We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Coral Reef(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
USD 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
USD 425
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
USD 178
USD 174
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
USD 242
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
125
132
37
14
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
132
37
14
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslava lava beach clubparking is tightvery low water pressurefree valet servicebeach frontlawn gamessurf breakattached restaurantkokee parktiny sinktoes in the sandlisten to the live musicself parksleeping giant trailbudget hotelhot tubcoconut marketplace
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Stayed for a week. Good location for traveling to everything on the island. Clean room, wonderful staff. Good coin-operated laundry room. Only con is the water pressure is terrible! But if you can cope with a dribbly shower this is a good choice.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnnH-CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear AnnH,

Thank you for being our guest. Appreciate the great comments. My apologies for the water pressure. We are presently taking care of it and would see a better flow of water.

Please visit us again when you are in the islands.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The hotel was fine. Although they have a pool and beachfront, it definitely is not a resort. The beach is not recommended for swimming.
The concierge was friendly and extremely helpful. Prices of the rooms were within the correct range for what the hotel offers. We used the room for sleeping and showering, and spent our days hiking and snorkeling at swimmable beaches.
The food at lava lava was decent. I'd recommend this hotel to families who are planning on touring Kauai.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmikus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear kmikus,

Thank you being our guest. Happy to hear you had a great time at the hotel and in Kauai.
Appreciate you recommending us.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

First things first...we did enjoy our stay a lot. We weren't at the hotel a bunch but a few things were great like, the pool, beach access, lava lava beach club (try the ocean potion and awesome happy hour!), laundry facilities, walking path to other hotels, free wifi and yummy in room coffee. However, there were some cons. The shower was awful. I would try to take the shortest showers because they would go from scalding hot to ice cold about 10 times throughout every shower I took. We try not to have housekeeping clean our room all the time to save water and we aren't that messy, but the 1 day we did, we left at 7am and came back at 4pm and they were just then cleaning our room. I told her we would come back so she could finish. We didn't get any new towels and didn't get vacuumed. She said she would be back with towels, but 2 hours later I had to call the front desk. Not the end of the world, we just really wanted to shower after our hike. Otherwise, the staff is really nice and accommodating. Also, dont expect a lot of room to spread out in the room. A table in the room would of been awesome.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Monica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Monica,

Thank you for taking time to write a detail description of your stay with us. Happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation. My sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had. We are currently working on it.

Appreciate your recommendations.

Look forward to welcoming you back when you visit us next,

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at Kauai Shores. The hotel was clean and well maintained, and the whole staff was amazing and professional. We enjoyed Lava Lava the restaurant on property very much, they had a fantastic happy hour and a great view of the ocean.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LasVegasMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear LasVegasMonica,

Thank you for being our guest. Happy to hear that you had a great time. Appreciate the great comments.
Look forward to welcoming you on your next trip here to the islands/hotel.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

The online photos paint a very different picture of the actual Hotel. If you are expecting Diamond Intl time share luxury you will be greatly disappointed. This is a very old hotel that has been painted and appointed with bright colors and accessories.

Do not expect anyone to help you with your luggage and there is none as there are also no elevators or escalators.
The rooms are old, very old. Our room smelled moldy, kind of like an old wet vaccum cleaner. Everything about this place is low-budget (except the recently renovated Lobby bathroom). From the mickey mouse "kitchenette" to the curtain covered closet door, exposed/wall electric boxes, plaster decorated ceiling, plastic covered and painted electric wires to a NON working ceiling fan, loose shower head that shakes when turned on, dirty air vents, no screens on the sliding windows.

While it was awful, the staff was great.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank ILuv2Mingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilmy D, General Manager at Kauai Shores Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear ILuv2Mingle,

Thank you for being our guest. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences you had during your stay here. Please give me a call at your convenience and I would be happy to discuss your review and will take the corrective actions.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews