanani Sailing Charters is the only South Maui charter to offer daily departures from Makena/South Maui. From this location, it only takes 15 minutes to sail to Molokini Crater, which means less time on the open water and more time snorkeling. With two snorkel trips daily to both Molokini and Turtle Town, Whale Watching Tours (late December through April) and romantic Sunset Champagne Sail three days a week, Kai Kanani is sure to make your vacation very memorable. Snorkel equipment, instruction, and select food/drinks are included in all snorkel tours. We have marine naturalists on-board, so you can learn more about all of the fascinating underwater life you see! We even have GoPro4 cameras available for rent on-board so you can capture all of the amazing memories you make. Staying in Wailea? Kai Kanani offers free Mercedes shuttle service from select Wailea Resorts.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
West Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful ride, fabulous crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We had a great time on our snorkeling/ sailing trip. The crew was very helpful and friendly. We enjoyed the snorkeling spots and the turtles. Even saw some sea turtles. The crew was very helpful for our novice snorkelers and the children on board.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank DSMtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,054
    121
    31
    11
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
1 review
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Clean boat. Staff was outstanding. From what I can remember, the open bar was excellent. I will do it again with my wife and with friends. I would highly recommend.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great First Time Snorkeling!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We just returned from snorkeling at Molikini and Turtle Town and it was even better than we had hoped! I went with my sister and husband (all of us are in our 60's and first-time snorkelers) and we all learned quickly and had a great time. The crew were very helpful and took time to be sure that everyone was comfortable in the water. The equipment is first-rate, including prescription goggles for those like my husband who usually wear glasses. We were served a nice breakfast and lunch. We've been on other Maui cruises and were served watered-down drinks -not here! These included made-to-order mai tais and run punch. After lunch, we were taken whale watching and saw several whales. What a fantastic experience in Paradise!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ddolsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best boat on the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

Couldn't give a better review for the Kai Kanani 2 and her crew. After an amazing whale watching trip and sunset cruise, we booked to go on a morning snorkel, and both were amazing. The crew is friendly, well informed and caring about the guest. They are also really funny and great to joke around with (ask first mate fred about the guy who asked if Lanai was Japan). Having been on most of the boats on the island over the years, this one was one of the best (though I haven't had a bad experience yet on any of them!)

Thanks again to Carey, Fred and Amy - great times.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kylebottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth it to get to Molikini ahead of the crowds.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Have been on other boats in Maui and the Big Island. Captain was friendly, some of crew just a bit grumpy. This boat left at 6:30 and I would describe them as "not morning people". No one was rude, just not the same outgoing spirit have experienced on the Alii Nui and the Hula Kai. They don't stop much for whales, they are on a tight schedule because the boat goes to Molokini then in our case an offshore spot near Ulua Beach. They have to be back at 8 sharp so the next trip can leave on time. I did not feel rushed snorkeling, gear was fine, breakfast fine (costco muffins, juice, coffee and fruit), but they did not go out of their way to stop or view whales if spotted. Just no time for that. But I highly recommend just for the experience at Molokini when there is almost noone else there - that is the attraction of this particular sailing.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steph8586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kai Kanani Sailing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Kai Kanani Sailing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing