We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luana Kai A301”
Review of Luana Kai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luana Kai Resort
Ranked #23 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Luana Kai A301”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

We stayed at Luana Kai A301 from Apr 22, 2013 to May 3, 2013. We're a family of 2 adults (39 & 40) and two children (girls, 9 & 12). We looked at MANY different condos in the Kihei area. We finally settled on Luana Kai after the reviews, location and pricing of the condo. I'll split this into two reviews, the codo and the complex itself; I'll start with the condo.
A301 looked fantastic on VRBO. For the first time in our rental history on VRBO (12-14 and counting) this unit actually exceeded our expectations. Everything was top notch. The appliances (all new), bedding, fixtures and finishing were all amazing. What made this condo exceptional was the location. Top floor and outside windows on TWO sides. It might not sound like much, but the extra windows facing the pool area make a huge difference in the natural lighting in the condo. We visited another top floor center unit that only had the lanai window and it was noticably darker. The A/C was also great, especially since it was INCLUDED in the low price. Many places charge $10/day for A/C. We only used it at night since the winds that blow through the unit keep it nice and cool during the day. Not much else to say about the condo except, amazing.
The complex itself was also fantastic. The pool/hot tub area was great. Since the beach is not a good swimming beach, we spent most of our time by the pool. There was never any problem getting chairs or umbrellas. The BBQ's were good quality and we used them about 1/2 the nights we were there, there were always at least 1-2 available. The outside kitchen area was very useful, especially the fridge for storing beer and wine. Every night around dusk, a worker came by and lit the tiki torches, adding to the ambiance. Each morning, a worker was out straightening chairs, maintaining the chemicals in the pool and cleaning up.
All in all, it was a great unit and a great complex. We'd definitely head to Luana Kai A301 again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    63
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
67
53
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Please beware of renting condo C309 at Luana Kai - extremely misrepresented on VRBO website (e.g.” immaculate” & “impeccable”) and property manager/owners very difficult and unreasonable to deal with. Several of our family members from Canada and US have gathered regularly in past years at Luana Kai and stayed in very nice condos, always enjoying our vacations there - until we rented C309 which we booked in May 2012 for our 2 wk stay Feb 13 - Feb 20, 2013. After hours on a plane, we arrived with our son, daughter-in-law and 1yr old and 2yr old grandbabies to find owners not expecting us and cooking supper, ready to stay there themselves that night, extremely filthy carpets, filthy pillows/mattress covers, no working overhead kitchen lights, leak in fridge that dripped in container or on your food, plugged sinks, broken toilet flapper on 2nd flr toilet that plugged very easily causing sewage to drip down through gaping, 1 ft. diameter hole in 1st flr bedroom closet ceiling, splashing on bed in grandbabies’ bedroom. The gaping hole, surrounded by black colored mould, which owners claimed was tar, indicated occurrence of several leaks over possibly several years. After no resolution with property manager/owners, we called Dep't of Health who came to investigate. Health Inspector confirmed sewage leakage was a health hazard and phoned owners from the condo telling them they had to find another place for us until fixed. Owners told Inspector they did offer us another place – absolutely false - and completely ignored Dep’t of Health’s recommendation. At one point owners offered us some money back, but then rescinded offer calling us felons under US penal code, etc. We managed to enjoy our vacation in spite of all this. We’ve traveled lots in our lives – certainly enough to know that traveling is an “adventure” and “things always happen”. We are very tolerant people but, even for us, our experience renting C309 at Luana Kai and dealing with its owners and the disregard for good business practice and customer relations was absolutely intolerable and unacceptable. We really don't want anyone else to go through this.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Barb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The staff was so awesome, the rooms were amazing and the view is gorgeous!! The rooms were also very clean when you arived. THey also let us stay till 8:30 at night even though check out time is 11:00. The area is also really safe :).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We first stayed at Luana Kai in 2012 and enjoyed it so much we booked our 2013 stay before we left!

We were in the A building - one of the two that have full ocean views - both times, albeit in different units. Sitting on the lanai and watching the sunset was the highlight of just about every day of our stay this year. We found the condo comfortable, relaxing and in many ways just like home.

Each unit at Luana Kai is individually owned, so the condition of the condos is variable. Some are well and tastefully furnished and recently renovated. Others are pretty worn out. Take care in choosing your unit. Many of the condos are managed by an on-site team and those units are likely to be in somewhat better shape but they are still owned by individuals who may...or may not...want to invest in upkeep.

What is kept up very well are the common areas. The gardens are lovely, the pool area clean and inviting and there are half a dozen high-end BBQs to grill your ahi-ahi on. As well as a full kitchen within the pool enclosure.

The office staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Even in off-hours (we had a flood one night when a plumbing fixture failed and Mario and his team worked hard to make it right).

The wind is strong in Kihei and the dust is red. This is not a Five Diamond Resort - be prepared to do a little cleaning. We spent some time removing the dust caked in the window screens – by the time we left two weeks later it was already filling in again.

The park area in front of the complex and the beach beyond that is lovely. Watching the runners and dog-walkers in the park is an entertaining pastime. You can’t swim at the beach – and some reviewers have said you can’t walk on the beach either, although I’m not sure why not. We walked that beach pretty much every day. It can be windy. But it’s pretty much always windy in Kihei.

The complex is quiet and feels very secure. It seems to attract families and older folks and there are posted ‘quiet hours’ from 10pm to 8am which are almost universally honoured. This is not a place to come to party. It’s a place to relax and enjoy a little space, a beautiful ocean and appreciative neighbours. We really like it and will be back.

Room Tip: A and D buildings have full-on ocean views. Views from B and C buildings vary from some ocean to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ARV_51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed in Luana Kai B303 - a nicely updated, third floor unit with cathedral ceilings plus an AC unit for those hot, humid afternoons. The owners have provided everything you could possibly need for your stay in Kihei. This complex is not too large, has a nice comfy feel, and the FULL outdoor kitchen plus multiple nice grills at the pool area is a real plus - we prepared a lovely meal there. Luana Kai is on the BEACH side of the road so you can walk right across the expansive back lawn to the sandy beach for sunrise/sunset walks. Thank you, Jean, we loved our stay at your condo and hope to be back.

Room Tip: If staying at Luana Kai, get a third floor unit with the cathedral ceilings for more air circulation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.4 km away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.1 km away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.3 km away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#7 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
1.5 km away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#16 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.1 km away
Leinaala
Leinaala
#46 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luana Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Kai Resort

Property: Luana Kai Resort
Address: 940 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9198
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price range (per night): $197 - $279
Hotel Class:3 star — Luana Kai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable rates combined with a great location, in-condo conveniences, and on site amenities make Luana Kai your home away from home.Welcome to Luana Kai, your source for leisure by the sea. We have so much more than hotels can offer for so much less.Enjoy FREE Broadband High Speed Wired and Wireless Internet Access at our great individually owned condo resort in sunny Kihei Maui.We rent out 66 units out of 113 total. 1,2 and 3 bedroom condo's with and without AC. All rentals have their own kitchens and in-room laundry. Cable TV, Telephone, Internet. Most units have DVD players and large flat screen TV's.Every unit is owner decorated. Refresh, exercise, relax, and tan at our Outdoor pool and recreation with whirlpool, spas, barbecues and more.Keep fit on pro tennis courts, shuffleboard and putting green. Free equipment.Enjoy the Oceanfront beach for windsurfing, whale watching, picnics and sunsets.Stroll the enormous grassy lawn for sunbathing, reading, kite flying, picnics or games.It's always a Great Day at Luana Kai! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Luana Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luana Kai Hotel Kihei
Luana Kai Resort Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing