We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
142
60
29
26
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
60
29
26
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews female dorm the kitchen rooftop terrace mixed room bus stop common areas quiet hours laid back wake up bike path every morning restaurants and shops ocean view grocery store north shore hostel sunrise
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We are not backpackers and do not usually stay at hostels. However, there are not many low-budget options around Kapa'a. We chose KBHH because of the location, cost, and good reviews.
We stayed in the blue lagoon private room, which has a large bed, a good view of the ocean. It's also near one of the better bathrooms. The windows are blade-style, so they don't fully close, and they were missing a few panels. There were blinds to cover them, which were mostly functional. Still, this let in a nice breeze and we didn't see many mosquitoes in the room.
The staff were laid-back and friendly, and went out of their way to help us in times of need. They are the best part of this hotel.
This place has all the amenities a hostel needs: spacious open kitchen with two big fridges for guests, a "free table", and lots of space to relax. The 3rd floor - an open roof with tables and chairs, and a bench to watch the ocean - is quite nice, too.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2017

Aloha Christopher, thank you for staying with us. the new larger " blade type windows just arrived and we will be installing them after the holiday and we are looking for better curtains more suitable for the tropics.

We hope you enjoyed Kauai and your onward destination was wonderful for you.

Again Mahalo/Thanks,

Trak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

The Beach House Hostel is unique in many ways. There is a gorgeous view of the ocean and coconut trees and a long and wide lawn that can be enjoyed by all the guests. Secondly, the staff is amazing: funny, warm, patient, informed and accommodating. My sister and I stayed in a private room for six nights, and went to a small resort hotel in between Beach House bookings. she and I BOTH liked the Beach House more for half the price.

Room Tip: Travel with another person and book the Blue Lagoon room (for 1 or 2)
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kimberly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

This place has some mixed reviews but I think it is all about expectations. There are limited hostels on Kauai and this place is pretty good. Great staff, location, sun deck, wifi, chill out area. There are little lockers to lock valuables away and the luggage store seemed well managed. Yes there are sometimes people sleeping on sofas and sofa beds in the "lounge" and reception area but it is done in an Organised way and if they didn't accept it I wouldn't have had a bed one night. It is a traveller hostel and the dorms are open but creates a good Breeze and experience by the ocean. Bathrooms could do with some TLC. Overall a good option and it seems to be improving all the time. Some AC units turned up as I was leaving.....

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank Yetitours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Aloha and Mahalo (thanks) for your great review; and yes our Whale Watching / Blue Lagoon views are spectacular from our 4 large view decks and all 4 dorms and 2 or our private rooms.

You made a good point about the sofa beds, yes, we are 1 of only 2 of affordable places to stay on Kauai. There are few rentals even for those born and raised on Kauai due to the demand to visit Kauai, easily Hawaii's most beautiful island; if not the world's most beautiful island.

When we turned away people night after night, especially girls, leaving them no where to sleep except $250-$300 a night hotels (unless they are also completely full as well) ; they were forced to sleep on the beach. Single female travelers sleeping on the beach was unacceptable to us when we had 7 (safe) couches on the property, most of which are pull out double beds; and at the same time it afforded the guests hot showers, kitchen, free wifi, free parking, walking access to many stores and even more of restaurants, new friends to meet, and security.

You mentioned the "lounge"; what we call the BBQ / picnic tables area. We do not serve alcohol but stores are nearby. We do provide relaxing music from the computer to several areas of the hostel.

You also mentioned the dorms are "open", let me add that 3 of our dorms and 2 of our private rooms have 11' ceilings...making them feel very open. The 3rd dorm and the other private rooms have regular full ceiling heights. But what is unique for us is that we are in the tropics and the warm Tropical Pacific Tradewinds breezes come right through our 6' tall open (almost all year) windows facing the vast views of the Pacific Ocean and the Blue Lagoon we are on the edge of. Yes it feels very open and the rooms open onto our large view decks.

Having said that the female Hawaiian Islands dorm and the Leota mixed dorms have combination door locks and the private rooms are all key locked. The other dorms are situated where there is, knowing the safety of the island, no need for locked doors. The property is fenced and many staff are 24 hours on property.

We have 3 to 4 cleaning shifts a day from 7 am to 10 pm for a total of 10 to 12 hours and the bathrooms are checked hourly; a bathroom only needs TLC, as you say, when "Mr. or Miss Piggy" does not tidy up after themselves and walks out of the bathroom assuming it is a bathroom in a football stadium; or maybe where they live. Some travelers are new to traveling and don't realize there are people coming into the bathroom after them. Ouch !

Yes we just replaced the A/C in 2 of the private rooms, (all dorms and the other private rooms face the Tradewinds breeze), that do not face the ocean and lagoon and thus do not have the fresh breezes 24 hrs/day. Some people prefer A/C anyway.

We hope to see you again, and please call or reserve online earlier so you can have a regular bed; although we are in the process of adding a few beds beds in the dorms where there is plenty of space available.

Thank you for your review, Aloha,

Trak

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

Great hostel with great people, the staff was awesome! The staff designed a custom version of giant jenga for us all to play and we had a blast. My friends and I got up for a 5am hike to see the sunrise from sleeping giant and Ron from the front desk joined us on a whim, we picked up his dogs and he led us to the peak just in time to teach us the Hawaiian chant to raise the sun, epic. Met some great friends and I will definitely make a trip back to kauai to visit Ron, Joey and Brian from the kauai beach house hostel! If you come to kauai this is the place to stay for sure!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful time there and meet really cool people there. We sleep outside on the porch and can hear the ocean and of course the chickens. Kapaa Beach is really nice and clean and you can rent a bike to ride the way beside the beach

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Richard v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trak T, Guest Relations Manager at Kauai Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2017

Aloha and thank you for your nice reply. I grew up in summers sleeping on a porch but the sound of the waves was too far away, here the waves, sunrise, and moonrise are right in back of the Kauai Beach House Hostel.

Thank you,

Jay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews