We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Hawaiian Paradise.. Absolutely Breathtaking”

Review of Sunset Makai Hale

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Koloa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jamie N
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Paradise.. Absolutely Breathtaking”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My boyfriend's family has been renting this amazing home for many years. I was so excited to go with them on their family vacation and kept hearing wonderful things about Kauai. I was sent over photos of the rental home and was in awe. This is exactly what my idea of a vacation looks like. Beach, palm trees, water, and a few cocktails.

I stepped foot into the driveway and was immediately in love. I opened up the front door and took in the beautiful high ceilings, the smell of the Pacific Ocean, and his cousin making Mai Tais. This home is wonderful. We had all ages from 6 months to 84 in the house. It is good for people with kids, couples vacation, or friends looking to enjoy all that Kauai has to offer.

The staff was wonderful and very attentive when we called. Go above and beyond to make you feel like you are home. I was sad to leave after only 6 days because I loved waking up and looking at the palm trees sway in the wind while drinking some coffee to the sound of the ocean waves crashing.

I would recommend this to anyone and I can't wait to go back!

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Backyard was amazing
Liked least: Not enough days to take it all in!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrea B
Seattle
2 reviews
“Best Vacation Rental House - Absolutely Spectacular”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sunset Makai Hale House for a week with our friends, and the house was absolutely fabulous! It was spacious and spotlessly clean! Every room has an adjacent bathroom, which is perfect for group of friends or family to travel together. Not to mention, every room has a stunning view of the ocean, which was incredible to wake up to every morning. The recent updates to the kitchen is definitely a true paradise for guests who love to cook - it is well equipped and functional. We found ourselves spending most of our time cooking a feast, and both indoor and outdoor dining spaces were pleasing and relaxing.

The house is very private and in a quiet area, but it is walking distance to the beach, shopping center, and wonderful restaurants. I would not hesitate recommending this beautiful home to anyone!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan B
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing luxury in paradise”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

What a fantastic property in an excellent Kauai location! Visited Kauai with my wife and several friends, we had the time of our lives. The property is situated in a beautiful waterfront setting, just minutes away from several fantastic beaches. The house itself has a great "island style", and the kitchen was renovated (and beautifully so) just prior to our stay. The house was plenty spacious for our large group, and the patio and pool were a great place to spend our days and nights. Would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a luxurious getaway to beautiful Kauai!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Young N
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Gorgeous home away from home”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Sunset Makai Hale was the perfect place to relax with friends while enjoying the beauties of Kauai. There have been significant remodels and updates to the home that made staying very enjoyable such as: the newly open kitchen and dining area, the beautiful surf board bar table and gave the home a lot of personality, and best of all, the master bathroom shower was incredible with breathtaking views of the ocean. I would definitely recommend everyone to stay at Sunset Makai Hale.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool and hammock by the ocean
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing