We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort(Poipu)
USD 654
USD 587
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 719
USD 665
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Point at Poipu(Poipu)(Great Value!)
USD 619
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 492
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aston at Poipu Kai(Poipu)(Great Value!)
USD 463
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiahuna Plantation Resort(Poipu)(Great Value!)
USD 470
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 922
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from these sites
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,134)
Filter reviews
1,134 results
Traveller rating
737
243
80
36
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
737
243
80
36
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonu barisland viewparking lotfull kitchenunderground parkingmarriott ownersmarriott vacationrelaxation pooltime shareko olinatimeshare propertywater aerobicskids activitiesgreat beachpools and hot tubsliving roomfamily vacation
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 1,134 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Nothing negative can be said about this property except for maybe the high price. Beachfront location with astounding views. You absolutely have to go down to the beach at sunset and enjoy a cocktail with your loved ones as the beautiful sunset occurs before your very eyes. You will keep these magical moments with you long after you return home. Most nights there is a singer at the poolside bar and restaurant. His island music along with the fabulous surroundings will captivate you.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for a perfect review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We went in January. Wonderful place to stay! A little swankier than I'm used to. We enjoyed the three hot tubs and the nice BBQ setup. We rented bicycles and rode the ten mile paved path along the shore. I will be going back! We like a break from the winter weather, but I bet it's great in the summer too.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor go up a few floors for a view.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Renard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

My family loved this place. The grounds and pool areas are just fabulously landscaped and maintained, it truly felt like a paradise. However, you may not feel that way if you're in a room on the outside of the property, facing a parking lot or another resort's building. Try to get a room facing the interior courtyard if at all possible, unless you simply just use the room to bunk down in. We used the balcony a lot and really got a lot of enjoyment out of our view. If you can get into buildings 1, 2, 7, or 8, all the better as you will be closer to the beach. The 8 buildings form a U shape around the middle courtyard with the U open to the ocean, and buildings 1 and 8 form the ends of the U. With that said, here are some of the details on our experience:

The Location:
The resort is a pleasant 30 minute drive Southwest of the Lihue airport. (The airport itself is small and easy to navigate, I had my rental car within about 15 minutes of landing) I would recommend stopping at the Costco in Lihue, which is on the way from the airport to the resort, and loading up with food for your stay. The Costco prices here were surprisingly much the same as the ones where we live in Colorado, and eating out all the time could get expensive in a hurry. I would also recommend taking highway 520 on your way to the resort in order to enjoy the tunnel of trees as you drive. There's a decent market, sort of like Whole Foods, a 5 minute drive to the West in an outdoor shopping area, but the prices tended to be on the high side.

The Rooms:
It's my understanding that the majority of the rooms are the same. You get a decent sized full kitchen right inside the entry door. We used ours a lot to prepare our own meals and save money on food. There's a good sized table right off the kitchen, seating 8 if memory serves correctly. The couch (with facing flat screen TV) had a pullout that was surprisingly solid and comfortable, not super thin and soft like a lot are. The two bedrooms (one on either side of the main room) were nice and large, and each had their own full bathroom (the second bedroom shares an entry with the main living area). The master bedroom had a single king bed, as well as a dedicated tub and shower all of its own. The second bedroom had a king bed and another nice pullout couch bed. The bathroom here was just a tub/shower with curtain in the same room as the toilet, but the bathroom was still very spacious. One thing to note is that the second bedroom's bathroom had the A/C unit in a closet, and it seemed to be pretty noisy and easy to hear from the bedroom, kicking on and off all night. The bed was very comfortable, and the pillows were not solid blocks of polyester or foam. They seemed to be feather or down, and were also extremely comfortable. All in all the furnishings were very nice and higher end. Our balcony (as were most) was pretty small, so we could never really have all of our 7 people out there at the same time. 5 or 6 was pushing it, and navigating the furniture (a lounge chair and a round table with 4 chairs) was a bit of a challenge.

The Grounds:
As I mentioned this place is beautiful. The interior courtyard landscaping is tropical and interesting. Deep into the courtyard there's a small koi pond and an even larger pond. Between is a large grass area, useful for some frisbee or other fun. There are two areas with some nice big gas grills, and those seem to be well used during dinner time. There are three swimming pools, one small one right off the ocean, a bigger one at the courtyard entrance, and a 'relaxation' pool midway back into the courtyard. The big pool and the relaxation pool both have hot tubs. The pools have rock formations around the sides and the big one meanders under a bridge and has a waterfall. Some lounge chairs around the pools have shade, others don't, but they all get pretty heavily used through the middle of the day. You'll probably want to get your chairs early or it may be tough to find one. The resort didn't seem overly worried about people saving chairs with towels, but I'm sure how strict they are about it sort of comes and goes. There's a ping pong table near the main lobby (but still outside, which makes a game tough in the wind), they won't put out paddles until after 10 AM though. Out near the beach there is a hut for renting snorkel gear, umbrellas, and cabanas (i.e. two cushioned chairs with a retractable shade canopy). You get your beach towels here too, limit of 2 per person which didn't seem to be strictly enforced. Next to the hut is the bar/restaurant. We found it to be acceptable, not much more, but it's not very large. Some nights they have live music, and on Friday's they put up a big screen and show a movie that can be watched from the large pool area. Between there and the beach are grassy areas, with fabric lounge chairs, first come first served. Some line the overlook by the ocean, which is a great place to watch the surfers. A bit towards the west end of the property is another larger grassy area, with more chairs, rental cabanas, and some large trees you can find shade under. A very pleasant place to chill and read a book, and even watch the sun set. There was also an outdoor curtained cabana where they offered massages (for an extra charge), if you'd like to hear the ocean while getting a rub down. We didn't sechedule one, so can't comment on the quality of the massage.

The Beach:
The beach here is said to be near the top of lists of best beaches in the US. I find no reason to disagree with that. The beach itself wasn't overly large, but during the first half of the day there seemed to be ample room to find some sand and play. There aren't chairs and only a few shady spots where the trees are at the edge of the sand by the grass. You can rent umbrellas at the rental hut mentioned above, if necessary. The sand is pretty soft and light colored, but seashells seemed to be disappointingly non-existent. If you're into snorkeling there is some pretty great stuff to see right off the beach, although the current can be a bit strong at times and maybe not the best for younger kids. You'll start to see fish 5-10 feet into the water, and can see plenty right within 50 yards of the shore.

Wildlife:
If you take a walk around the grounds you'll probably see plenty of chickens roaming the grounds (the crowing will probably even wake you in the morning), some small lizards, frogs, and maybe even some giant snails. Other birds that frequent the area are common myna, sparrows, some red crested cardinals, and maybe even a heron near the pond. Some folks may frown on feeding the birds, but we were able to get the sparrows to eat right from our hands off the balcony, which was a first for us. If you take a walk to the beach, especially early, it seems there's a good chance of seeing a sleeping sea turtle or monk seal right up close! Very cool. And a good variety of beautiful tropical fish to see if you snorkel. Our group even saw a squid, an octopus, and an eel out in the water while snorkeling.

Service:
I would call the service good, but nothing special. People were friendly but not overly so. We did have our A/C unit in the room go out one day and they had someone down to fix it very quickly.

Other Stuff:
There is parking that goes all underneath the buildings and grounds, so you can drive in and easily find a spot nearly right under where your room is. Very convenient! However, the elevators are slow and feel somewhat rickety, so we used the stairs most of the time.

There was a kids club that we didn't use, and there is a small 'market' off the main lobby where you can buy coffee, a limited selection of food, toiletries, and a few souveniers. There's a decent jewelry stand/counter outside the main lobby.

When you check out you can request access to a nice, large inside room where you can hang out and even shower. This is very useful if you have a later flight and want another day at the beach. I understand the resort will even store your bags during this time, but we just packed them all into our rental car.

Conclusion:
This resort really felt like an example of Hawaii at its best! It would be very hard to fault this place for just about anything significant. There's lots to do nearby, and it felt like a happening place without being overly crowded. You also didn't get the feel of huge condo high rises looming over you like some of the more popular Hawaiian tourist destinations. I think the biggest risk is getting an 'ocean view' room and then being stuck overlooking a parking lot that has the ocean somewhere behind it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the interior courtyard and pools have by far the best view.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review. It is very important to us and has been shared with our senior resort management. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here in at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

We love staying at our home, away from home in Kauai! Been staying here every year since it opened. Bar by the beach is great and Jack, the bartender is extremely friendly and fun. Great beach, awesome staff and wonderful location.

Stayed: August 2016
Thank captkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

Thank you for a perfect review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

For an honest review, let me begin with the positives... This property is beautifully situated on Poipu Beach, one of the best beaches in all of Hawaii. The two bedroom condo is clean and nicely appointed. The kitchen is large with seating for eight. The master is comfortable, the bathtub huge but the shower is very tiny! The second bedroom is spacious with a king size bed and pull out sofa. The exterior grounds are very nicely kept and clean and there are grills for use by guests. There is a nice bar with limited food items pool side. The pool is nice but a bit on the small side for the number of guests on property but the beach is great.

Now for the "not so" positives... We feel completely mislead! We booked a two bedroom ocean view villa months in advance at an upgraded price and we have a view of a bush and a parking lot!!! (See picture). We were given the option of moving one floor higher which if you look past the parking lot, through the power lines and over a rooftop you can get a slight glimpse of the ocean in the distance. "Ocean View". We travel frequently, in fact work in the travel industry and have stayed many places and price ranges and I don't think I have ever been as disappointed as I am right now. Not because the property lacks anything to speak of, but because I feel like we got the bate and switch and that Marriott knowingly and intentionally misrepresented their product. (See other negative reviews, this is sadly a common issue)

We have been longtime Marriott Rewards members, loyal customers and have always enjoyed our stays. At some point during our visit we will walk into the sales presentation, (which we were actually considering), and have to say No Thank you. Unfortunately, I feel that the trust has been broken and honor and integrity lacking. (Something I have not felt before).

Marriott has always been a great company with a good product but there are other great companies out there as well. I will choose to vote with my dollar and look elsewhere from this point forward.

Closing words of wisdom, this is a timeshare property, not a hotel. The rooms that are for "rent" are not the beautiful "ocean views" that you are spending thousands of dollars and traveling half way around the world for. The rooms for "rent" are the least desirable on property... the ones that owners will not stay in.

Marriott, you lost a sale by being misleading and just not being honest. What else are you hiding????

Sincerely,
a very disappointed customer

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
11  Thank Clem1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarriottVacationClub, Customer Care Manager at Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and leave a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews