We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Varied menu, many local cuisine styles”

Tante's Island Cuisine
Ranked #11 of 167 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Interesting menu with many choices from the many ethnic cuisine styles on the islands of Hawaii - lots of Filipino food especially. Large helpings, great veggies, great service. Not fancy inside - this is not fine dining, but it is reasonably priced and a great casual choice in central Kahalui. Located within the hotel on the shore, easy to find.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank moms76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2017

This place is cool. It's a funky, local sort of restaurant where you seat yourself and may be the only tourist there, but the food was absolutely to DIE for. I had a papaya half and some kind of vegetarian omelet that was off the richter scale in terms of flavor; I think it was cooked with a bit of eggs benedict sauce? It was mouth-watering. My husband beat me by ordering the grilled ahi poke benedict with prawns, which made me wish Anthony Bourdain was sitting at the table, trying a bite, just so we could hear his approval. This food was REAL food, the kind that makes you happy to just be alive and on Maui. We didn't find food quite this delicious again for breakfast on our trip. Anywhere.

I wish we could have tried the dinners. Heck, I wish we could eat here every day.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Aqusite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Prices are reasonable - for Maui. Many menu selections for all meals. Good service and food was quite tasty.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janandsueDaytonOh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Good variety of offerings - from Crab legs to salads. Its a casual restaurant with reasonable pricing. Good for a casual meal, nothing fancy but comfortable. No seperate bar area, can't even remember if they offer any alcohol !

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank BonoSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We ate at Tante's a couple of times while we staid at the adjoining hotel. The breakfast was home cooked perfection at a very good price. We also had dinner there, but was not as impressed with the meals. The service and prices are great.

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank 808HotelHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tante's Island Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Tante's Island Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing