We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (346)
Filter reviews
346 results
Traveller rating
308
31
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
308
31
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmeli melihale ikithe cottagesbedroom cottageboogie boardswithin walking distancethought of everythingexcellent hostsbeautiful cottagehome away from homethe kitchenbeach chairsshort drivekorean bbqlocal beachevery amenitypassion bakery
Filter
Updating list...
257 - 262 of 346 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2011

This was the PERFECT place to stay on the island of Kauai. It is centrally located making it easy to travel to both sides of the island. The grounds are lovely and private. I stayed in the Hale Iki cottage which was exceptional in every way. Jeff & Ross accounted for EVERYTHING - every need was supplied from beach towels, beach bags, beach gear, fully equipped kitchen, wireless internet, toiletries, even a cell phone charger. I was overwhelmed by their thoughtfulness and attention to detail. The cottage was extremely clean and preciously decorated. You couldn't ask for more. I will definitely return to 17 Palms and I highly recommend making this choice as your place to stay on the island. Next time I will pack much lighter and stay more days! Mahalo Jeff & Ross for making my long awaited vacation perfect in every way.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surrender1061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Great choice for a private cottage with attention to detail. They really have thought of everything. The entire property was well kept and immaculate. Looking forward to my return!

Room Tip: Hale Iki is PERFECT for a single traveler, and would easily accommodate 2 people comfortably.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We just loved it. As luck and timing would have it, we were fortunate enough to be able to stay in both cottages during our two weeks in September. We arrived at Hale Iki and stayed for eight nights before moving to the other side of the garden for five nights in Meli Meli. Our first week we did not rent a car. This was by design, as we had decided on this choice to save money and resources and generally give us a break from our daily routines, which include lots of driving. You can rent bikes nearby...the ride up the coastal path was magical. You can walk to some great restaurants in the neighborhood. The ocean is just right over there...and sunrises are free. We walked to the Oasis on the Beach bar up the road a ways, and we walked to Wailua River Guides where we took a guided tour of one of the most beautiful places on our planet. After a week free from driving we got the car and our experience was heightened to a new level. The island has so much to offer. I have read all of these reviews and I can't say anything that hasn't been said before about the cottages. They are clean, comfortable, safe and affordable. No, it's not a luxury resort and that is why we love it. It is our new home away from home. Our paradise and retreat from the realities we create for ourselves in Midwest America. Yes, we will return to Kauai and we will make our next plans around the availability of 17 Palms, most likely. It's just one of those places that you will want to return to.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FGLodging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

A perfect place to relax and unwind. Great location-next to the beach, restaurants, and shops. Centrally located on the island, which made day trips easier. Such attention to every detail in the cottage-from beach gear, to a well equiped kitchen. Would come again, and would highly recommended to anyone looking for a quiet place to relax.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

We found the location of the 17 Palms Kauai to be perfect for the active visitor. We love exploring and this location allowed us to travel north and south easily vs being isolated. It is perfectly situated within walking distance of nice restaurants (The Eastside and Kintaro). The cottage itself was very well appointed, every detail carefully executed. The beach is 2 minutes away. Our hosts made sure everything was accommodated and even after we left, followed up to ensure we enjoyed our visit. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HollyC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews