We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years at Hale Pau Hana”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Hale Pau Hana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Hale Pau Hana
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“New Years at Hale Pau Hana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Spent a week at HPH. Had a great room on the second floor of the low rise. Beautiful beach, warm ocean water. Well maintained facility, room is exactly as pictured on their web site.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was our second stay here and hopefully we will be back soon.
Took long hikes down the beach into other beaches and past other huge resorts, but the intimacy of HPH cannot be beat by what we saw on our hikes.

Room Tip: The web site has detailed info on each room,,I found this to be accurate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    169
    77
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
58
150
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

I must admit, the resort is in an ideal location. Not only very beautiful beach, manicured yard and ocean front, but within walking distance to many activities. The overall living unit was lacking. The bugs found in the kitchen were a bothersome, as well as the refrigerator constantly leaked and was not cared for when brought to the attention of hotel management. Also, it turns out there may have been bugs in other places, as during the trip our family was bitten. It turned out to be bedbugs, which ended up coming home with us, costing us thousands of dollars for extermination.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank mj013112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

A group of us spent the week after Thanksgiving at the Hale Pau Hana resort--we loved it! It is a very quiet, safe resort with a real down-home feel. It is well maintained, and the staff is wonderful. ( I always got extra towel whenever I asked.) Within a few hours, we were all feeling the relaxation set in. The views were fabulous (we were in unit #26). Although the condo was just fine, I might request a different one next time (and there will be a next time!) just because the bedroom windows allowed some of the street noise to filter in. We played golf often and found it to be very reasonably priced. Not a real fancy place, but just so very comfortable, and very clean! There are many restaurants very close by from which to get excellent meals--we always just walked!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hulafest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We stayed at unit #7 in summer of 2011. We rented the unit through VRBO and paid more than the going rate directly through the resort and we did not receive cleaning/towel service (resort room receive this service). The condo was so hot we could not spend time inside at all, cooking was not an option. The air conditioner in the bedroom was set so that if the bedroom door was open, the A/C would not turn on. The unit is located in the corner of the low rise building and is right next to a utility room that contains approximately 12 water heaters. This made the temp in the condo unbearable. The owners clearly spend much time in the unit as they have many built in cupboards that are locked. This left very little space for any food that we bought, clothing, or even our suitcases. The closet in the bedroom had a large locked plastic bin that took up the entire bottom of the closet and left virtually no hanging room for any of our clothes. The top of the closet was lined with locked cupboards. Unit 7 is advertised as having a bed in the main living area, which we assumed was a pull out sofa bed. This is not the case. It is a blow up mattress that is battery operated and did not work when we tried to use it. We bought new batteries thinking that that was the problem, but no such luck. There is hardly any space for anything that you may bring into this unit. We saw several other units in the low rise building which were much cooler, nicer and spacious. We would never stay in Unit 7 again.

Room Tip: This unit is so hot because of the location next to water heaters and the A/C is only in the bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank anonymous39254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Senigallia, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We loved our stay at Hale Pau Hana. We were in 507 and 701. Both apartments were quite nice. We had a little issue with towels -- not nearly enough for us and our two kids. Just get a little laundry detergent when you go for your food run. What I loved: the people (both the staff and the people we met), the beach, the pool, the grass and grounds, the location (close to everything), the luau (organized by HPH for all guests on New Year's Eve), the VIEW, the parking, the discount card for Foodland, the closet full of beach chairs and beach gear, and much more. We did it all while on Maui, from snorkeling, to whale watching, to the Road to Hana drive (if you decide to do the drive, stop at the Botanical garden and go all the way to the 7 sacred pools -- we loved it), to the Haleakala crater, to beach days, to shopping, etc. The only disappointment on Maui was the food -- I was expecting fresh fish at every restaurant but I wasn't very impressed. I live on the coast in Italy, and I know my fish. But Foodland had a pretty good fresh fish so we had some great meals on the lanai while listening to the waves. Heavenly!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enricaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
0.6 km away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
4.8 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.5 km away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#7 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
1.1 km away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#4 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.3 km away
Aston Maui Hill
Aston Maui Hill
#1 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hale Pau Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hale Pau Hana

Property: The Hale Pau Hana
Address: 2480 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8630
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Kihei
Price range (per night): $370 - $508
Hotel Class:3 star — The Hale Pau Hana 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Condos on the Beach: No other south Maui condo offers vacation rentals that are right on the beach. Unlike other Maui vacation rentals in south Maui, our condo has direct access to the Kihei beach. Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort is right on Kamaole Beach Park II in south Maui. Every condo rental unit is beachfront and has an ocean view. Only a few steps over the manicured lawn to the soft sandy beach and blue ocean. We combine all the comforts of home and the services of a hotel to make Hale Pau Hana Beach Resort the best "Home away from Home" in paradise. Individually decorated, each condominium offers a complete kitchen, free WiFi, free cable TV and free domestic telephone calls. Vacation paradise on Maui! Experience why guests return year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hale Pau Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hale Pau Hana Hotel Kihei
Hale Pau Hana Kihei
The Hale Pau Hana Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing