We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hole in the wall”
Review of The Surf Cafe

The Surf Cafe
Ranked #84 of 134 Restaurants in Lihue
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Very convenient to the Lihue Marriott complex, right across the street! Inexpensive sandwiches and curries. Quiet indoor or outdoor seating in the Harbor View mall courtyard. We loved getting away from the hotel and saving some coin with better food at Surf.

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank Bradley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 7 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2016

We found this little gem in the Harbor Mall, and ate there 3 times during our 5 days on Kauai. The owner was very personable, and makes some great Thai dishes (we particularly liked the yellow curry and the pineapple one). We also ate sandwiches for lunch, with thick freshly baked bread. The cookies were also a favorite. Great little place.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

We stopped in unexpected, the Chef was very polite and helpful. It was the best Pad See Ew I've had in a while, it was a nice change with the Pad Thai noodles vs. the standard wide Rice noodle I am used too. The sauce was especially good, extremely flavorful and hit the spot!

Date of visit: April 2016
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2016

We ate here 3 times in 2 days on a recent trip to Kauai. The BEST tuna sandwich we've ever had for lunch, and absolutely delicious Pad Thai, Green and Yellow Curry, and Coconut Curry soup for dinner. VERY fresh and reasonably priced. Highly recommend this wonderful little gem of a restaurant!

Date of visit: March 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank beckyfulcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Surf Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Surf Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing