We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveller rating
583
216
58
41
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
216
58
41
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old hawaii bedroom cottage black sand beach plantation cottages salt pond west side banyan trees authentic hawaiian experience laid back kokee state park ishihara market nearby river full kitchen rocking chairs three bedroom shrimp station beautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 930 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2018

When we arrived at the Waimea Plantation Cottages, we were told that our reservation (made six months before) for a one-bedroom oceanfront cottage wasn’t available; therefore, we were “upgraded” to a two-bedroom cottage at no extra charge. Seems to me that it isn’t an upgrade when one has absolutely no use for an extra bedroom. The only advantage to this so-called upgrade was that I could raid the extra bathroom for towels since we ran out of clean towels in the bathroom we did use. Anyway, even though the lady at check-in told us that cottage #69 was “her favorite,” that turned out to be a big lie because #69 was the crappiest-looking cottage in the neighborhood. The outside yard had weeds, decaying leaves, and some sort of black balls (chestnuts?) all over the ground. And that’s the way it stayed all week, by the way. The first thing I noticed when I stepped into the cottage was that the floor didn’t appear to have been swept. Second thing was that the kitchen’s ceiling light cover was missing; just a bare light bulb hanging there. Classy! The kitchen counter top was smeary and dotted with ants -- both dead and alive. In checking the dishes in the cupboard (thick with dust), the second bowl looked at had dried cereal in it. Good grief. The glassware was smudged. The silverware looked like someone had simply wiped them with a dry paper towel and stuck them back into the drawer. So I got to spend the first day of vacation washing up a sink load of dirty dishes. The stove, oven, and lower cupboards were also filthy but left that way since they wouldn’t be used during our stay. On to the bedroom, which looked nice at first glance. However, the light shades didn’t sit right, leaving them crooked and hard to turn off and on. With no dresser in the bedroom, I took the underclothes to a battered old dresser in the adjoining bathroom. What an ugly piece of junk that was -- the top drawer was missing a bottom slate and would open only partly, the bottom drawer was missing a pull knob, and all the drawers were dusty inside. Another cleaning chore for me. The bathroom sink hadn’t seen cleanser for a long time, if ever. The light fixtures at the mirror were badly tarnished. There were three electrical outlets in the bathroom, none of which seemed to work. The shower, though, took the cake – soap film and mildew on the tiles, soap film on the glass shower door, grunge in the shower door trough, ants (dead and alive) on the shower floor, and a large mildewy crevasse where the tile wall met (or was supposed to meet) the shower framing. Ick, ick, ick. There was a tub in the other bathroom which had dozens of dead ants in it, and since we didn’t use it, the ant carcasses remained there the entire week. Hope the next guest enjoys them. If you’re wondering why housecleaning wasn’t called at some point, there was a sign on the entrance wall that said additional cleaning outside the scheduled every three days of cleaning would cost for this size cottage, $80 for the “Full Service Clean” or $60 for the “Partial Service Clean.” Maybe I’m an old cynic, but this strikes me as the ploy of having cottages poorly cleaned in order to manipulate guests into shelling out for additional cleaning. In conclusion, the only positive I can say about the Waimea Plantation Cottages was that the bed was very comfortable … if you don’t mind ants crawling on you. Advice: Stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't choose cottage #69.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KayinCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit B, Manager at Waimea Plantation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're sorry to hear we did not exceed all of your expectations during your stay. While an apology will not alter your experience, please allow us to extend one with all sincerity. In the future, if there is ever anything we can to do improve your stay, please let us know right away. We relish the opportunity to satisfy our guests while they are still with us. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

I had heard about this place on the travel grapevine for years and been wanting to check it out someday - and when I finally did in December, I was not disappointed. It is FABULOUS!! A very special place that has not succumbed to the modernization of the rest of the world. It's like stepping back in time into another era. I love that they haven't "fixed all the rooms up" and lost it's original character. The gardens are immaculately kept as are the rooms, which are bursting with ambience and charm. They are rustic and simple but absolutely delightful. And it is just so peaceful and quite here - and beautiful! The trees are mesmerizing and even magical I am told on good authority. The staff and guests I met were all really lovely but pretty much left you alone to your own devices to just relax and enjoy the peace and quiet of the extensive gardens, pool and beach. If you are after entertainment and nightlife, this is not the place to you. Even rowdy kids would probably raise a few eyebrows as it is very quiet but this is place is a kids paradise if you want to get them to disconnect from technology and return to nature.

Room Tip: Cabins closer to the beach will have better views, but all are lovely!
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit B, Manager at Waimea Plantation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2018

Aloha and thank you for your 5-star review, Kate! We're thrilled you enjoyed your peaceful and relaxing stay. It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our atmosphere and the beautiful surroundings. We hope you'll come back and visit us again soon. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018

We enjoy the old Hawaii feeling of this place and the quietness of the west side of Kaua'i. A perfect combination in our book. The old plantation cottages have lots of character which you will enjoy. Great to have your own kitchen which allow you to try new things you find at the local farmers markets.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
2  Thank Gwen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

Waimea Plantation Cottages is a beautiful natural property with really old trees and expansive lawns right on the beach there and there are lots of activities here for the whole family or just relax and listen to the waves , the staff are very warm and friendly and will help you with anything possible we really enjoyed our recent 5 day stay here and would definitely recommend this place to anyone who would like to experience an old Hawaiian type place to stay . Unfortunately it rained a lot during our stay here but as they say you can plan a pretty picnic....... Mahalo WPC

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank theresa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

House #55 needs some cleaning in kitchen and bathroom downstairs. Beds were comfortable and the lanai was great. Furniture in the living room could use some help it wasn't to cozy to curl up on with my fiancé. The grounds around the cottages were beautiful and it was very nice being on the south side of the island. The two days we went out exploring to the North were horrible with traffic. Literally spent an hour sitting in the car to get 5 miles. Tip #1 check google maps when traveling to the north side of the island.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Coast Hotels
Thank jodisdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brit B, Manager at Waimea Plantation Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Aloha and thank you for reviewing your recent stay. It really helps us refine the guest experience and we will take it to heart. We're sorry to hear we did not meet all of your expectations during your stay. In the future, if there is anything we can do to make your stay more pleasant please let us know. We relish the opportunity to improve your overall stay while you are with us. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews