We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A beautiful and tranquil oasis. Hands down the...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kilauea, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Make-Time...
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful and tranquil oasis. Hands down the best place to stay in Kuaia”
Reviewed 16 August 2010 for a stay in August 2010

We spent 4 nights in the beautiful Hale Ke Aloha Cottage at Secret Beach. When we booked the cottage, we were a little disappointed because we had wanted to spend 2 of our 4 nights in Kauai at the St. Regis, which was sold out. However; after we arrived, we could not have imagined staying anywhere else. Our cottage is the fourth cottage located within the Secret Beach Hideaway, and is not advertised on the owner's website. It is the closest to the beach, but still a nice hike. The cottage is absolutely beautiful, impeccably clean, and it contained everything you could ever need from beach towels/chairs to a large outside grill. If you like to cook, the kitchen was stocked with spices, All-Clad cookware, utensils and appliances galore. The washer/dryer was also a nice touch.

Having explored the whole island, we found Secret Beach to perfectly situated and very central to all sites.

What we loved most about the Secret Beach is that it felt like our home, and not at all like a hotel. It was utterly private and peaceful. And the brilliance of the star filled sky was breathtaking.

Hands down this is one of the coolest places I have ever stayed and I would highly recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlcbos
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“The Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 18 May 2010 for a stay in April 2010

We wisely spent all 10 days of our Honeymoon at Hale Lani and wouldn't have done it any differently. The house, amenities, grounds, location, and service created a luxuriously peaceful, relaxing, and romantic getaway from the stress and hectic pace of our normal lives. The house has everything you need to feel at home, and the views and landscaping are incredible. It is obvious that Michele and company put a great deal of thought and care into this property. We traveled all over the island and explored several beaches, but we both agreed that Secret beach was, by far, our favorite. Princeville and Hanalei are a quick 10-15 minute drive and have excellent restaurants and shopping. You get the peace and quiet of a private, isolated home with the convenience of a resort just a quick drive away. Don't hesitate to book this place. Well worth the money.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jodyandme...
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Absolutely Amazing!”
Reviewed 18 January 2010 for a stay in September 2009

Doesn't get any better! The cottage was superb, well stocked with every amenity imaginable. The grounds were manicured beyond belief with easy to walk trails leading to the best beach in the world! Along the trail we enjoyed flowers, fruit trees and tropical foilage in abundance. The cottage and property offered amazing views of the ocean and the mountains. Only a short drive north to Hanalei town where our favorite coffee shop and seafood resturantare located. We had a private wedding on Secret Beach just below the property that made for the best wedding photo's you've ever seen:) We savored bananna waffles and coffee each morning, sampled beaches all over the island and were always happy to return to the best place on the island... Secret Beach Hideaway! Highly Recommended! Jody and Mesha Jobe

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randymac8...
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Place I Have Ever Stayed”
Reviewed 20 November 2009 for a stay in October 2009

Truly, this was the most spectacular place I have ever stayed. We stayed at Hale Nanea for 5 nights and everything was absolutely spectacular. We felt so special staying there, it was our own little slice of paradise. The North Shore of Kauai treated us so right, and we were so happy to not be down south where all of the resorts are. A sincerely amazing experience we will never, ever forget. I look forward to the day we return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KansasTra...
Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Back again and still the best ever place to stay!”
Reviewed 16 November 2009 for a stay in October 2009

My wife and I came back to Hale Lani for a second time. It had been a few years. After a year in planning we were so excited to finally celebrate a big anniversary there. We have traveled throughout the US and overseas to England, Italy, Germany and other great places, and we have not found such a unique and wonderful location to stay as Secret Beach Hideaway. I was worried. We had such a great experience the first time, I was fearful something would be wrong and memories of our first trip would be tarnished. Far from it. Another GREAT trip. What a marvelous place to stay. We can not wait to go back for a third time.

The staff is so friendly and helpful starting from when we made our reservation to checking on us while we were there. The villa has been well taken care of. The interior was decorated nicely and well furnished. The exterior was beautiful with the plush, colorful landscaping. We had some happy hours on the bluff north of the house. We could see the ocean in front of us, watch the sun set to our left and view the mountains behind us and landscaping all around us. Amazing views from one spot.

When we landed at the airport, we stopped at a grocery store and bought items for a few dinners in and lunches on the beach, The kitchen had everything that we needed. We used the grill as well. The villa is very secluded. A small building on a vast amount of landscaped land. It gets dark out. Really dark. You can see sooo many stars. The hot tub is a great place to see the stars from. On the way up to the villa, in Kapaa, we stopped at a Blockbuster and rented a few movies. Although the nice television had cable, we figured we would make use of the DVD player this trip. This year, we also used the beach chairs and beach mat provided at the villa. The walk down to the beach is long but worth it. The beach was very quiet. Not a lot of people, which was great. We sat in the chairs, talked, read books and had lunch. The walk back up is a little more work. The heat was quickly washed away in the outdoor shower. Love that amenity. We do not read much at home. Mostly work related items. This trip is our chance to read a book or two. We would get up in the morning and read out on the lani, that looks down through a valley out to the ocean. The mornings that we were there, dew would be on the chairs that made them wet. We put towels on the chairs the night before so that they would be dry in the morning. If you are looking for crowded pools and noisy neighbors, this is not the place for you. Resorts have their benefits, but they also have negatives. Out first trip, we stayed at Hale Lani for a few days and then finished the trip at a resort to get that experience too. Worked out ok. This time, we mostly stayed at Hale Lani.

We did sneak out. The nearby Fish Market was great for lunch. Bring a bottle of wine. They will let you use a corkscrew and have wine glasses waiting to be used. The Lighthouse Bistro is right nearby as well and was very good! If you do not mind the drive, another worth it venture is the Beach House in Poi Pou! Make a reservation just before sunset. Great view! And get the macadamia encrusted Mahi-Mahi! And the watermelon salad.

We can not say enough about this amazing place that allowed us to relax, hang out together away from the hustle of work, kids and other people. We recommend this location to our family and friends and to you. We hope to be back again and again to re-live this experience. So, don't take our next dates :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing