We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Pied-a-terre in Paradise”
Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

I highly recommend 17 Palms Kauai if you are looking for more private cozy lodging, apart from the typical resort experience, yet still want to be centrally located and close to good food, shopping and the beach. The furnishings are tasteful. And, although the cottages are fairly basic, they are clean, well organized and you will not lack for anything. When they say, just bring your clothes, they aren't kidding. Within walking distance is everything you will need, so it is up to you how far you go. We were particular happy to have so many good restaurants within walking distance. I highly recommend the Mai Tai's at Monico's, and the fish burritos and tacos at The Fish Hut. We just loved walking back from dinner and spending a relaxing evening on the porch, playing Scrabble, or planning the next day's adventure from the guide books, all provided. We stayed at the smaller Hale Iki as we planned to just use it as a Pied-a-terre for our daily adventures. But we found ourselves looking forward to coming back to the cottage every evening.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was the PERFECT place to stay on the island of Kauai. It is centrally located making it easy to travel to both sides of the island. The grounds are lovely and private. I stayed in the Hale Iki cottage which was exceptional in every way. Jeff & Ross accounted for EVERYTHING - every need was supplied from beach towels, beach bags, beach gear, fully equipped kitchen, wireless internet, toiletries, even a cell phone charger. I was overwhelmed by their thoughtfulness and attention to detail. The cottage was extremely clean and preciously decorated. You couldn't ask for more. I will definitely return to 17 Palms and I highly recommend making this choice as your place to stay on the island. Next time I will pack much lighter and stay more days! Mahalo Jeff & Ross for making my long awaited vacation perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surrender1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great choice for a private cottage with attention to detail. They really have thought of everything. The entire property was well kept and immaculate. Looking forward to my return!

Room Tip: Hale Iki is PERFECT for a single traveler, and would easily accommodate 2 people comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We just loved it. As luck and timing would have it, we were fortunate enough to be able to stay in both cottages during our two weeks in September. We arrived at Hale Iki and stayed for eight nights before moving to the other side of the garden for five nights in Meli Meli. Our first week we did not rent a car. This was by design, as we had decided on this choice to save money and resources and generally give us a break from our daily routines, which include lots of driving. You can rent bikes nearby...the ride up the coastal path was magical. You can walk to some great restaurants in the neighborhood. The ocean is just right over there...and sunrises are free. We walked to the Oasis on the Beach bar up the road a ways, and we walked to Wailua River Guides where we took a guided tour of one of the most beautiful places on our planet. After a week free from driving we got the car and our experience was heightened to a new level. The island has so much to offer. I have read all of these reviews and I can't say anything that hasn't been said before about the cottages. They are clean, comfortable, safe and affordable. No, it's not a luxury resort and that is why we love it. It is our new home away from home. Our paradise and retreat from the realities we create for ourselves in Midwest America. Yes, we will return to Kauai and we will make our next plans around the availability of 17 Palms, most likely. It's just one of those places that you will want to return to.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FGLodging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A perfect place to relax and unwind. Great location-next to the beach, restaurants, and shops. Centrally located on the island, which made day trips easier. Such attention to every detail in the cottage-from beach gear, to a well equiped kitchen. Would come again, and would highly recommended to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
4.9 km away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,394 reviews
10.8 km away
Garden Island Inn Hotel
23.8 km away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.2 km away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
72 reviews
1 km away
Fern Grotto Inn
Fern Grotto Inn
#1 of 15 in Kapaa
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $468 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, live music, coffee roaster, farmer's market, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing