We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
142
60
29
26
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
60
29
26
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews female dorm the kitchen rooftop terrace mixed room bus stop common areas quiet hours laid back wake up bike path every morning restaurants and shops ocean view grocery store north shore hostel sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

I cannot give high enough praise for this restaurant. They seated us quickly at a table with an unobstructed spectacular view of the ocean, where we were invited to walk out onto the lawn less than 10 feet from our table, overlooking the waves crashing onto the beach. We had our own entertainment as we watched a couple surfers make the best of some challenging choppy waters. Our waiter had an excellent sense of humor, gave us recommendations we requested which were perfect. The calamari and ceviche were among the best we have had anywhere. The friendly Hawaiian aloha spirit allowed us to connect with another family visiting from the mainland. We had some pictures taken while waiting for our meal and created a memory my wife and I will cherish forever. The waiter made us feel like this was 'our' restaurant rather than theirs. He reminded us of one of the comedians on Whose Line is it Anyway. Can't wait to return again someday.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Theo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Aloha, but this is a restaurant, Our island name Kauai is not in their name.

Our name is the Kauai Beach House, or the Kauai Beach House Hostel located right on the Pacific Ocean directly in front of the Blue Lagoon in Kapaa Town on the Islas of Kauai in Hawaii.

Mahalo / Thanks,

Leota. 808-652-8162 or 64

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Amazing location, great people and they try hard to make the hostel clean and the staff is really helpful! They help you find the best experience in Kauai. Beautiful view on the sea, magnificent rooftop terrace!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank MM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed in the Aloha private room with AC. We had stayed in several hostels many years ago but this one was the cleanest ever. They were cleaning the kitchen, bathrooms, and the common areas all the time. You can meet people from all over the world here The best view of the ocean on their rooftop. They have quiet time at night for the upper part of the hostel which is nice because some hostels can be very loud. Everyone was friendly and helpful. The cheapest place we could find in that area. If you are traveling on a shoestring stay in the dorm rooms, very cheap but of course not much privacy.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Aloha David, Mahalo / Thanks for the very nice review, it is really important to us that guests notice just how hard our staff works keeping the Kauai BeacH House Hostel so clean. I'll be sure to show them your review.

We hope that Kauai was as terrific as you've heard about it.

We have heard of a tour company starting up that is all born and raised Kauai people running the tours for real insider places to see and things to do.

We hope our guests will be able to complement their stay at the Kauai BeacH House Hostel with really cool island wide tours and activities.

We welcome you to visit Kauai again and choose to spend your stay at the Kauai BeacH House Hostel as your base camp for further exploring and enjoying all that Kauai has to offer.

Again Mahalo / Thank you,

Trak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

it was great to stay, the rooms are extraordinary but comfortable, the staff is helpfull and friendly. The location is central for visiting the whole island. It is great to have a kitchen an the view from the roof is extraordinary.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Aloha to our guest, and thank you for staying with us, Yes we feel the same about the extraordinary elements at the Kauai Beach House Hostel and not a day goes by without that good feeling multiplied by the 4 large deck views of the whale watching blue lagoon including the 3rd floor 1200 sq. ft. deck make the views even better; and let's not forget the surrounding mountain views.

You know you are sure welcome to come stay with us again, in fact the Ilsand of Kauai would like you to enjoy some more time here.

Mahalo,

Trak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

This place was the first we went to on Kauai. We chose this hostel instead of the other one in Kapaa for some reason. Everything was sticky inside, like the walls and tables. We thought at first that it was just because of the humidity on the island. The kitchen is outside, which is nice, but is not so well maintained so there was often leftover food and ants. We did not realize how dirty the place was until we moved to the other hostel in town. It was super clean and rules about cleaning and being respectful to other tenants were enforces.

The dorms were crammed with so many beds and although the hostel's website states that you can have access to lockers for your valuables, all the lockers were already taken.

Most of the staff was pretty rude, clearly not caring about costumers at all. It looks like most staff members were random travelers that were working in exchange of free accommodation. Nobody seemed to be fully trained. There was one guy, tall and blonde, that was nice and new his way around the island. At the other hostel, the staff was much nicer too.

Room Tip: Choose the other hostel. For the same price, instead of having 2 dorm rooms, we had a semi-private room (locked room, but shared bathroom).
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Aloha John, we are so sorry you found our place not up to your standards.

First of all we have 5 people a day cleaning from 7a.m. until 10 p.m. 7 days a weeknon-stop. Our bathrooms and kitchen are cleaned 1 or more times on each and every shift. Perhaps your prior experiences have not been along an ocean shoreline with prevailing balmy tropical cool breezes swaying the palm trees between us and the lagoon we are located on, that include the salt air and light humidity of the Pacific Ocean; and that salt in the air may have been what you call "sticky". In fact our weather reports on TV mentions on occasion as they did today that "it will be hot and sticky". Welcome to the tropics and our beautiful tropical island of Kauai.

I find our handrails sometimes have that sticky feeling sometimes even a few hours after when the stair and deck railings have been wiped off, or hosed off with fresh water. We do not use poisonous chemicals for your safety; besides a light salt film does not require chemicals to remove it.

Our tables in the BBQ area, which are our main meal tables, benches, and chairs are hosed down with fresh water every morning; and wiped clean after that several times a day.

I find your perhaps novice complaint of that "sticky" feeling to be possibly related to your tropical inexperiences, which I myself experienced like you on my 1st trip to the tropics several years back.

Whether a hostel, a 5 star hotel room with a refrigerator, or ones own home, leftover food kept for a 2nd bite to eat is as common as food itself worldwide; and certainly our refrigerators are not immune from it.

And your observing a few ants is also a typical experience in the tropics and also indicates a poison free environment.

And our reservation system makes it clear that more than 1/2 of our guests extend their stay with us, of course the fabulously beautiful island of Kauai is a major cause of extending, and they are very happy they can extend with us as well right here on the edge of the Blue Lagoon and the Pacific Ocean in the very fun town of Kapa'a where 60 restaurants, 3 supermarkets, shops, pubs, and live music, and much more. many guests from another hostel switch over to us saying they prefer our open air feeling and large to huge whale watching lagoon-ocean view decks where all of our dorms and 2 private rooms also share the same extraordinary views; as compare to the other hostel's apartment building behind the hamburger stand with apartment bed snd living rooms stacked with beds.

Anyway John, we hope you can enjoy more tropical experiences and you are welcome of course to stay here again with us.

Aloha and Mahalo,

Trak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews