We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Great find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thai Food By Pranee

Thai Food By Pranee
Ranked #2 of 31 Restaurants in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

My wife and I drove out to Hana specifically to take the glider ride out of Hana Airport. We'd never been to Hana before, and didn't know what to expect. It's such a quaint, tiny town. We had no idea where to eat, and didn't have internet access to ask Trip Advisor, so we just randomly picked Pranee Thai, following the signs off of the main road to her place. The food was terrific. Great price and delicious flavor. Way better than more expensive places.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    95
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Thai food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

This place came highly recommended our lodging hosts and it did not disappoint.
I tried the Pad Thai, which was very tasty - I had enough leftover for lunch the next day. My husband had the mahi curry, which he absolutely loved.
We ordered and our food was ready very quickly - we highly recommend it!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JAMIE77BellinghamWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great roadside Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Great food. Don't expect a fancy restaurant...
I had the green curry with vegetables. It was delicious!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank JSplat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
127 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Utterly amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We heard about Pranees from a friend who stumbled upon the place on a day trip to Hana. We are in Hana for two nights, tried to get dinner there last night but they had run out of food, which seems to the the signal for the place to close for the day. We went there today for a delicious lunch at a reasonable price. Green curry chicken with brown rice, just enough heat, layers of flavor, would have been superb anyplace, but in a tent at the side of the road in Hana, feels like a great find. Clearly, the staff is much loved by local residents, tour drives and other regulars, with lots of hugs as these folks come and go. FYI- cash only.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
204 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great authentic thai food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

The options are very few in Hana but due to the outstanding reviews we decided to try Pranee's and we were not disappointed. She was so friendly and accommodating! The Pad Thai was outstanding (full of vegies and lots of shrimp) and the Drunken Noodle Plate was extremely good but also very, very spicey. Staff were friendly. Note that there are no scheduled hours...when they run out of food they close. Generally they are only open for lunch which is a shame because the dinner options are very limited in Hana. I would highly recommend Pranees. The ambiance is something you must see to believe.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank momofthecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Food By Pranee also viewed

 

Been to Thai Food By Pranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing