We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“2 Condos...Too Fun!!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Koloa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Piotr60
Warsaw, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nihi Kai 831: Stifling Heat, Dishonest Parrish Management”
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and myself have been visiting Kauai each year for almost 25 years. This year we chose Nihi Kai 831 to stay in. Although the decor looked dated in the photos, the view looked beautiful. Due to the construction of the building the temperature in the unit stayed consistently in between 96 and 100 F (36 – 38 C), while outside temperature never exceeded 86 F (30 C). There were no trade winds, just full sun keeping it hot all day. At night when you would expect the temperature to drop, there was no relief. Parrish, the management company, provided a couple of fans but that only blew the hot air around. After 11 days of trying to stick it out, we both felt ill from the unrelenting heat. When we contacted Parrish to resolve the matter, they offered to move us to another unit that was not better and wanted to charge us an additional $ 90 per night on top of the full amount we had already paid for more than 3 weeks.
Parrish said nobody had complained before but I've since read several reviews stating how hot Nihi Kai 831 is.

We've since moved and have lost our full amount paid. They never offered any refund or credit. Parrish was very unsympathetic.

With all we learned the real problem is not with the particular unit. The problem is the Parish communication on it. The unit should not be on the market for the first place. If it is – Parish should clearly and transparently inform potential clients that they will be exposed to extreme temperatures, creating the health hazards due to overheating and dehydration. Should clients accept it – it is fine, but I would certainly go for something else. But there is no word about the hazards on Parish internet offer, I was not informed about it during selection and booking process and not warned even after arrival. In other words – Parish market communication is misleading and not honest.

If you are still going to book through Parish, please note that every place they partially manage, has also other management companies, perhaps smaller, but contrary to Parish friendly, working through weekends and long hours, offering more services and – what is most important – providing honest, transparent information and helping with the proper choice. Go to them to save your vacations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: moving out
Liked least: untrue, dishonest information on the property by the management (Parish)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
Aloha Piotr

We are very sorry you had an uncomfortable stay and chose to leave early rather than allow us to even have a conversation about alternative accommodations. Our listings follow, and in many ways exceed, the industry standard and feel the 15 additional reviews on 831 add different guest perspectives. We agree, there are periods when the trades are not blowing and it gets warm across the island. We cannot argue with that…especially during late summer/really fall when you visited. We did what was within our power to try to make you comfortable and we are sorry it was not enough. You asked to move via email and we sent you a few options and told you to call us to discuss further. Following up that day, we tried you several times on your cell and in the unit to no avail. You chose to end the discussion by checking out early and not giving us the opportunity to help further. I am sure had that call happened, we would have found something that would have worked to mutual benefit. We pride ourselves on being great hosts and are sorry we did not have the opportunity to do that here.

Mahalo, Parrish Kauai
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MidwestKC
Kansas City
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“2 Condos...Too Fun!!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Unfortunately, even renting 7 months out, we still couldn't find side-by-side condos for 4 adults, one 5.6 year old, and twin 18 month olds. BUT, condos 823 and 827 still worked fine!!
827 way larger, so parents and twins each had separate bedrooms. Very large rooms and lanai allowed for lots of play room. Walk to beach was welcome exercise for all, except 5.6 year old!;-)
At night, walked down to find sea turtle on beach. Also saw 2 sea turtles swimming in day time from road; seal monk, etc!
Each had washer/dryers; dishwasher; beach chairs; bought a boogie board. Fireworks on New Year's Eve spectacular from lanai...no need to keep babies up and fight crowds on beach!
827 a little mustier-smelling in 2nd bedroom...no one but Grammy seemed to notice!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LocalGirl...
Kent, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice for a Family!”
Reviewed 29 May 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Three of us stayed: Myself, my husband, and his sister. On some days her friend joined us as well. Nihi Kai is well placed just blocks from Brenneke's and Poipu beaches. Excellent restaurants are nearby, as well as pretty good shopping. The office was not open when we checked in, or when we checked out, but both operations were glitch-free and easy. The pool is well maintained, the room was clean, and the view from this unit is spectacular. The sunsets are amazing. The beds are comfortable, and the washer/dryer stack in the room was a lifesaver. Watch out for the ants though. They were there last year and have not moved. Best bet is to keep garbage in the freezer and be sure to keep all crumbs and spills wiped up. The vanity lights in the bathroom still give off way too much heat. Beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, and other beach stuff is supplied. The unit also has a dishwasher. Lanais on east and west sides give you an outdoor room no matter what time of day. The unit could use some updating though. This is the second time we've been here, and we intend to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The ants.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Reviewed 11 November 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed 25 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: view
Liked least: very clairaudient
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing