We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (261)
Filter reviews
261 results
Traveller rating
162
66
13
10
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
66
13
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroad noisebeach chairsshell gas stationthe kitchenacross the streetcrashing surfwasher and dryerbrick oven pizzasnorkel gearentire condocondo locationnorth shoremy wife and i have stayedrental processcleaning suppliesenjoying the viewprivate lanai
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 261 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2015 via mobile

All of these condo units are INDIVIDUALLY AND PRIVATELY OWNED...so different owners manage their properties as they see fit. Some are better than others. The owners of 206 did an outstanding job in making their unit clean, comfortable and very well-supplied!

The basics of the unit:
One bedroom, full kitchen, bathroom, living room, washer & dryer, cable, wifi, balcony with view of beach, walking distance to beach.

Air conditioning unit is in the bedroom, and has difficulty cooling the whole unit. I think some people are comfortable just opening all the windows, but it was a bit hot for us.

Details:
The owners included
Laundry detergent, cooking utensils, toaster, coffee maker, snorkel gear, beach chairs, coolers, boogie boards, sun hats, beach towels, flashlight, bug spray, iron/board, Walmart shopping bags (because they charge for them here) and much more!

The beach:
It is mostly good for viewing the ocean from the sand or surfing. The water is too choppy for snorkeling, and pretty rough for kids. There are other beaches more suited for regular swimming and snorkeling within 10-30 minute drives, depending where you want to go.

The property also has a nice swimming pool, with grills for cookouts.

The locale:
The little area around the property is pretty boring. Most shops are closed, under construction, or just questionable food places. There are a couple nice restaurants, but don't confine yourself to this area. A five minute drive north will get you to a nice end of town with more choices.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Koogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2015

Thank you for your review of the Wailua Bay View and condo #206 which our vacation rental agency manages. We are glad you found the condo very clean, comfortable, and stocked with everything you wanted. We stock all our condos at the Wailua Bay View with over 100 items we have learned make visitors feel right at home.
We hope you were able to check out Lydgate Park, less than a mile away, which is one of Kauai's best family-friendly beaches. We hope to see you back at the Wailua Bay View again soon.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2015 via mobile

This is my first stay in a condo and it worked out perfectly. We booked through VRBO and the owner was very attentive and quick to respond to my many questions. The location of this property is great because you are close to the airport and many restaurants and shops. You are also pretty central making it easy to drive NW to Hanalei or SW to Waimea. The pool was very nice with lovely plants around it, in fact the landscaping around the whole property is very nice. It was also neat being a couple minutes walk to a beach. It was very convenient to be able to easily park right in front of our unit.

I loved having a washer and dryer, coffee maker, dishwasher and basically all the comforts of home. It made the vacation so much more enjoyable. After a day of being a tourist it was great to relax at "home". Making breakfast and coffee and relaxing on the lanai was the best way to start the day.

If we are lucky enough to make it back to Kauai I would definitely stay here again. It really helped keep the stress levels of traveling to a minimum.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Beckasdream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2015

My wife and I have stayed here twice now - Feb. 2014 and June 2015.
Both stays were amazing - Great views from the lanai and Crystal (owner ) is the best!
Plenty of gear for beach, swim and play available at condo. Full kitchen with all the fixins and king size bed. Will fit 4 people ( pull out couch) but the best for couples.
Pool was great, views were amazing. Would go back right now if I could

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2015 via mobile

It was our first time in Kauai and I must say this was the best Hawaiian vacation. We stayed at the Wailua Bay View #204. I was very pleased with the condo and the owner, Chuck. He responded to all of our inquiries about the condo promptly. The condo was beautiful, clean, and nicely remodeled (exactly how you see it I the pics). We will definitely be back...

Jeanette

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Jeanette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Overall very happy with our stay here. Would likely come back here if staying near Kapaa.
Our initial impression was a little weak. Hot, noisy, pretty basic amenities. We had stayed in a top notch home rental the week before so the comparison was harsh. After a day though, we really settled in and enjoyed our stay. Ocean was still loud, street not too bad, decided against the air conditioner. Just setup windows and overhead fans to let the breeze glide through.
Every night from adventuring, I enjoyed watching the fishermen do there thing.
Watched surfers, wind surfers, body boarders regularly. Even a spear fisherman for a few hours.
No bugs. Grilled one night on clean grills.
This is not for resort people. It's a different lifestyle than that. Great homebase.
Could be fancier with more condiments and such, but we liked it.
No elevators, so haul luggage up to 3rd floor. OK for us, but maybe not for some.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 09-13. These are farther from the street. All have good views of water.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scooky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2015

Mahalo for your review of the Wailua Bay View. I am not sure if you are staying in one of the condos our vacation rental agency manages, but glad to hear you are very happy and would return again. The views really are superb and that is great that you have been able to watch fisherman, surfers, windsurfers, and more from your private lanai.

We hope to see you back at the Wailua Bay View again soon!

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews