We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
The Chalet in 2002, Brought from Finland in 1998
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chalet in 2002, Brought from Finland in 1998
Maui Chalet 2012 The Chalet is 1 property back from 350 foot ocean cliffs, this gives it an amazing micro-climate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
The Chalet in 2002, Brought from Finland in 1998
Maui Chalet 2012
The Chalet is 1 property back from 350 foot ocean cliffs, this gives it an amazing micro-climate
Rain during most nights, yielding to many sunny days, a rare tropical environment
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Haiku, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Davegins
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 11 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't have been more thrilled with our stay at the Maui Chalet. It was spacious, beautiful, clean and well stocked with all one needs. The views and decks were fantastic. Truly a tropical view and experience. It was off the path-well-traveled that provided privacy but also easy to get to Paia for great food and supplies. The owners are spectacular . . . willing to give advice, give tours and share their experience. Finally, the hot-tub is the perfect way to relax into the evening. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and space
Liked least: hard to say, we liked it all.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2016
yeahhh, just what we like to hear! so happy you found us! thanks for chosing to stay in our paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zacfamily
Seattle, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Jungle Paradise”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Wonderful location, we felt like we were in another world. Such amazing grounds, terrific hot tub, and Jette, the host, is lovely. The house has everything you need, including kitchen items, books, and games. The only downside were the bugs - to be expected in a tropical jungle setting, but there were lots of little ants that seemed to sense our presence and got worse throughout the stay, despite best efforts to keep neat and clean. Apparently, the immense amount of rain the month before contributed to the infestation. Still, we really enjoyed our stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2014
When they came they noticed ants on the outside stairs, they told their son, "no big deal". We numerous times told them to please call us with any questions or concerns. I never heard anything about ants, my Wife, Jette, does not think they even mentioned it to her until they left. They said they had not taken out their kitchen compost for 4 DAYS !! They said they forgot where we told them the outside compost bin was. They did not call us, just let it sit inside the house, in the tropics for 4 days.
The Chalet was not 'Infested', there were ants in the kitchen in a row, not all over everything. There were some ants upstairs because the unusually heavy rains had flooded their outside nests. A day after these people left, we had all the ants gone. If they had let us know, we would have REMOVED THE COMPOST, wiped up the line of ants, put soap water in the cracks and baited with boric acid, solving the problem. We could easily have followed up, checking in several times a day while they were out. Unlike hotels, we never enter a guests dwelling unless they ask us to, we totally respect their privacy. If informed, we would come in as many times as necessary. Don't tell us after you leave and then use words like 'Infest'. We are one property back from one of the few pristine bays left on Maui. We do not spray poisons around the house, all over the grounds, like the corporate hotels and condos do, which just runs into the ocean, where even minusule amounts destroy the coral and marine life. We respect the land, have some respect for us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheZag
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Property , Excellent Value , Centrally Located, Very Private”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This house in Haiku is centrally located in Maui . It is an hour from the west side , and an hour from the east side. The house is architecturally stunning and accommodated my wife and 3 teenagers very well. There are a lot of extras that come with the house such as snorkeling gear , beach mats , kitchen appliances , washer / dryer and a Jacuzzi. Gorgeous grounds with fruit trees , palm trees , ocean view and complete privacy. Even the owners of the house were excellent - they were very considerate, kind and trusting . i would recommend this house to anyone interested in a vacation rental away from the crowds.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and open style of house
Liked least: The pillows & mattresses needed upgrading
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing