We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cottage !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fern Grotto Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fern Grotto Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

we loved the river cottage we stayed in roomy and breezy...we slept soo well, nice beach towels provided as well as all cooking utencils and a nice selection of cable tv. we loved eating at the lemon grass grill the best our whole honeymoon, try it!!! great location you can hear the ocean and birds and breeze...tucked away but close to Kapa'a...we loved the view of the stars and the baby lizard in our cottage...the huge toads outside were really great too...Paul is very nice, thanks Paul we loved staying at your cottages!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinmngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    58
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
74
272
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We stayed in the CoCo Cottage and it was more than incredible. Spacious, comfortable, well decorated, and unique. We are Las Vegas performers and this was exactly what we needed. Much better than a hotel! Centrally located so all parts of the island were accessible and it is only 10-15 min from airport. Made arriving and leaving super easy and convenient! Can't recommend this place enough. Will definitely return!

Willis, Las Vegas

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed in the River cottage at Fern Grotto Inn for a week. Paul was very welcoming and helpful, given we had arrived without a reservation on a Sunday afternoon! The cottage was lovely. Ours had plenty of space, a large kitchen with some cooking essentials, plenty of light, good shower, cosy bed and couch - it was a nice change from expensive and boring hotel rooms.
Fern Grotto is an excellent place to stay for those wishing to access both the north and south of the island. We wished to walk the Canyon walk and the Na Pali coast. We originally thought we would stay in Po'Ipu and Hanalei but this was a great base. Plus there are a few really good eateries in Kapaa. I will definately go there again.

Room Tip: The River Cottage was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fishkill, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We spent a long weekend. Spent one night in Garden Cottage and 2 nights in Canal A. They were both nice but Garden was our favorite! Very clean and well stocked. Paul was very helpful. Would highly recommend and hope to visit again. Beautiful setting.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ellen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

We found Fern Grotto Inn by chance, doing a web search for places to stay on Kauai. We were going to paradise to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, and we weren't interested in a resort, with all of the bells and whistles (not to mention the mass of vacationers). We wanted something private and secluded. That's what you get at the Fern Grotto Inn! Calling it an Inn is somewhat misleading, because it's really 5 individual vacation cottages, four that have full kitchens. From the moment we entered the Garden Cottage, we were entranced. Fern Grotto Inn is the kind of place that if you didn't know exactly how to get there, you wouldn't be able to find it. There is no sign, and when you do finally drive into the driveway, it just looks like you are coming home. What a nice way to vacation! Paul, the owner/manager greeted us in the driveway after I called him to ask if I was indeed in the right place, and escorted us to our cottage. What a wonderful place. Very clean, decorated in soft colors, windows everywhere to collect the breeze and scent of the flowers. The "Inn" itself is very quiet (except for the every present crowing of the indigenous roosters!), and is a block from the beach. You do need to be aware that this beach does not have life guards. The nearest guarded beach is about 15 minutes away. The water was calm during our visit, so we did not hesitate to swim there. Beach chairs, coolers etc are provided for your use, but some of it is old and falling apart. Very nice beach towels are also provided. The Inn is across from the old Coco Palms Hotel, once the premiere destination of the rich and famous (Blue Hawaii with Elvis was filmed there), and there is a book in the room explaining the significance of this old and historic landmark, unfortunately destroyed by a hurricane in 1992. The town of Kapaa is just a short drive up the road, in fact any destination you would want to see on Kauai is not a long trip as the island is small, and Fern Grotto Inn is centrally located. There is no daily room service, so you are pretty much left to enjoy the peace and quiet of the setting without interruptions. Truly a home away from home. If you desire a vacation that allows you to just do nothing, cook your own meals if you are so inclined, and just unwind without an agenda, then this is the place for you. We did renew our wedding vows on the beach a block from the Inn, and are extremely thankful that we found this little piece of Hawaiian Heaven!

Room Tip: Go directly to the Fern Grotto Inn website to reserve your room, not one of the "hotel" si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelsbycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fern Grotto Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Grotto Inn

Property: Fern Grotto Inn
Address: 4561 Kuamoo Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price range (per night): $321 - $604
Hotel Class:3 star — Fern Grotto Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are centrally located in the perfect spot for exploring the whole island of Kauai. Just ten minutes north of the airport, the property is on the banks of the Wailua River, a few minutes from the heart of Kapaa town, walking distance to beaches and family parks. We are nestled in Hawaii's largest coconut grove in the shadow of Sleeping Giant Mountain with easy access to hiking and kayaking. We are only a block from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fern Grotto Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fern Grotto Hotel Kapaa
Fern Grotto Inn Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing