We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Kilauea Point National Wildlife Refuge
from USD 300.62
More Info
from USD 155.21
More Info
Reviews (827)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
542
194
39
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
542
194
39
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea birds red footed boobies light house bird watching free binoculars lighthouse tour parks pass state bird crashing waves pair of binoculars lighthouse area see whales entry fee birds flying nene geese restored lighthouse small museum
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

For anyone who enjoys bird watching and natural beauty, this place should be on your list. There are visible colonies of birds and likely opportunities to observe whales during winter. The lighthouse is striking and you can pay extra for a tour. We saw lots of soaring frigate birds among others. Bring you cameta and binoculars.

Thank spokinword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Iconic Kilauea Point Lighthouse is a must see when visiting Kauai. Bring your camera, wear comfortable walking shoes/sandals. Learn the historical history behind the lighthouse. You can see thousands of seabirds resting on the cliff. It’s a great location for photography.

Thank SeattleBoraBora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrive 15 minutes before the park was closing, but that was plenty of time to make the very short walk up the paved path to see the light house and enjoy the refuge.

There is a fee for admission, but if you have a national park pass you are covered. There is a nice bookstore/gift shop with some nice things for the kids.

Thank patmM2269DO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really enjoyed the tour. The wildlife there is so cool. We stayed almost 2 hours, the weather was perfect and could see for miles.

Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We didn't intend on going to Kilauea Lighthouse, but we had some free time to burn and thought why not?

We drove to the lighthouse and got there at 10:40am. For some reason, the place was closed despite having a 10am opening time. There were numerous cars parked outside the gates where you can view the lighthouse from a distance. The views from here were great! We were about to leave, not knowing when it was going to open, when an old guy came and let everyone in.

The cars poured into the place and the entry kiosk quickly had a long line. I advise bringing cash, because it takes 3 minutes to process each credit card and there is only one machine! The line was LONG, probably because they opened so late! Luckily we had cash so we didn't wait too long.

And what gives with the price? I had read that it was $5 per person by many recent reviews, but the price is now $10 per person! I was close to not bothering, knowing we wouldn't be there too long, but since we were there we decided to go.

As expected, we browsed the gift shop, admired some of the admittedly nice views of the shore, snapped a few photos of the lighthouse, then left. It all probably took 30 minutes as there really is nothing to do there except take a few photos.

For $10 per person, it seemed a waste of money. I could accept $5 as a reasonable price, but $10 was a rip off for what you got. You can see the lighthouse from the free parking before the gate without paying anything. I would do that if I could take it back, as the lighthouse is nothing particularly special. While there are nice views, you could say the same thing about the entire island, so it's nothing unique.

Thank AndrewK508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped on a Sunday, when the best access was closed. But, great views from the parking area at the gate. Lighthouse is pretty cool, too.

2  Thank J-from-Marysville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Home of most Treasured Ne Ne's . This is a super special place and a must see!!!! Take your camera's

Thank 55Mickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you like beautiful coastal vistas, this is the place! You can use your National Parks pass and get in for free too.

1  Thank DFH1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not only can you see Red Footed Boobies, Albatross, and other birds, you can now tour the inside of the lighthouse. Tours are limited to 10 at a time and start on the 1/2 hour, ie 11:30, 12:30 etc. It costs $10 per person unless you have a Golden Eagle National Parks pass, then you entire carload is free.

1  Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

Easy to get to, gorgeous views, but only go on a nice day to get the full effect of the cliffs, crashing waves on the rocks, wildlife, shoreline views, etc.

1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews