We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Base for Kauai”
other travellers have booked this property
Living area lanai
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area lanai
Exterior photo Lap pool and Jacuzzi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Living area lanai
Exterior photo
Lap pool and Jacuzzi
Panoramic views from living area
Amazing Views fish bathroom
Kitchen
Master suite
Master bedroom suite #21
Master bath.
Middle bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Poipu, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sara K
Mililani, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“RENTERS BEWARE”
Reviewed 14 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
5
people found this review helpful

We flew in to Lihue early to enjoy the day on the island and called the Property Manager to hopefully check in to the house early. We were told that there was a group checking out and as soon as the cleaners were done we would get a call. We were promised that the property would be ready at 3:00 pm at the latest. Not only did we not get an early call, when we arrived at the normal check in time (3:00 pm) the previous guests had not even left yet. They had been granted a late check out. When the manager realized what happened they tried to place our family in a smaller, cheaper unit without any view. The main reason we rented this house was because of the promised "Amazing Views". (And in actuality the views are not amazing at all.) The second house was unacceptable to us so we were told to wait until 7:15 pm so the cleaners could have a chance to do a quick cleaning. When we arrived at 7:15 pm the cleaners were not done. We showered with the cleaners still in the home and left for dinner. The cleaners were at the home until 8:15 pm. When we arrived home later that evening we got ready for bed only to find that the sheets/bedding had not been washed and there was someone's dirty undergarment tucked in the Master Bedroom sheets. There was also a full load of towels left in the dryer. When we contacted the management company about our concerns they said it's to be expected as the cleaners only had a short time to turn the house around, and they totally denied that there was a male underwear left in one of the beds.
We had to take time out of our vacation to wash all the bedding and remake the beds.

On the second night of our vacation we purchased Steaks to bbq at the house. When we turned on the propane to bbq grill there was no propane. The management company did not refill until the next day.

With a group of 5 we were only given one key for the house. And we want to make future guests aware that there is a spy camera that can be accessed remotely to view the dining room, balcony, pool, hot tub, and patio/deck.

The layout of the house is very strange. Three bedrooms are located on the ground floor and you have to walk upstairs to get to the kitchen and dining room. The downstair bedrooms are very hot with no cross ventilation.

There is no garage or carport. You park on the side of the road. And 8 ft away from the front of the house is an Emergency Alert System that is extremely loud.

Throughout our entire ordeal this management company was unapologetic and took no responsibility for all the problems with the house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lorenwebb
Santa Ana, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home Base for Kauai”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 5 great nights at AVH and were very happy with the house. It was convenient for the Poipu beaches but we used it for our home base for the whole island. One day to the West side (Waimea and Barking Sands) and one day to the North (Kee Beach), one day to the East side (Wailua and Lihue). We then spent the rest of our time around Poipu and Kiloa. I was going to walk to the beach from the house, but the hill and all the stuff we wanted to bring made that less desirable (we like hiking but walking in the sun and humidity is not much fun. Just drive everything down to the parking lot early and everything will be fine. The house was perfect for our 3 adults and 4 kids. We loved being able to BBQ dinner each night (grab food at Costco on your way in) and eat healthy and cheaper. The cross breaze was great and the sunsets beautiful. All the beach equipment was very much appreciated (we used the cooler for the lunches we made each morning), especially the umbrella and snorkel equipment. The kids liked the pool in the evening and I liked the Jacuzzi. We were very happy with the house and the value of the house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the beach equipment and cooking utinsils
Liked least: Needs more fans
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agustin P
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded Expectations”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed with 3 other individuals. The host was very accommodating. The home was spacious and inviting. The sunset from the balcony is a post card. The open floor plan in the upstairs provides the home with beautiful views with abundance of natural light. The only downside is parking looks to be limited to one vehicle. Other than that, it was an amazing home. Quiet neighborhood with minimal traffic. I highly recommend to any traveler. You will most enjoy going through the tunnel of trees as you arrive to Poipu. We signed the guest book with recommendations to eat and things to do. I hope you get to read it. :P

A big THANK YOU to the host for allowing us to stay in their home. Mohalo!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Open Floor Plan
Liked least: Small Parking Spot
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan T
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Even better than we expected.”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Sometimes a vacation rental doesn't live up to its photos and description, but this house far exceeded our expectations. Yes, the hill-top location is great with its spectacular views over Poipu. Yes, the house is both well-furnished and comfortable. Yes, it's easy to unwind in the pool and hot tub, and relax on the back deck and upstairs lanai (we even saw a humpback whale breach). But it's the considerate attention to small (and not so small) details that makes this property stand out.

Upon our arrival, the cleaners were just finishing. They welcomed us with helpful hints and tips, but they were careful to not intrude and soon were gone. And, most importantly, the place was immaculate. But also, lamps were turned on. The ceiling fans were gently turning. Fresh flowers greeted us upstairs. And as we got settled and became familiar with the house, it was clear these nice touches were just the tip of the iceberg. Everything is taken into consideration to make sure visitors fully enjoy this home.

All three bathrooms are stocked with white towels carefully folded as if in a hotel. Each sink has a hand pump with liquid soap. All the showers and baths (even the shower outside!) have bottles stocked with locally made shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. Mats are placed inside and outside every entrance to encourage wiping sandy shoes and feet. Orchids grow in the crooks of the backyard trees. A large rubbermaid bin filled with snorkel gear is in the closet under the stairs. A tall shelf fully stocked with fresh beach towels stands just inside the downstairs hall. The beds are made with good quality linens. Each bathroom and hallway has night lights. The wifi service is excellent, from every corner of the property.

And the kitchen! This is hands down the best-stocked kitchen I've come across in a vacation rental. One of our party is a serious chef, and he was continually pleased with the variety of utensils, knives, pots and pans. There is seemingly limitless glassware, plates, bowls, cutlery. And it all matches. And there was a full tin of coffee beans awaiting us! Plus, of course, they provide both a good coffee grinder and coffee maker.

The owners and management have taken real pride in making this home the best possible for a visit to Kauai. It's obvious the property has been well-loved over the years. It hasn't seen a day of neglect, and you can feel it. The rooms radiate good energy: from the sunny kitchen and its beautiful view, to the open and airy great room upstairs; the comfortable bedrooms downstairs, to the well-appointed bathrooms throughout.

Waking up in this house and seeing the sun rise from the lanai kicked off each day with a feeling of well-being. A feeling that lasted up to and well beyond the spectacular sunsets we enjoyed each night.

I wouldn't just recommend this house to those planning to visit Kauai. I'd encourage anyone to visit Kauai just to rent this house.

(Note: The owner's photos accurately describe the rooms and views. You can trust those. However, the photos I'm including show the details that make this property special.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing