We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
241
99
24
12
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
99
24
12
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages bedroom cottage golf course borrow beach chairs the kitchen laundry room north shore front office washer dryer grocery shopping a great place to stay staff was very friendly and helpful nice beaches small pool both bedrooms nice size hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This place is a tremendous value. It is a two bedroom condo with a full kitchen and a washer and dryer. The housekeeping was immaculate. It was a little dated, but that is being nit-picky.
Things to be aware of:
They don't do daily housekeeping. You only get a relatively small amount of shampoo and conditioner and soap (total, enough for one short haried guy for 8 days). They charge for any extras. And, they don't have sealed windows, meaning that you can hear quite clearly what goes on outside of your bedroom (roosters), and those outside can hear what goes on in your condo.
They do provide some laundry detergent (enough for about 3-4 loads)
They provide a cooler and beach towels.
And lastly, I'm sad to say that I don't really recommend the north shore during Winter. The beaches were frequently too high surf for swimming. But, the scenery on the North shore is the best on the Island. So if you want to swim and snorkel, you will need to drive to the South shore frequently.
If you do stay in this area, Tahiti Nui's Ahi with cilantro, coconut and lime sauce was the best thing that we ate on our week in the area.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dumdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your experience with us here at Makai - we appreciate the 5-star rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

This resort is located in one of the most beautiful areas in Kauai. The area from Princeville to the end of the road is so beautiful I would be incapable of trying to describe it. The nearby Makai Golf Club, the Kilauea Lighthouse and National Wildlife Refuge are true works of nature’s art. Great nearby beaches are all awesome. We loved it all.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Chucks51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2018

Hi Chuck - thanks for the wonderful review. It truly is a beautiful place and we're happy you could experience that with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

My wife found this through a third party site, and it turned out to be a great stay. The area is quiet (except for the roosters, but they’re everywhere) and it’s kept very clean. The rooms are clean and the furniture was in good shape. Having laundry in the condo was very convenient. Pool area was quiet and well kept. Management of the complex seems to be very on top of things, texting you the night before housekeeping comes by, 24 hour reception and a concierge desk for help with activities. The only negative is apparently wooden beams were used for the second floor versus concrete. In my particular unit I could hear exactly where the upstairs guests were walking. Couldn’t hear voices or tv, etc.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ny2hi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Thanks for reviewing us - we appreciate the feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us on Kauai.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Have come here three years in row. They have recently updated the rooms. If you after the beach scene and night life wrong place. Good place to sit back and relax. 10 minute drive to nice beaches. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thanks for staying with us, Brian! We're glad you enjoyed your relaxation time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

My two aunts, my cousin, a friend and myself stayed here in a cottage for a week. Our cottage had two bedrooms, two full baths, a full kitchen and a large living room with fold out sofa. We slept 5 easily. There was a large balcony with a table and chairs. The resort offered many activities onsite and had a nice pool area.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Marcy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GPR S, Manager at Makai Club Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thanks for the great review, Marcy - we're glad you and your family had a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews