We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great morning trip”

Rainbow Kayak Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Rainbow Kayak Tours/Ancient River Kayak is an all inclusive quality, guided tour company. Safety is our #1 priority along with exceptional customer service and an unforgettable experience with your guide. Thomas and Aaron have been guiding since 2004 and Davey & Andy since 2008. We have an amazing team which also includes our customer service department. When contacting us via phone or email, you will either speak with Kelly, Val, Bonnie, Brittany or Gayle. They will make you feel welcome when you visit our shop and check-in for your kayak tour. We are also partners with Kayak Adventures and Ancient River Kayak.Description of our property: Our shop is located in the Islander Shops behind Coconut Marketplace in Kapaa. We are located next to Aston Islander on the Beach Resort, The Snorkel Depot and Tree's Lounge. The Snorkel Depot is adjacent to our shop. We have everything you need for the beach: snorkel gear, beach chairs, boogie boards and much more!
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
1 review
“a great morning trip”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Bobby was the best! Great instructor as well as an excellent guide. Beautiful trip with a fun albeit muddy hike. However, this is what you expect in one of the rainiest places on the earth. You end up seeing the not so secret, but beautiful, waterfall. Expect to work a little, but it is all sooo worth it. Mahalo!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank riotricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Aloha Riotricky,
Simple, awesome review. Bobby rocks! The mud is therapeutic, people pay big money to have it on their body. All part of the trip, no extra charge. Unfortunately we are going into the summer month when its a dry walk in the Wailua State park. We look forward to our next muddy winter season. Its all part of the adventure.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    48
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsend
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely awesome!!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Aaron and Kevin are so much fun! Had a rather large group of us to deal with and we had a blast. The kayak up the river was fun and the hike to the secret falls was beautiful. We swam, and although it was cold at 1st, it was so worth it. Lunch was provided and it was really good. I highly recommend this tour, you will not be disappointed! Hi from your Montana friends (all 15 of us). :)

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Luvmyboys4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Aloha Lovemyboys4,
Crazy... you are the third person from your party to write an excellent review from that day. Kevin and i had such a blast. We are doing very well. Look forward to next years family outing on the Garden Isle. Thanks for posting your review.
Aaron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great Kayak Trip”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My family and I went on one of your Kayak trips on April 4 up the Wailua River. We had a great time. The location and experience was wonderful. Best of all was our guide, Davey Jones! His experience, knowledge of the islands history and general overview of what to expect was fantastic. He made the day a great one. If you can, I highly recommend Davey as a guide, you will definitely enjoy all of his valuable insights about the Island of Kauai!!

Thanks
Eric

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Aloha Eric R,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
1 review
“We had an incredibly memorable experience on this kayak adventure!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

As a part of our week-long trip in Kauai we decided to have an adventure with Rainbow Kayak Tours. Bobby was our guide for the afternoon, and he was very thorough in his instructions, knowledge of the area and just plain making the trip really fun! The kayak ride was pleasant for my husband and myself, somewhat of a work-out, but not too much at all. We enjoyed the hike to the "Secret Falls" where Bobby was gracious to climb over rocks and water to take pictures of my husband under the falls. The picnic lunch was fabulous, especially the pineapple. We met some wonderful people and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. We would highly recommend this as an attraction in Kauai!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tamara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Aloha Tamara,
Glad to hear you had an all time experience. Bobby holds it down.. over and over again. We are stoked the two of you benefited from what he had to offer, and most of all had a safe, fun trip. Mahalo for taking the time to write a review for Bobby.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
1 review
“Best tour of the trip”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Both my parents, boyfriend and i went on the kayak day tour. I absolutly loved it! The tour guide was amazing at helping my parents get through the kayaking and hiking (neither are very "outdoorsy") This isn't a rough trip ment for people that run marathons in there spare time however you are kayaking 2 miles, hiking two miles then kayaking two miles back. The guide goes at your pace and really motivates and helps you the whole way esp if this isn't an everyday thing for you. The hike was BEAUTIFUL and the lunch provided was much better then expected. WEAR WATER SHOES! NOT FLIP FLOPS. I wore the sandals that strap on that can get wet yet are stable enough to hike in. Best $20 spent at walmart ever!!! You walk across a river, knee/butt high water while holding onto a rope, if your shoes arn't strapped on they will come off yet tennis shoes after that would be wet and no fun to hike in. Invest in proper shoes at walmart if you don't have some already. Anyway, the day I did this was one of the best days in Hawaii. Also ask your guide questions! we loaded him with questions, and ended up getting GREAT recomendations for the rest of our trip which was very helpful.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RainbowKayakTours, Guide at Rainbow Kayak Tours, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Aloha Aaron D,
Great review. It is all about the footwear. No one has ever regretted having great footwear. The opposite can't be said for poor footwear. Stoked your family enjoyed the trip. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. We have lots more great tips to give. Mahalo.
Rainbow Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rainbow Kayak Tours also viewed

 

Been to Rainbow Kayak Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing