We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation at Meli Meli”
Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We traveled from Boston for our first trip to Hawaii. 17 Palms in Kapaa, Kauai was our first choice, and we are extremely glad that we chose this fantastic, perfect sized cottage in a great central location for experiencing as much of this island as possible. We were fortunate enough to be able to spend 2 weeks at Meli Meli. Jeff and Ross were tremendous hosts, who in addition to providing outstanding service at the cottage, helped us to absolutely make the most of our time there.
The cottage is beautiful and charming and has a real tropical feel, as it is nestled among palm trees and other fruit bearing trees. The space is immaculate and has pretty much any amenity you could want or need. If there is something that they do not have, let Jeff and Ross know and they will almost certainly make it happen. The super comfortable bed in the master bedroom should not go unmentioned. The Island speaks for itself with it's endless list adventures and activities. But if you really want some great local insight and advice Jeff and Ross are always more than happy to share their ideas and experiences with you.
We absolutely, highly recommend vacationing at Meli Meli (17 Palms), and we fully intend on coming back. Aloha from chili Boston Ma.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank jeannine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017

We loved our stay at Hale Iki Cottage. The location is perfect for exploring the island by car and also for walking to lots of good eating options. Easy off street parking and quiet at night. The cottage is perfectly set up for relaxing, self catering and walking to the nearby beach. And Ross and Jeff are a wealth of local knowledge and always available to answer any questions. We will be back for a longer visit next time.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Akurafarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

Hale Iki is the ideal cottage for those who want a well-appointed place which delights the eye and soul, ensconced in a setting of palm trees and greenery! We were truly amazed at Jeff's attention to detail in all of the cottage's wonderful décor and sense of life! We only wished we had booked a longer stay. Within walking distance of great restaurants and shops. The lanai was superb for sitting and enjoying the lush greenery. The little enclosed outdoor table, grill and laundry facilities topped it all off. What a truly wonderful place!

Room Tip: This is a small cottage so this question does not apply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DDKeener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Excellent location for exploring all the corners of Kaui. We valued being walking distance to the beach for sunrises or quick evening strolls as well as having numerous tasty food options within walking distance of the cottage (korean bbq, acai bowls, yum!). Jeff and Ross had so many excellent food recommendations in their welcome binder that we ran out of time to try them all. We like to travel off the beaten path and value our independence, so we appreciated having dedicated parking, self check-in and check-out, a current Kauai travel guide to borrow, laundry in the unit, and access to beach equipment we could bring along for our day trips. Not to mention that we booked this with less than 1 week notice after our plans fell through in the BVI (one of our bucket list locations, decimated by hurricane Irma). Highly recommended and a great value!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Meli Meli cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank brown_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We stayed in the Hale Iki cottage on the property and it was ideal. Lush garden, adorable, somewhat kitschy decor, Scrabble, and all that we needed to call it home away from home. Jeff was a star host

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.9 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,394 reviews
0.2 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
23.8 km away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
1 km away
Fern Grotto Inn
Fern Grotto Inn
#1 of 15 in Kapaa
450 reviews
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Kauai Wailua Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $466 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, live music, coffee roaster, farmer's market, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing