We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely perfect”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Koali Ranch Cottage from the ocean
From the lanai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hana, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BeckyAbra
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved staying at Koali Ranch. The view is spectacular. The house is comfortable and well equipped. We loved the visiting cows and the geckos. We had a magical time and a wonderful honeymoon. I can't wait come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view!
Liked least: Backing out of the driveway!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
11 Jun 2013
John M, We really appreciate the glowing report you gave to Koali Ranch Cottage. We are pleased that you hope to return; we hope so too. Please call when you get here. Chuck Gray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DaleMurph...
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply breathtaking views!!”
Reviewed 14 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Koali Ranch Cottage for three nights so that we could enjoy the surrounding area of Hana. We absolutely loved the place!!

It is a tiny, cozy cottage with everything you need to be comfortable. The jewel in its crown is the gorgeous view and huge covered deck which overlooks the ocean. The sunrises are spectacular and the cottage is quiet and secluded to allow for a nice relaxing place to unwind.

We will definitely rent this cottage again when we come back for another visit.

Totally satisfied,
Dale and Brenda
Tulsa, OK

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and seclusion.
Liked least: No phone or internet service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRJnT
Blue Ridge, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relax on the Lanai and Gaze Across at the Big Island Volcanoes”
Reviewed 5 October 2012 for a stay in May 2010
1
person found this review helpful

This is a small cottage, in excellent condition, very well equipped, stocked with everything you will need, located just outside the National Park. It is impossible to adequately describe the view from the lanai. You are looking down across groves of trees and a pasture with a few cattle, some horses and inhabited as well by numerous bird species. Beyond is the blue Pacific, waves crashing against the shore, for 180 degrees as far as you can see in both directions. Directly across is the Big Island, volcanoes protruding above the clouds. It is a fantastic accomodation. Hope we can go back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gryphonmo...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I can only dream about”
Reviewed 21 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Koali Ranch was the best part of our honeymoon.. its worth every bit of the drive from Kahului to Hana. We started driving off from Kahului at about 4pm but luckily we reached the cottage at 7pm and passed most of the windy roads before sunset. It was not easy to find really.. as the GPS doesn't recognise the full address given,you will have to rely on the instructions given by the hosts to get to your destination. It's about 5miles away from Hana town where food , gift shops and a general store is available. Eating out can be expensive but luckily the cottage has everything you need to cook except the food. There is also a dvd player , cd player, flat screen tv and a selection of books including travel guides for those who have not planned enough. You'll wake up to cows eating grass and waves splashing against the rocks. The view here is picture perfect at any time of the day. At night you'll get lotsa insects on the lanai, if you really hate beetles then this might not be the place for u.

Hamoa beach, Waianapanapa state park, Kipahulu are all within 30min drive from the cottage. I will suggest to stay at least 3 nights to enjoy the surronding this place has got to offer. Stock up essentials before you head to Hana, Hasagewa General Store only sells beef and a small selection of vegs.. but you can get canned food, drinks, ice cream, toiletries readily from there. I will definitely stay there again if i have the chance.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: flies in the bathroom, the cd always
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing