We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the aggravation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, WA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the aggravation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

This is a quaint 22 unit complex. Only two condos are ocean front; the remainder have somewhat limited views. My wife and I enjoyed the small community atmosphere and stayed at these condos for many of the last 20 years. Unfortunately management has changed and for the worse. Some examples:
The managers no longer live at the complex. The office is open about an hour in the morning if they feel like coming in at all.

The pool was cleaned only once during our two week stay. At one point you couldn't even see the turtle mosaic in three feet of water.

The condo offers internet access. When I tried to connect there was no signal. I traced the problem to a frayed ethernet cable. When I went to the office (the next morning of course), I was told that the internet wasn't the manager's responsibility and I would have to call the cable company and wait for them to repair the issue. I bought an ethernet cable myself and solved the problem.

Our living room had six dead two-inch cockroaches in front of the slider when we checked in.

The lawnchairs were left in whatever position the guests or wind left them. They were never cleaned or tidied.

The bbq ran out of propane, but since the managers are no longer on site they had no way of knowing.

For about $20 a night more, you can have a stay in a complex with clean units and resident managers. We will not be back until these managers leave and I have evidence of real improvement!!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BilltheFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    24
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
42
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eden Prairie, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

My wife and I have stayed here 7 times. It is right on the beach and some units have water views. A/C in all the bedrooms and some units have in family room too. I'd recommend a 2nd floor unit. The complex is an older one; some units are remodeled, some are not, ask when making a reservation. We like to do lots of activities on various parts of the island. Kihei Kai's central location is ideal for this. Rates are very reasonable and having a kitchen makes eating in, easy and economical - there are also 2 gas grills by the beach. Everyone has always been very friendly and many that stay there have been doing so for years.
It's right on the beach and I have had ants in the kitchen on some stays. It wasn't a huge problem and was always promptly taken care of by the managers (husband and wife that live in one of the units). If you want a decent condo, with a kitchen, right on the beach, centrally located, I recommend it. We've stayed there 7 times and will continue to go back.
The beach is good for kids - small waves and a shallow grade. There is a pool, but it's quite small - of course the ocean is right there, and it's plenty big :).
Wi-fi from neighboring places is sometimes usable. On our last visit (Dec '08), all units had wired internet - I brought an Airport express and family members in 2 other units were able to use the wi-fi too.
If this sounds like what you are looking for, you'll be happy with Kihei Kai.
If you need a high end, nice hotel experience, Kihei Kai is not for you.
If you like to sit on the beach all day with a drink and get waited on, I'd recommend a nice beachfront hotel.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EU-JDLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

The Kihei Kai is a older wooden structure that is well past it's prime. My condo was full of ants and bugs every moment I was there. The condo I was in reminded me of a cheap motel room that you might rent in the middle of the night when your dead tired and have to get off the road. The condo only had air in the bedroom and it was so loud I turned it off. The furniture was cheap, the rugs were old and wrinkled, jeez what a mess. They have a small pool that is unheated and thus, very unused. Some of the old time guests told me that about 25% of the condo's were for sale, so what that means if anything is unclear. Most of the other guests were very old and though friendly were very cliche. Only two of the condo's are truly ocean view, the rest are peekabos with very, very limited ocean view. The beach is a decent walking beach, but can get very windy swirling the sand around. Finally if you are just looking for some cheap dump to stay in in Maui, this might be your place, but if staying in a place that reminds you of the beauty of Hawaii is important, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank yonoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onhawaiitime
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

Ataying at Kihei Kai is like staying at my own island paradise. It is a small intimate complex of only 24 units. Located right on the beach it was nice to go for morning walks on the beach and still be able to get a lounge chair in the sun for afternoon reading. All of the people there made you feel right at home.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onhawaiitime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
7.0 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
12.4 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
0.3 km away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#10 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#7 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.3 km away
Maui Sunset Condos
Maui Sunset Condos
#9 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
9.1 km away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos

Property: Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
Address: 61 N Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price range (per night): $222 - $1,501
Hotel Class:3 star — Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kihei Kai Condominiums are on Sugar Beach. Enjoy comfortable and completely furnished one bedroom condos that can accommodate up to four people. Oceanfront, Ocean View, Partial Ocean View and Garden views Condos. The resort is a nonsmoking facility with designated smoking areas. All condos have fully equipped electric kitchens (complete with microwave and full size appliances), air conditioning, ceiling fans, cable TV, highspeed cable internet and phone. On site laundry facilities and parking are provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing