We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in Kapaa” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waipouli Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great stay in Kapaa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

This is a beautiful resort which is well maintained and roomy. The pool area is excellent and includes a large swimming area and two small waterslides (and hot tubs). The units are very modern and the decor is beautiful.

Note that we had a room that faced the road and we would recommend trying to get a side room, pool room or a room facing the ocean as they would have less road noise (as the complex is very close to the road). Safeway is very close, which makes it really handy to get food and to save on going out to eat. The Oasis restaurant in the resort is very nice and we would recommend it - one nice feature is that it has half portions available.

One item which should be noted to the management is that the barbeques heat is very low and they should be cleaned in order to increase the cooking time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wicket2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    809
    355
    95
    52
    28
See reviews for
673
463
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger Waipouli Resort in March of 2010 in a 2-bedroom condo. Had a wonderful stay and thought the hotel grounds/rooms/amentiites were great.

Pros:
-thought location was great, there is a supermarket right across the street for you to stock the kitchen
-parking is plentiful and free
-the condo is very modern and luxurious, high-end appliances in kitchen, mahogany wood throughout and luxurious/spacious bathrooms
-entire resort very clean and well kept
-staff very friendly, no complaints about service
-great pool -- it's not too big but felt it was just the right size for the resort

Cons:
-Dining options at the resort is limited but again you have a gourmet kitchen at your fingertips so can't really complain about this

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank llee249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Booked for eight days through travel agent. Arrived before check-in time and room was ready at 3p as advertised. Kitchens are well equipped and modern, bedrooms comfortable. Air conditioning was not working the first evening creating an uncomfortable first night, but was repaired promptly the next morning at 8a with no further issues. Also had a dishwasher issue but again promptly repaired. Overall visit was enjoyable. The location is centrally located between the north shore and east shore. Safeway, Longs Drugs, and ABC Store across the street. Oasis Restaurant on site was convienent. May want to ask for room away from snack bar area and on upper floors to avoid evening noise. I'd come back to revisit again.

Room Tip: Poolside, upper floors away from snack bar and restaurant will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sgoudeseun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

just returned home from a lovely time on Kauai and a wonderful experience at the Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort! Everything we could have imagined and more. The staff was so friendly, attentive and really shared the "aloha spirit" with us. We had gorgeous views of the mountains~it rained pretty hard one day we were there and we saw a waterfall from the mountain. Everything in the unit was there, such a gourmet kitchen and nice furnishings.
We are now home in our 25 year old home and our old countertops just missing our time on Kauai. We had looked at a few other options before booking and are so glad we booked through the Outrigger! We will return...
WPorter

Room Tip: Outrigger was very accomodating and offered us a couple of room choices. We were in D building a pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wporter3755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Having separate bedrooms made our week long stay great. The kids had their area and we had ours. The room was gorgeous and very spacious. Loved the full table on the balcony to enjoy the outside. The pool area was amazing and even had grills for the guests. We had a lovely dinner party for 20 people on the pool deck one night.

The hotel is central to everything. The 24 hour Kroger was directly across the street and was great for cooking in the full kitchen. Also a great place to take the three year old when she wakes up at 2 am local tine after arriving from the east coast.

Only complaints were that the knives in the kitchen were so dull we ended buying new ones. Also, there wasn't a quick restaurant to get lunch. There is a very nice restaurant on property but not kind of place to take kids with wet bathing suits.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jason1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price range (per night): $319 - $622
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing