We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
76
18
5
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
18
5
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tom and denise rainforest suite homemade muffins outdoor kitchen beach gear spacious cottage choose items fresh mango the main house no window each morning other guests breakfast is served an enjoyable stay gas grill quick access washer dryer
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Great B&B in Kihei, near several beaches like Polo Beach, Little Beach and Big Beach.
We stayed for 10 days and we had a great time!
Especially the chairs and snorkel gear which you can use for free comes in handy.
Also the book about Maui and the cd's for in the car on the way to Hana were excellent!
All there is to know about Maui you can ask the owner, he knows a lot about Maui.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlowerKenzo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

In addition to this being a nice place to stay on Maui, there are two things that are especially great about it. One is that there were all kinds of things for us to use: beach towels; umbrellas; snorkeling gear; boogie boards; an additional better-quipped, common use, kitchen area with a grill; and maybe other things I can't think of.

The other great thing is the breakfast. It is great because of the food, but also because of the unique way it was served: every night we mark 4 items on a menu and leave it on a door of our room leading to the house, and every morning the breakfast waits on a tray in front of the door, kind of like room service. To some the downside may be that you don't get to spend time with others at the house, but we liked it.

Here is little about the setting. The house is a mile or so from many great beaches or from the town. A short driveway rises up to the house where parking is available for all guests. A mostly private walkway lead to our room, on the side of the house, which had an en-suite bathroom. The room was full of practical things; some examples are the kitchenette area, fridge, dishes, and guide books. The room looks at, and has private use of, a partially fenced-in patio with a table where we liked to have breakfast, with some nature in the background. The front of the house has a large deck shared by all, with a view that reaches the ocean.

There are no real things to complain about, but it was little petty that we were told that the use of air-conditioning is extra $3 per night (we never had a need to use it anyway since the fan does a good job), and it is possible to imagine a better setting: for example, if the same place was actually at the beach (but we always drove to a different beach anyway).

The owners were really friendly and eager to helps us with any questions. A B&B like this surpasses any hotel or a sterile resort, at least for the more intimate way we like to travel, plus you save money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank masheen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We feel we discovered a hidden gem here. There is nothing to dislike and so much to enjoy. Located in a quiet residential area on a western facing hillside, 10 mins max to Big Beach and/or anywhere in Kihea, our room had a compact kitchen (frig, coffee maker, toaster oven), a/c as well as overhead fan and was very quiet. Tom is a walking encyclopedia of knowledge about the island and the front room has lots of books and maps to help discover the best places. Order Denises's banana bread for breakfast! You won't stop ordering it. The deck is so so perfect for sunsets, morning coffee with bird action all around, whale sightings and star gazing. It is the sort of place one would like to keep 'secret' for themselves and their friends by word of mouth but then we never would have heard of it so we'll share the good news.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joeg43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We stayed in the cottage for 8 nights in August. This is fairly large cottage with a kitchen that deserves its name. The cottage is located approx. 200 feets from the B&B. The kitchen is equiped with everything you might need (also by european standards ;-). We liked the kitchen so much so that we cooked during 8 nights. We also liked the BBQ gas grill and the high quality washing machine attached to the cottage.
Also the owner provided nice things such as snorkeling gear, cooling box, beach towels etc and everything for free. The cottage is located just at border to Wailea which gives you access to the nicest beaches. The cottage is 3 minutes drive from the beach but this was no problem for us. We actually enjoyed staying a bit outside of the touristic places.

If you are looking for a studio / cottage near Kihei /Wailea I would highly recommend this one. It is very good value for 125 USD plus tax per day (if you stay one week).

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicoZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Dreams come true met or exceeded our every expectation. Our room, the ocean suite, was nicely decorated, spotless, quiet, and had a feeling of privacy. We usually left the door unlocked when we went out. Never saw another person when we ate breakfast on the lanai. Just lots of birds. Whenever we needed advice or help, Tom was easily found in the public room. Tom is full of advice and recommendations that really help. The room comes with snorkels, beach chairs, picnic cooler, boogie boards, beach towels, water bottles, even a thermos. Whatever we needed, it was there. Loved Denise's fresh baked breads and muffins.
For us, this was the perfect combination of privacy with service.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eulermi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews