We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what I was looking for”
Review of Red Salt

Red Salt
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Poipu
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 25 - USD 75
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Koloa
Description: Red Salt’s diverse menu by acclaimed Executive Chef and Kauai native Noelani Planas celebrates fresh Hawaiian seafood and produce in a casual, yet sophisticated seaside atmosphere. Modern dinner cuisine including vanilla bean-seared mahi, ahi tartare, and the decadently layered Red Salt burger are served in a contemporary setting. Select nights, the Red Salt Lounge is host to a sushi bar featuring the day’s freshest catch in innovative, isle-inspired rolls. Lounge and sushi bar seating are not available for reservation and is first come, first served. During morning hours, Red Salt offers tropical takes on traditional breakfast dishes, such as lobster benedict and lemon-pineapple soufflé pancakes, recently featured by Food Network.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is the second time I’ve eaten at this restaurant. The first time was a couple of years ago so I was nervous that maybe I wouldn’t like it as much this time. Nothing to worry about at all - great service and great meal, and they even have a kids menu. I had the octopus appetizer and the filet entree, with a glass of wine for each. We also shared the cheesecake. I left very satisfied on all fronts, and look forward to coming back again.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank adamm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 110 of 1,734 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

The prices are high but the food is truly exceptional with service to match. In hotel setting lacks ambiance and Hawaiian feel but we come back year after year because the food is just that good.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank I916NHsuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed at the resort and our package included a tasting menu at the restaurant. Enjoyed all the dishes, which were generously portioned, to the point where we had to pack the meat course as it was too much to finish. Excellent flavor combinations and well plated. Good service, too. The only negative is that after sunset, the restaurant did not provide sufficient lighting to see the food properly.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank avid_traveler_2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at Koa Kea and had six meals at Red Salt. Every single dish we tried was superb, from the French toast at breakfast to the lamb chops on the chef’s tasting menu at dinner. The tomato mozzarella salad was delicious! They have a wonderful selection of cocktails, wine and beer and while pricey, this place is worth every penny! Whether you are a large party or dining alone, this place will accommodate you and will not disappoint. Pristine was our server for three meals and her level of service is top notch! She is patient, kind, and just an overall nice person. She definitely made our experience one we won’t forget! Definitely try the Portuguese sausage at breakfast!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank PhxMermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

The lobster Benedict with the mango hollandaise was to die for! THe head chef was there and was very kind and even made swure I was seated promtly

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank thehartungs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Red Salt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing