We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,609)
Filter reviews
2,609 results
Traveller rating
1,032
1,031
383
100
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,032
1,031
383
100
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews shutters bar sand pool naupaka terrace rental car close to the airport ocean view breakfast buffet fire pit valet parking gift shop our honeymoon main restaurant pools and hot tubs per day parking lot poolside bar grounds are beautiful
Filter
Updating list...
157 - 162 of 2,609 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

PROS: The location is convenient but a car is necessary. The area is quiet as was our room but we may not have had adjoining neighbours all the time. Management provided us with a premium full ocean view but unrenovated room but messed up our reservations in the first place. Young staff at reception, the pool, cleaning personnel and the maitre d's station in the dining room were pleasant as was Tom in the lounge. They stood out because older staff at reception, the manager from the office and the shop were constantly and continually grim. So even the "pros" are partially "cons".
CONS: Despite our emails to the resort prior to arrival, our reservations were lost. Not a good way to start a 10 day reservation. However, we did appreciate the severely upgraded room provided. It took several attempts to get a response to our initial emails. A BIG DEAL that there is a sign on the path to the beach warning against going in the water due to rip tides, rocks, coral, etc. Why call it a "Beach Resort"? The beach area is contaminated with debris. Could easily be cleaned up daily if necessary.
Remember to tip the young car valet or he will sulk.
Happy Hour drinks are suitable for those who abstain from alcohol.
Food quality in the dining room is not of an acceptable standard, especially given the price.
See the recent reviews by Benjamin P and Goodbklyn of this establishment. We concur.
Ownership needs to replace management and re-boot operations including performing much needed renovations.

Room Tip: Any room that is renovated is more costly. If your budget allows get a full ocean view room.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank morgansCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us and for providing us your feedback regarding your experience. Unfortunately, it was an experience that left you with a bad taste in your mouth and bad memory to want to return. Although we can't take back what has happened with your past experience, I apologize for the many shortcomings of our products and services. This can only allow us to improve our services and areas that need focus and attention, so thank you for providing us this opportunity.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

The location allows you to go north, south or west with ease without taking a full day to make it happen. We found the desk and valet staff very polite and helpful. We did not eat in the restaurant as it was quite pricey and there was no modest breakfast offering. We did eat in the bar and found several good appetizers. The outside Driftwood Bar was a disappointment in that it closed at 6:00 so it was not really a casual dining option and service was often pretty slow. Our room was fine, nothing special and it was disappointing to access it through the service elevator since the regular one for guests was under repair. The grounds and pool were quite nice, esp for a family

Room Tip: ask for an ocean or lagoon view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bookworms2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Aloha,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at Kaua'i Beach Resort. Prices for our different food and beverage outlets are comparable and competitive to our competition on Island. Breakfast Buffet offering at local hotels or restaurants will range anywhere from $20 - $35, depending on the establishment. We hope that this doesn't deter you from returning to Kaua'i and to the Kaua'i Beach Resort. Until then... Aloha!

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Kauai Beach resort. It is pricey, but every hotel in Kauai is expensive. The pool area is fantastic, the beach is nice and the workout/laundry facilities are good. The room is fairly average. They provide several vouchers at check-in which is nice. I think they could really leap up the rankings if they provided free breakfast with your stay.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ucaimaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Aloha,

Thank you for your comments and for staying with us at Kaua'i Beach Resort. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the amenities that we offer. We wish for you to return to Kaua'i and to the Kaua'i Beach Resort soon.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

The positives are offset by the negatives here. As we prepare to leave after a 6-day stay, I am sorry the negatives have won out.

First, the highlights. Really nice pools. The housekeeping staff are incredibly kind and helpful. The location (beach, near airport, easy access to both north and south) is great. Comfortable rooms.

Not so great: there is a lot of garbage on the beach. I understand it’s a public beach, but the hotel should take greater interest in keeping it clean. The restaurant food is solid, but we had to wait several times (3-4) to be seated—I have literally never waited to be seated at a resort restaurant. This hotel is very large and feels like it—anonymous service (at best; more on that later), generic furnishings, institutional finishes.

Not good: with a few exceptions (housekeeping and waitstaff were friendly and helpful, as were the pool staff!), the staff is stuck in grumpy mode. As another poster mentioned, the staff regularly made us feel like we were bothering them-complete with eye rolls and rushing us off. Also not good was the driftwood cafe by the pool—mixed drinks so bad I sent it back and just drank beer.

Our vacation was in no way ruined, but it was a disappointment to find ourselves committed to a mediocre resort.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Goodbklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience at Kauai Beach Resort. There is no excuse to the type of customer service and aloha that you did not receive from the staff. We strive to provide the aloha experience in every interaction and unfortunately failed in your experience while here. We cannot take back your less than expected experience, however should you return to Kaua'i, we hope you choose to give us another opportunity to win back your loyalty. Until then... Mahalo and Aloha for your gift of feedback.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Currently still at our hotel, the longer we stay the more disillusioned we are becoming. We understand that this is not the Orchid in Kona but we had hoped for more. The staff here that deal directly with the guests are not very friendly. On several occasions they literally scoff at you when you say something. Particularly the gift shop and dining staff.

The bar staff will ignore you until you become impatient and have to flag them down; while they are on their phones, You have to ask for things like utensils and napkins. During Super Bowl Sunday party the staff was understaffed while management seemed to stand around just watching what was going on.

The house keeping staff has always been polite and courteous, and a select few of the staff that have been very pleasant and seem to like what they do.

Was hoping for a better experience

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Benjamin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2018

Aloha,

Thank you for feedback regarding your experience at Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your candid comments and apologize that we failed to meet your expectations. We strive for customer excellence and fail short of that, however with your feedback, we know areas and services that we failed at, to better improve ourselves. We hope that should you return to Kaua'i that you choose to give us another opportunity.

Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews