We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Yet to decide if we will go back for a longer stay in 2012” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palms at Wailea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palms at Wailea
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Bothell, WA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Yet to decide if we will go back for a longer stay in 2012”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in an Outrigger unit - # 801 - 1 bedroom, 2 bath on the ground floor across from the office. We wanted to stay at the Palms because we had looked into buying a unit when they were new 20 years ago & thought it would be a treat & a step up to be in Wailea instead of Kihei.
First the Good:
+It was quiet, except for people walking in the condo above us.
+Unit was well decorated & updated & the full kitchen had everything you needed.
+The units are fairly large, by vacation rental standards.
+Assigned parking was close to the unit & was free.
+Huge patio area with a private BBQ, table & chairs and more comfortable chairs for cocktails or conversation.
The Bad & the Ugly:
+The units have so many light switches [all about waist high] that it takes several days to figure out which light you are turning on.
+Free A/C in Master only.
+The rug at the end of the bed was curled at the corners & a tripping hazard - so we had it removed.
+Refer ice maker stopped working & there is no public ice machine on the property.
+The build-in smooth-top cook-top had months of crumbs living between the counter & the overlapping trim. I got them out, first with a piece of cardboard & later with a knife blade.
+The majority of the cupboards in the kitchen & dining room had 'owner' locks on them, all others were full of dishes, etc. We were only there for 3 nights, so just stored our food on the counters, dining table & floor. For 2012 we are looking for a place for 6 nights, so are thinking hard about whether or not we will stay in the Palms again or rent a 1 bedroom at the Maui Sunset where our 1 month of time share is located.
+Our rate included daily maid service. Day 1 - we were gone from 10am - 4pm & no service while we were gone, so we told them to forget it. Day 2 - Maids arrived about 4:30pm to do very little.
+As an aside, it took 2 emails, 1 phone call & nearly 6 months for us to get Alaska Miles credited. I had checked to be sure our Alaska number was on their paper work when we checked in, but it didn't seem to make a difference. I think in the end Alaska just got tired of me & gave us the credit without waiting any longer to hear from Outrigger.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    122
    36
    28
    9
See reviews for
140
98
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked a last minute trip to Maui in May 2012 and were overall pleased with our experience at the Palms. We stayed in unit 208, a one bedroom unit near the entrance of the complex. We found the unit quite loud in the morning due to the main roadway into the complex and the somewhat never ending drilling and construction noises going on around our unit. I think unit 207, directly below us must have been undergoing some renovations. My main complaint with our unit, similar to other posts is that it was in need of a good solid cleaning. Everything looked clean on first glance, but in the morning light you could see that things were a bit grungy. The carpet in the master was especially filthy looking. While the maid service comes in to change out your towels and bedding every 3 days, they don't do any additional cleaning. If you are staying in a unit for over a week, I think they should come in and clean the bathrooms at least once.

If you are staying at the Palms, you will definitely need to rent a car. We did and had no issues packing up in the morning and heading to the beach. Big Beach is fantastic, but probably not the best for small children given the dangerous shore breaks. We also found that Big Beach didn't suffer from the afternoon wind sand storms that can make the main beaches in Kihei pretty uncomfortable (unless you enjoy being pelted with sand). The food in Wailea was fantastic and we recommend MonkeyPod, and Pita Paradise if you are looking for something close to the Palms that is moderately priced. In Kihei, definitely check out 3's Bar and Grill, but go for lunch, dinner is more expensive and the selection isn't as good.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Condo was very clean. It had a great lanai. We had a great view of the courtyard and swimming pool. The hotel was quiet, the staff very friendly and helpfull. Only downfall was we had to drive to restaurants and to get to the beach. Also, our unit only had air conditioning in master bedroom. Had to rent one for other bedroom. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had upper corner. Great view but had to climb stairs with luggage which was difficult for my frie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pottman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

I picked the Outrigger Palms at Wailea beause it seemed to be quiet and in a nice community which it was. The grounds are well maintained but there are lots of quality issues which would prevent me from returning. We were given a one bedroom condo which was modern and fairly well maintained. However the air conditioning in the bedroom was broken. And since our condo was on the first floor we didn't want to sleep with windows and screen doors open for security reasons. Also you couldn't use the air conditioner in the living room unless you wanted to pay an extra $15 a day. So, they gave us another condo and it was completely run down and told us they would call us when the air conditioning was fixed in our first condo. This place was a dump inside. Crumbling concrete, 80s decor, broken phone in the living room. That's when I learned that you roll the dice when you stay at the Outrigger Palms at Wailea - you could be staying in up-to-date condo or a run down dive. It all depends on the condo's owners. After two days the air conditioning in condo 1 was repaired. Hurray! Until it broke down again two days before we left. At that point we had enough, stayed put and suffered through a hot bedroom and crummy sleeps. Another negative of this place is the pool. It's the size of a postage stamp. We tried several times to go for a swim but it was always packed. Rarely a chair was free. The beach is about a 15 minute walk but annoying in the heat. I was hoping with the room situation that they would put some effort into making the situation right but they did nothing and offered nothing. I finally asked them for a late check out which took them over an hour to decide whether they would allow it (they did). Overall, a few things that were ok, but a whole lot of bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank kinvara66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had a little trouble finding reception at first as our satnav insisted on taking us to the wrong entrance but eventually we got there and were made very welcome by th staff on reception.. We were given directions to our room which involved getting back in the car and driving about three quarters of a mile to a different entrance. When we got to our room (condo) we could not believe the size of it. Two large bedrooms, a very large living area, two bathrooms, and an enormous balcony with gas bar b q. The kitchen had all the equipment you could possibly need, in the living area there was a large television and audio sound system, a second television in the main bedroom and a safe in the bathroom.
We stayed there three nights which was not long enough!
The bar b q worked well and each night we cooked steaks while watching some of the best sunsets we saw while in Hawaii.
There was a short cut to get to reception and the swimming pool if walking, though it did involve an uphill walk of about five minutes - down hill on the way back though!!
An excellent place to stay while in Maui we just wished we had planned to stay longer.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kayak22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
2.8 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
2.7 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
36.8 km away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
38.0 km away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
1.5 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms at Wailea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms at Wailea

Property: Palms at Wailea
Address: 3200 Wailea Alanui Dr, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7754
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price range (per night): $239 - $530
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palms at Wailea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palms at Wailea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Palms At Wailea Hotel Kihei
Outrigger Kihei
Kihei Outrigger
Palms At Wailea Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing